We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel room and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Doge Hotel to your Saves list
Doge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kondilaki 14-16, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel room and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you want a hotel room for you and your family with space and personality then this is the perfect hotel. Right in the centre of town. Yet so quiet and peaceful and the air conditioning spot on. Loved the family room which was split into two levels, felt a shame to leave the room but then you need to as chania is such a gorgeous town. Loved it loved it loved it - from the fussiest person in the family.

Also the owner kindly discounted the room by 50e which made the stay just perfect! Thank you !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
15
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A little bit confusing at first as this seems to be a hotel come cafe, come ice cream shop, come jewellery/souvenir shop - at ground level anyway. Its right in the centre on a pedestrianised street, so you need to be able to carry you luggage as no parking outside.

The superior room was large, beautifully decorated, nice bed, TV, new fangled shower (the ones with the different spray heads).

Staff can seem a little thin on the ground as they are running all the operations at the same time, but they are extremely friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is a buffet, varied but gets a bit same-y after a few days, but it is lovely to eat outside on a little table in the street and watch the town come alive in the mornings.

Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located right in the heart of old town near the old port, easy to walk everywhere, surrounded by cute little shops, cafes, and great restaurants. However was quite noisy at night due to this location but we put in a pair of earplugs and were good to go! We were also on street level- rooms on the upper floors may not have been so loud. Staff was very friendly. Room was quite large and well decorated. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just returned from Chania and from our 2 night accommodation in Doge Hotel. The Hotel is in the old city, 2 minutes from the sea. It's in the pedestrian area and everything is within walking distance, restaurants, cafes, shops etc. From KTEL bus station is 4 minutes by foot. Our room was very spacious, clean and unlike other reviews, there was not a but smell in it. The bathroom was very nice the bed was comfortable with a flat screen TV, slippers, and toiletries. Our room was facing the street, so some times you could hear the noise from outside, but in no way, you can blame the hotel for this reason.
The best part though from our accommodation was the stuff. Honestly I felt like I was with friends or family. They were extremely friendly, helpful, polite always with a smile on their face. Many many thanks to Efi, Petroula, Themis and the other girl with blonde hair (my apologies but I do not remember the name). YOU WERE GREAT.!!!
Also a nice touch was the breakfast. Sitting outside having your breakfast with your coffee was a great way to start your day.
We love Chania. So in our next visit we will definitely stay here !!!
Love from Cyprus, Tasos and Maria.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night only but will for sure go again for longer. The value for money is great, the location is fantastic. very central, close to water, bars, restaurants and shops.
We did not eat there but heard from others that breakfast is simple and good.
The rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is very friendly

Highly recommend it
Enjoy Chania its heaven on earth

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just a short walk to the waterfront. Great shops around area. Bed was comfortable enough. We did not have breakfast there as we slept through the available times, but heard from others it was simple and good enough. Great for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Doge Hotel in the Old Town of Chania was a delight to find for our honeymoon. Very bohemian, charming and authentic. The staff were fantastic, always happy to help. Breakfast (included in room price) was great and varied. The rooms were lovely, we moved from a room at the back to a street side room so we could have a view of the sea and didn't find it noisy at all as there are no cars on these narrow, cobbled streets. A definite recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doge Hotel

Address: Kondilaki 14-16, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DOGE Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Chania.The15th-century, Venetian-style Doge Hotel is in Chania’s centre 50 metres from the Venetian Harbour. It features free Wi-Fi, a rich breakfast and self-catered rooms with romantic décor. Air-conditioned rooms feature traditional wrought iron or dark wood furnishings. All rooms are equipped with LCD satellite TV and kitchenettes include fridge and coffee-making facilities. Some units of Traditional Doge Hotel offer a dining area. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms or in the hotel’s café with views of the scenic, cobbled street and old market. There is an on-site gift shop with handcrafted souvenirs and jewellery. The hotel offers information about famous Samaria Gorge. Traditional Cretan restaurants, museums and bars are within a 5-minute walk from Doge Traditional Hotel. Chania Airport is 17 km away, while Souda Port is at 7 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doge Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.