We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome on the Island of Crete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Esplanade Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome on the Island of Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located just 10km from Chania Airport Esplanade Hotel Apartments was a perfect place to start our Crete Adventure. Our flight was late in the evening so we were looking for a place located not far from the airport. Esplanade was our choice and it was a good one ! Yiannis is a great host which gave us a feel of greek hospitality. He will even put your country flag on the post in front of the hotel !!
A GPS is must when driving from the airport in the dark. It was not easy to find :)

Apartments are spacious and clean. When we arrived Yiannis left some snacks,water and Raki on our table :) There is a fridge and fully equipped kitchen in the apartment which is very handy when staying longer than 1 day.

The pool is great with good views on the coast.
The sandy beach and restaurants are located just 1300m from the hotel but you need to walk partly on the road so be careful when walking with kids. Also be aware of the dogs!
The sandy beach is great for children !

Kalathas is also a great for exploring Chania Town. Distance is about 15km

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed for 4 days in the three bedroom apartment. Yaniss went above and beyond in welcoming us, including flying the Canadian flag. It is basic accommodation, no elevator and no fancy furniture etc. but great value in a great location very accessible to Chania and to the national highway and the airport. A car is recommended but there is bus service to the village. Once you figure out the winding roads it is relatively easy to get around. Keep in mind that he closes for the winter. We were the last to check out I believe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As other reviewers have said, Yiannis is a brilliant host - he met us from the airport and even stopped off at the supermarket so we could stock up on essentials on our way to the apartments. We stayed here for 7 nights in September and had a one bedroomed apartment with a small balcony overlooking the apartments next door (Extremely noisy family next door for the first few days!). Although we got the morning sun with breakfast on the balcony, unfortunately this meant our only sea view was from the shared stairway and not the sea view balcony we thought we had booked, as the kitchen area window looked out onto the side of the next apartment. The apartment next to us would have been lovely with it's wrap around balcony of a decent size with good views - I don't know the number of this one but it is above the main reception.The facilities and equipment in the apartment are very good, the bathroom having the usual mixer tap over a hip bath, and the kitchen had a full sized fridge and kettle, two electric rings, coffee maker, toaster etc. Twin beds in the bedroom, which was air conditioned, and flyscreens at all of the windows and heavy metal blinds also in the bedroom. The apartment was kept spotlessly clean, and we had good quality towels (including tea towels) provided every day. Kalathas itself is little more than a hamlet, with the nearest of the 2 supermarkets within an easy walk. The beach was just over a mile away, and would have meant an uphill walk for the return journey so if you have any mobility issues you would need to use a car (as we did). The beach itself is great, as are the others on Akrotiri peninsular. There are some airbases nearby so there is quite a bit of noise from aircraft, but we didn't find this a problem. Chania old town/harbour is a very easy drive and a must see. Eating out can be a bit of a chore, as there is virtually nothing within walking distance, so this meant driving every evening to either neighbouring Chorofakia (Irenes for Greek food, Ramblers for steaks) or Kounoupidiana (Burakis for Greek food). Personally, I think 7 nights was too long in Kalathas, but it obviously depends on what you want to do and if you don't mind not having facilities within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment over the reception if you want a good view and plenty of balcony space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Yiannis is a fantastic host and goes out of his way we had an amazing holiday thank you and hope to be back. Full self catering facilities in room incl fridge etc. ideal if cooking for yourself and a supermarket nearby. There are only a couple of tavernas close by on the local beach and these can close early. Around 10km from Chania town but on a bus route 1.60 euros each way but last bus returns 8pm. Taxis between 13 and 15 euros one way. The location is a little bit out but a great base if you have a car or don't mind using the local bus network which is very good. Overal appartments are spacious, clean and well priced with good views of sunsets and sunrise from the room. We also had a sea view balcony room with tables, chairs and washing line etc. very good overal.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

when we finally got there, I went to check in, I got a room with a private bathroom and a view of the water, in Greece today are terrible heat, the area is quite nice, food ok, but be careful of the water, it is better to drink bottled fruit delicious, my stay lasted weeks I am happy because the price is low, and even got a discount, I recommend great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I found the Esplanade from Trip Advisor and really want to add my praise to the other reviews to encourage people experience this great place. We were expecting clean and basic, but the Esplanade delivers more than this, especially in the 3 double bed apartment we had. The rooms are spacious and airy each with a balcony and the 3 (!) bathrooms were an amazing bonus. Our daughter has a lot of food allergies so we ate in quite a bit and the cooking facilities, whilst simple, were more than adequate. Even more impressive is the cleanliness with linen changes every other day and cleaning every day. Definitely more than 2*. The pool is larger than it looks in the pictures and was so inviting we couldn't walk past without taking a dip. The small children's section is perfect and with Yiannis' hospitality makes for a real family feel. Having a car is definitely an advantage with a 2 minute drive to Kalathas beach and 10 mins to Stavros (with an amazing windmill restaurant). Chania old town is about 15 minutes by car so easy for a drink or dinner. Other guests were rarely seen as this is also a great base for exploring Crete, but everyone was always very friendly. We had a fabulous holiday and really recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing beach holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Incredible hospitality, incredible value, incredible views, incredibly clean. These apartments were nothing short of perfect for my girlfriend and me. We stayed for 6 nights and wish we had stayed longer. It is located right beside a stunning beach in Kalathas, and is ten minutes drive from the beautiful Chania town. We spent most of our time moving between the two, occasionally venturing out further around the unbelievably picturesque island. You could easily spend two or three weeks here. Our apartment had a large balcony with a breathtaking view of the sea, which was particularly stunning at sunset. The apartment was large, bright and breezy, with comfortable beds, a nice bathroom, ample storage space and solid air conditioning. The owner, Yiannis, was an incredible host - always accommodating and helpful, and doing his upmost to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. This extended far beyond our accommodation, with Yiannis insisting on helping us book a ferry to Santorini, negotiating a cheap extra day on our car rental, and giving us endless great suggestions of what to do in Chania and around Crete. Yiannis simply made a great holiday into a dream holiday - I will certainly be coming back here and begging everyone I know to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.