We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Veneta

Save Saved
You added Casa Veneta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Veneta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55-57 Theotokopoulou | Old Town Chania, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Casa Veneta! This lovely little hotel was easy to find (with plenty of parking spots within walking distance) and is situated at a ridiculously good location. Beautifully designed on the inside and out, clean and simple, cozy and feels like home. Our apartment was a split floor with a little kitchen complete with cooking utensils, pots, bowls, plates etc, a fairly spacious living room with flat screen TV, balcony with a beautiful view of the street + a peek at the sea, and very comfortable twin beds on the upper floor.

Oh and we absolutely adored our host, George, who is just wonderful in making sure we enjoyed our stay and was so helpful in giving us pointers and tips to good restaurants, places to avoid, and places for drinks and good music. We enjoyed some interesting conversations with him and genuinely felt his sincere warmth and friendliness. I've only read about hotel owners like him until now.

For the price, service, comfort and location, this place is a gem! It doesn't get better than this. It would be terribly unfortunate to give this place a miss. I would love to return to Chania and when the day comes, i would definitely return to Casa Veneta.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked this hotel for 7 days in early April. We totally agree with other comments about Stavros & George as they were extremely warm and helpful. On our arrival we were greeted by George who told us the best places to eat and visit in Chania and even provided us with some welcoming treats, including some raki! We were travelling with friends and were put in rooms next to each other with adjoining balconies. From the balcony you could view the charming street with the sea in one direction and snow-capped mountains in the other. The balcony was also a great place to sit and enjoy the local ouzo, wine or raki! Our apartments were modestly furnished with a small kitchen area with stove and fridge, and a shower you could stand up in (!).The beds were very comfortable to sleep on, although the double bed was actually 2 single beds with foam in between with 2 sets of single sheets. George and Stavros were so willing to help us plan our day trips and organise a rental car. They were wonderful hosts who said to ring them any time that we needed them and we were confident in knowing that they meant it! They are clearly very proud of their hotel and their city- and they deserve to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony; you will be able to see the interesting street and/or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very easy to find, central location, near the Venetian Harbour but within walking distance of bus station. On arrival greeted by Stavros with a welcome drink plus information about where to eat. Stavros, the owner, insisted on carrying our bags to our appartment. The room was spacious with a balcony which had views down to the sea and also up a beautiful pedestrianised street full of small shops and restaurants. In the evening we met Georgio, the owner's son, who was equally friendly with a good sense of humour and he always had time for a chat and catch-up. The two lovely gentlemen want to make sure their guests are happy and go the extra mile to make this happen. Chania is such a beautiful and charming place to visit and the hosts at Casa Veneta are equally charming! We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute!

Room Tip: We slept on both the first and second floor in an appartment and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My friend Chrissie and i chose Casa veneta due to its superb location at the gates of the old Town, 2 minutes away from where the taxi drops you to enter the pedestrianised old town. a lovely old Venetian villa with large rooms and a cool atrium. The simple apartment was much prettier and more comfortable than the pictures suggested and the charming balcony overlooked the cobbled street and the sea. Theres a lot of lovely places in Chania but there's only one STAVROS, the utterly charming, witty, erudite and elegant patron. Our best times in Crete were spent sipping ice-cold house raki with father and delightful son, Giorgos, listening to stories, sharing history, chewing over the politics and discussing music and restaurants. They were absolutely superb hosts which made our trip to this very touristy, bustling and relatively affluent town feel special . I feel like we actually made friends and i cannot recommend this marvellous ( ridiculously cheap!) pension highly enough. thank you

