We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of cool and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Madonna Studios to your Saves list
Madonna Studios
Antoniou Gamba 33 (Old Town), Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“an oasis of cool and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Thomais made me feel as welcome as family with her apple pie and little dog Simba. my room was a delight and fully equipped. crisp clean white sheets and attractive furnishings. she is also a great cook and very hospitable. super location. pretty quiet. the perfume of jasmine at night on the open roofed terrace was magical...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After reading so many excellent reviews, we’ve been excited to finally get there.. From the very first moments at Madonna Studios, we did realize that all those reviews are accurate.. the building itself is so charming with its Venetian look and all the beautiful flowers, that you feel like being back in the 13th century, when it had been built.. The neighborhood and the street are also delightful, within the old city of Chania, very close to everything – the old Venetian harbor, the lighthouse, the best shopping and dining places, the bus station, several minimarkets, a free public parking lot (2-3 minutes walk), and the Neo Chora Beach (10-15 min walk). Despite being so close to the everything, it’s extremely quiet and secluded.. All the works that have been done to the building and to its lovely patio add to their built in charm.. the furniture, the hardware floors, the entire decor are all so lovely (all that is of exquisite quality as well), with a Greek traditional feel, that we couldn’t help to admire them and to enjoy living there, even for a short while.. some of the decorations are made by the lovely host, Thomais, who is a wonderful person who loves people and enjoy being there for them no matter what their needs or wishes are.. her daughter Avrilia is equally great.. (Siba, the little black dog, is also very friendly ;) .. they are also exceptionally creative in so many ways that one feels overwhelmed, in a good way though ;).. Moreover, both of them are people that enrich other people’s life, by “exposing” them to their endless warmness and constant friendliness and kind support.. so staying at Madonna’s is more than an accommodation, it is a true cultural experience that changes people, mainly by making them more open to others.. in fact, this is true for most of the people of Chania, who are so truly friendly and welcoming (almost everybody speaks very good English, but other languages are spoken fluently as well), that one feels enchanted with the warmness of this lovely community (it’s worth mentioning that about 85% of the souvenirs are genuine Cretan folk art, they even make high quality silk :).. the neighbors are also very friendly and they will start say hello to you after 2-3 days of being there.. learning few words and expressions in Greek is very welcome ;) .. don’t be surprised to see people coming back at restaurants or shops and hugging and kissing with the owners and the staff.. even the most reserved people cannot resist to the allure of Chania and its people and they continue to come back again and again (there are people coming back at Madonna’s for more than 20 years:).. What is even more interesting: after going back home people send “thank you” cards, there is a bookshelf full of them in the lobby.. and more, throughout the building, in the lobby, but also in the studios, there are a lot of books (travel, literature etc.) left behind by their owners, and that increases the homely feeling..
There are 5 studios at Madonna’s, we had Studio 4 for 9 nights and Studio 2 for 2 nights (yes, we extended our stay ;) – they both are lovely and the others are too (we’ve had the chance take a look during our stay).. Studio 4 has a lovely balcony overlooking the patio, which is in the shadow for the most part of the day.. in fact the only studios without a balcony are 1 and 2, but there are chairs and tables available in the patio for both of them.. the Studio 5 that is on the second floor has also a roof terrace.. the balconies and the terrace are shadowed by big umbrellas.. AC and safe are also available in all the studios.. Studio 4 is very roomy, it has a bedroom (with a lot of closet space, hairdryer, iron and ironing board), a bathroom (with shower, sink, WC, and amenities), a nice living room (with a TV, a table, and a lot of sitting space) along with a well equipped kitchenette (a sink and some good quality appliances - a coffee filter, an electric kettle, a refrigerator, a stove, and many other useful kitchenware). Free WiFi worked well. Everything is spotlessly clean, they clean thoroughly each and every day.. the linen, the towels, the bead spread etc. are so white that almost hurt one’s eyes.. beach towels are provided as well..
Thomais and Avrilia will give you very helpful hints about places to dine or shop at.. we have tried them, some more than once (Moutopaki – excellent bream and sword fish, the friendliest staff, authentic décor, 5 minutes from Madonna), Akrogiali – excellent fresh sea food and bread, friendly staff, sea view, at the Neo Chora beach), L'artigiano, (ice cream with the best healthiest ingredients “hunted down” by the owners throughout, 5 minutes from Madonna).. there are some more of their recommendations to be tested, hopefully during our next visit :).. We have also dined at To Stachi (twice, lovely vegetarian bio comfort food cooked with love, friendly service), to Xani (good traditional food, poor service though), Manos (stay away from, poor food and service alike), and to Kalderimi (Thomais recommended it as well, good sword fish and stuffed vegetables). The cost for 2 persons (2 main courses, 2 glasses of wine) with tip included is about 25 EUR (30 EUR at to Xani). The portions are more than enough, and complimentary desserts and ouzo or raki are provided everywhere.
We felt sorry to leave and we hope to be there again soon as Chania has become, along with Budapest, our favorite vacation destination both because it has a lot to offer (from the charm of the old town and of the harbor to the clean colorful seawater and the spectacular views), to lovely and affordable places to dine and shop and mostly, due to both the very friendly people who embody the human hospitality at its highest and to the vibrant yet relaxing atmosphere.. Chania is the quintessence of a place to enjoy and rest at the same time.. one can even travel around to see the wonders of Western Crete (the Samaria gorge, the Minoan ruins, the wonderful picturesque beaches, the oldest olive tree in the world, the beach where Zorba’s been filmed etc.).
Thomais and Avrilia are THE dream hosts ever and the Madonna Studios is the perfect place for them to enchant people to come back again and again.. That’s way we’ve enjoyed every minute of being there and, equally significant, of getting to know them, and we can’t wait to be there again (and again :) and to enjoy this lovely town and its warm people who make you feel at home..

