We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Ottomane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Ottomane to your Saves list
La Maison Ottomane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Parodos Kanevaro | Crete, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is just perfect to the last detail. Beautiful rooms in a very quite neighborhood right in the middle of the old town.The owner and the staff are beyond polite and make everything possible for you to enjoy your stay. Very nice breakfast. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
"One of the best hotels..." is high praise indeed from a well-travelled guest and gives us a lot to live up to. Please be assured we will do our best. Thank you for your visit, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a fabulous experience. We had heard about the hotel from the UK papers and chose a week long stay in June based on that - great choice! The hotel is in the centre of the old town of Chania and conveniently placed for excellent restaurants on the harbour or in the back streets. The hotel comprises three very different rooms or suites which are beautifully decorated and furnished with a Ottoman influence and with an incredible attention to detail that can only come from the heart. One of the rooms has its own terrace which has a sea view, otherwise there is a secluded courtyard where guests take an delicious breakfast and use throughout the day. The welcome and service overall just wonderful. Andreas and Alexandra, our hosts, provided a 'guide to everything' and were enthusiastic in their recommendations on restaurants, beaches, trips etc. We will return and wish them every success. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So glad you liked what you saw but most of all we like your comment "we will return" which we take as a promise from your side. From our side we promise to build on what we already have in place to make you next visit even better. Thank you for your lovely words. A & A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed only one night at La Maison Ottomane, but it was unforgettable! We just loved everything, starting from the very nice welcome, the beautiful room with every detail it has, the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the delicious breakfast and ending with a goodbye photo to forever remember!
Thank you Andreas and Alexandra for everything you did to make our night a time to remember.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We very much enjoyed your visit as did our other guests with whom you were so friendly over breakfast. It is a pity you did not stay longer - but Cyprus and Crete are neighbours so we hope you will visit us again soon.

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Before going, I had read many favourable reviews and have to admit it's damn good! Andreas and Alex were perfect hosts, their charm, courtesy and attention to detail is second to none and was felt with sincerity. The suites are beautifully and thoughtfully appointed and presented in the Turkish style. We stayed in the Aisha suite which was a welcome oasis from the heat of Chania in June. The toilet flush required a degree of cerebral anticipation and manual dexterity, but was mastered after two attempts and made for an amusing challenge. The bed and furnishings, outside patio seating, toiletries, complementary fruit and water were all provided with professionalism and their personal touch.
La Maison is highly recommended and we wish Andreas and Alex every success.

Room Tip: All three rooms have their own individual attractions, one has an interesting sunken bath another is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I regret to advise we (and more to the point, our guests) are still; challenged by our toilet pulls. They do of course work (the proof being we remain open) but a more immediate and efficient solution would be better and is under discussion... So glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of this. We enjoyed having you here and hope you will soon come to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent part of our honeymoon at La Maison Ottomane and it was exquisite. It is hard to imagine a better place to stay in Chania. There are three rooms and a small courtyard: everything is carefully curated, luxurious, well designed and thought-out, but also unstuffy. The Ottoman theme is faithfully executed, but not at all cheesy or overbearing. We were upgraded to an enormous duplex suite because of some small maintenance work in the room we had originally reserved. However, the other room would have been amazing too. The location is just several blocks away from the Venetian harbor, but tucked away on a very quiet street. More than anything else, however, the proprietor and staff are incredibly attentive, detail oriented and accommodating. For example, on our last day, it was all a matter of course that we should have breakfast (fresh coffee, croissants, muffins, toast, yogurt, fruits, etc., and I'm sure we could have asked for anything else that we might have wanted) prepared and served to us at 4:30 am so that we could catch our flight back to Athens.... Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We were wondering why you did not order eggs.... Thank you for your kind words. It is our vocation to please our guests and reviews such as yours provide the motivation to keep doing so. We hope to see you here again.

Andreas & Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This boutique hotel is the equivalent of any 5-star hotel you will ever stay in. All three rooms are luxurious and charming in their individual ways. By a quirk of reservations, we ended up staying in 2 of the rooms over a 3-day visit. Not only are the rooms themselves great, but the owner Andreas gives all the guests individual attention, answering any questions you may have about the city or Crete in general. He provided a printed list of recommended sights and restaurants that we found to be very helpful. And the breakfasts in their private courtyard are amazing! It's located in the heart of the walking districts of this charming city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Alexandra and I are delighted your enjoyed your stay. Western Crete has so much to offer the visitor that we hope you will be tempted back - you have a third suite to try out that you have not yet stayed in and by then we may even have more...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We would have loved to have arrived here al over again!
Andreas and Alexandra clearly love and care about the service they offer and the experience given to their guests - and it's showed.
To stay here, was a joy and an extremely indulgent experience. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with some wonderful touches and we enjoyed attentive service where nothing was too much trouble (especially the surprise chocolate mouses and freshly squeezed juice).
We were captivated by the whole experience of Cretian hospitality, in a peaceful setting that was a short walk away from the port and it's hustle and bustle.
Andreas and Alexander created a wonderful experience for us and indellible memories that will last us a lifetime. What more can we say, you will be surprised and spoilt.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. We stayed in the room with the terrace........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas R, General Manager at La Maison Ottomane, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Chris

It is difficult to respond to a review as glowing as yours. We do strive to deliver comfort to our guests but are happily surprised beyond measure that you found such pleasure during your stay. We appear to have, in a small way, touched you and your response has touched us greatly. It means a great deal to us. Thank you.

Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Ottomane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Ottomane

Address: 32 Parodos Kanevaro | Crete, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Ottomane 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Ottomane is a small and exclusive luxury hotel inspired by the opulence of Ottoman rule. It is filled with fine antiques, paintings, carpets and porcelain, scents from Marrakech, silks and sweet delicacies from Istanbul... We are located at the heart of Chania's historical old town, 3 minutes' walk from the Venetian Harbour and 10 minutes from the nearest beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Ottomane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Ottomane Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Ottomane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.