Room Tip: the photos do not do the rooms justice ... all are quiet and well provisioned. No breakfast, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a room for just one night for some good friends. The room was large and comfortable, with very comfortable beds. Small kitchenette if you want to cook your own meal, and very clean. We visited their room but dit not sleep at the hotel ourselves. Our friends was very satisfied, and said they would probably choose this hotel next time they visit Chania. Very nice staff, and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When someone books an hotel for you you can only go on two things, their recomandation and a good dig around on Tripavisor etc.
So I had a dig around on Tripadvisor.
To start then, yes it came up as a positive place to stay in and overall seemed quirky but friendly.
So based on this limited info we traveled to Casa Veneta with an open mind.
Firstly the transfer is only 20 mins by taxi and should cost you no more than 25 euros top.
On arriving at the drop off point its just a walk of 100 yards through what was the old entrance to Chania city to Theotokopoulou Street and a further 30 yards on the right of this pretty old Venitian style street you will see the smallish two doors that is Casa Veneta.
On going through the wrought iron faced door you enter a marble stone floored lobby with cushioned seats to the right (Seating at least 7 ) and a small reception desk that reminded me of a film set from some long ago forgotten Italian movie that you know youve seen but just cannot remember the name of. Here sits either the owner, Stavros or his son George and more than likely they have already greeted you and grabbed your cases and insisted that you sit on aforementioned seats and have a welcome glass of very nice wine, in fact we stayed on these seats for several glasses of this free aperitif; this is the way this place works. Of course you could have opted for tea-coffee (IThink) but we had 3 big glasses of very nice wine (Ta George) So of to our apartment. We stayed in room 6 and this meant that we had to walk up about 30 or 40 marbled wide steps (The Venitian builder had forgotten to invent lifts back in the 17th century) to our room, This Hotel only has 7 rooms of which some are Studios (Smaller) and Apartments(Bigger) Ours was an apartment, now we in modern Europe have concepts of what an apartment is, dont get me wrong these apartments are just what you need to appreiciate how it must have been in a real Venitian room in the time of Italian style two centuries ago, wonderful.I have to add that this hotel is very authentic but probably not suited to those whom find small wooden steps up to the lovely barn style single beds separated by a small table betwixed the beds.We found this unusual but very usable, here on this landing is a small wardrobe of which we choose not to use but its functional.
Now as were now on the bedroom balcony consider this, when in the middle of the night needing a call of nature you have to negotiate about 15 narrow half pitched steps in moonlight to get to the modernish bathroom. The bathroom is also functional having a bigish sink with the one mirror over the sink, the whole room is wet room style which is a good thing as the small shower 3 feet away from the sink and toilet suite is one of the things that even ancient Venitians would have baulked at. Its not that the small shower pan is a problem or that the adjustable faucet is pretty unadjustable its all about the shower curtain, imagine an umbrella that has been somehow turned on its side but with only enough curtain to cover its minimum surface area then you might come close to this contraption! Plus if your of a bigger body size then expect to flood the floor bigtime.
Anyway what the hell your on holiday and who cares if you totally soak the bog roll as there are loads more.
Now we exit the shower/toilet room.
To the right of the main door is a small kitchenette in area of about 15x15 feet total and the only way to describe the kitchen is something you might expect in a very reasonably large caravan.
It has a stainless steel sink, hot and cold water taps,drainer etc. Above this is a double steel door cupboards with plates and cups (Sorry but this is really it) and the other cupboard has a Coffee Making Machine, there is another cupboard with a couple of pans and a selection of cutlery.
We decided to eat out, but used the very good fast boiling kettle to make tea every morning.
There is also the best fridge Ive ever experienced in a hotel and this is under the sink.
When you go past the kitcenette you have 8 marble steps up to the lounge (The balcony bedroom is to the right above the kitchenette) This is a very good living area with two large eighties style 4 person sofas and a small table set between the original old double opening french windows and beyond these are two original double hinged storm shutters leading onto a wrought iron fenced balcony that is at least 20 foot long and 3 foot wide, here you are able to watch all the street life below you, see the sea to your left and peruse all off the other balconys opposite you with all of the other folks looking at you or you can send your man downstairs to croon back up at you from the same street, (Romeo and Juliette comes to mind) Back in the lounge is a small television with every channel you might like to watch in Crete and some of Greece.
So to sum up.
If you like authentic oldie world accomadation and really good hospitable owners thats not too far removed from our comfort zones at a really very good price then go to Casa Veneta and I assure you that you will not be disapionted.
From the moment we walked into this small hotel we were won over with the magic of the place and equally with the proprietors whom I think will not only book whatever you want, be it hire-cars or trips but Im sure if I had asked Stavros or George to walk on hot coals they would have directed me somewhere where I could do it!!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 have better views. If you are of a larger body size and infirm consider what I have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Right in the centre of the old town on the atmospheric Theotokopoulou, this is a real gem. The room was enormous, clean, bright and homely. The real stars of this hotel are the owner Stavros and his son Giorgios. I cannot remember ever being made to feel so welcome. We were offered lovely, home-produced Raki and sat listening to fascinating stories and nothing was too much trouble for Stavros. He gave us his mobile number (he knew we were spending most of our holiday in Sougia) and assured us that if we ran into any difficulties, or needed any help, we only had to phone! Giorgios gave us a recommendation for the best fish restaurant in Chania and the grilled sardines were outstanding. He recommended the best live music in Chania and he was spot on - it was a brilliant night. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veneta

Address: 55-57 Theotokopoulou | Old Town Chania, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Veneta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a narrow side street in the old quarter of Chania, Casa Veneta has plenty of olde worlde charm.It is a new, four storey building which we have sympathetically reconstructed from an old Venetian facade. For your convenience we have a television lounge on the ground floor. We have kept the atmosphere of the Grand Venetian period by using stripped polished wood for our interiors, and giving some studios a gallery bedroom.A friendly, most charming base in an excellent location from which to explore this historic and atmospheric town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Veneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veneta Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Veneta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.