Room Tip: When booking we’ve asked for a quiet room and both studios were quiet and cozy, however upstairs stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Since the apartment we stayed at at the beginning of our trip was unable to accomodate us for our last night, our hostess arranged for us to stay at Madonna Apartments for our last night in Old Town Chania. From the first moment, the hostess, Marisa was warm and welcoming. After showing us our lodging, she brought over homemade apple cake. There are also little gestures like fresh flowers in our room, pot pourri on our towels, and she brought us beach towels without our having to ask.

When we came back from the beach that evening, she was available to help us out with choosing a good seafood restaurant for our last night there. She gave us excellent choices! She also brought us homemade ice cream for dessert after our meal. We definitely recommend this adorable little place for anyone wanting to stay in this area. There is a small courtyard for you to relax in, away from the streets though we are in such a quiet and quaint area that it would not have made a difference. Thank you Marisa!

Room Tip: A higher up room is always preferrable for privacy and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Madonna studios for 2 weeks in April 2014. It was a most enjoyable visit to Chania. Thomias and her daughter are such warm and welcoming people. We were met at our taxi and walked to our clean bright room with 2 balconies and offered the best fresh squeezed orange juice we have ever tasted. There was apple cake and fresh ground coffee in the fridge and lots of great information on places to go and locations to eat. In addition to daily cleaning towels, sheets etc we were offered numerous Creatan specalties and learned a bit about the local customs and culture. Which made our stay most enjoyable. We would highly recommend this charming hotel in the old town. Parking is available about 100 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Madonna Studios for 4 nights and it was like staying with family. Thomais and her daughter Avrilia are the most hospitable and genuine hosts imaginable. We were welcomed with a delicious apple pie and cookies (with traditional cheese pies the day before we left); the room was very clean and comfortable, with absolutely everything we might need - I can't think of a single thing that would need to be improved. Thomais suggested some restaurants for us and all her recommendations were spot on!
I can't recommend Madonna Studios enough - this is such a wonderful place, you would need to see it to believe it!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking the patio and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My mother & I arrived late at night & were welcomed by the gorgeous Thomasia at our taxi & drawn into her beautiful guesthouse. She had home baked cake & cookies waiting for us and our room was perfect. Her lovely daughter Lily gave us plenty if suggestions on what to do & see and our stay was absolutely wonderful. I loved Madonna Studios & recommend it to all travelers!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This boutique hotel is amazing! Believe everything you read! Thomias met us at our taxi and walked with us there. I was in awe of the setting of Madonna studios, it really is very surreal. Thomias showed us to our room and let us get settled in. We were welcomed with homemade apple pie, bottle of water, homemade cookies! She came back and gave us a map and info of Chania, restaurants to eat in etc.
Our room was perfect, also had a balcony. It was so clean and attention given to every little detail! Thomias brought us fresh out of the oven spinach pie, raki. One morning Greek coffee, fruit, yogurt and bread. She also did our laundry and did not charge for any of this!!! When checking out I tried to give her tip but she refused it, said she loves to Madonna studios and would not take the tip!!! Such a kind, generous woman. We left a bottle of wine and tip in our room anyways, the hotel is amazing but she really is what makes it standout from any other hotel I've stayed at! Location is great if I am ever fortunate to visit this beautiful island again I would stay at Madonna studios!!

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony, overlooked the garden, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Studios

Address: Antoniou Gamba 33 (Old Town), Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Madonna Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Studios Hotel Chania Town
Madonna Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.