We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Vardia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Vardia to your Saves list
Monte Vardia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiriou & Odyssea Elyti 2, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a brilliant place to come and stay! Superbly clean and extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband was really rather poorly a couple of days and Helen was so caring and supportive- her and her mom even made him a special rice broth to help his stomach!

I can't praise highly enough. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
18
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton , England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose the this hotel from the Trip Advisor reviews and we wanted a hotel with a pool as most in the centre of Chania do not have one. We were not disappointed!
This is a family run traditional Greek hotel a few miles from the centre of town. You may want to hire a car to get about but we prefer to walk and use local transport so we were happy to use this as our base. There’s a bus stop outside the hotel with a regular bus service both into the town and in the opposite direction to a few of the beaches. Taxis also use the road next to the hotel as a resting point so it’s easy to grab a taxi as well.

We received a friendly welcome upon our arrival and were shown to our room. It was traditional Greek, nothing fancy, but everything you needed and more. A fresh bowl of fruit awaited our arrival in the room which was a nice touch. The rooms are large with small flat screen TV, fridge and even a microwave. There was more than enough storage in fact we left some drawers empty and we had lots of clothes for our two week stay. A fantastic bonus was that unlike many other hotels the air conditioning was free, the safe was free and the excellent Wi-Fi service was free – all in all a considerable saving before we even started our holiday ! A decent shower and bath with complimentary flannels, soap and shower gel. The hand towels and bath towels were changed every day as well.

Breakfasts are traditional Greek so everything you want from breads, cakes, juices etc. Tea and coffee together with a few other drinks were all there for you to help yourself to as much as you want. In addition the “family team” were there to bring you eggs cooked to your liking and delicious fresh yogurt. Seating indoor or outdoor as you please.
The star outside is clearly the beautiful pool which was excellent for long swims or just cooling off. There’s also a table tennis table, small football nets etc. Inside in the lounge there’s a good quality pool / snooker table which is free of charge and also a dartboard near the bar and large TV. In addition there’s free computers and internet with a free selection of books.
The hotel has an enviable view of Chania’s harbour and each flower has a large wrap around balcony to sit out on.
However the one thing the makes this hotel stand out (and the reason we go for family hotels and not large corporate affairs) is the personal service you receive. The whole team were fabulous, in particular Heleni, who could not do enough for you. The recommendations to the local three of four bars we wouldn’t have known were there but for them, the advice on the best beaches to go to including printing us maps, timetables and details of places of interest. Bringing us free fruit whilst we relaxed by the pool, offering us free bottled water on our way to the beach and even a leaving gift (not sure if everyone gets one but a very nice touch).
Please give this hotel a try – A REAL HOME FROM HOME ! Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiddal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a fabulous week in Monte Vardia in June. We stayed in a family room with splendid views over Chania and the sea. Clean, comfortable rooms with excellent air con and cleaning service. No charge for WIFI which was available throughout the hotel. We had the pool to ourselves on many occasions during the week and enjoyed lovely freshly prepared lunches by the pool most days. The best customer service I have experienced anywhere with Eleni and her family taking the time to talk to and get to know everyone. Definitely will go back.
[NB:only €18 taxi fare for 4 people plus luggage from Chania Airport, a 15/20 minute stroll to nearest village with lots of restaurants & shops, and between €6 & €8 for a taxi to Chania Old Town]

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed with three friends in June 2013 and reviewed this hotel as wonderful. I visited with two new friends this year and they were as impressed as me.

Again Eleni and her family were so kind and attentive. I consider Eleni to be a friend now and am almost hesitant to tell everyone how super this place is in case too many people visit and discover my secret! But I feel I must share this wonderful find as I can't recommend it enough.

The hotel is close to the airport and to Chania town, which is beautiful. You will receive a very personal welcome in this spotless, family run hotel and whether lazing around the lovely pool (which we did) or discovering the island of Crete you couldn't ask for better.

Thank you Eleni for making our stay so enjoyable yet again. As you know we shall return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a small family owned hotel and you can feel the difference. The hotel may not be brand new but it is immaculately clean well maintained and extremely friendly.

Breakfast is well presented and fresh.

The pool area is relaxed and peaceful, while I write this review myself and my family are sharing the pool with only 4 other people ( no fighting for sun beds needed here!)

The hotel is only a short taxi ride to the centre of Chania Old Town or a short ( 20 mins) walk to a typical Greek Taverna (one evening the owner even gave us a lift in her own car to the restaurant, you won't get that kind of service in a package holiday type hotel)

Overall, one of the best breaks we have had yet, unfortunately we are leaving at the end of the week for Rethymon, hopefully where we are staying there can live up to Monte Vardia

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We based out of Monte Vardia on our stay on Crete! Eleni and her family were very welcoming and helpful! The rooms were clean and roomy! The pool was clean and refreshing. Breakfast excellent, especially fresh yogurt with honey! We definitely will make this a regular stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I used this Hotel as a 1 night stopover before going to a Villa the family had booked for a week.

I was happy with both the bedroom, facilities and breakfast

What stood out for me was the way Eleni looked after me upon arrival, helped with directions to meet my Family, offered me a snack as I looked tired and hungry

Really impressive and more than happy to give this high quality reference about Monte Vardia, and will stay again when I visit the area next time

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Vardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vardia

Address: Akrotiriou & Odyssea Elyti 2, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vardia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monte Vardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vardia Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Vardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.