We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silde Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silde Apartments to your Saves list
Silde Apartments
Old Town, Chania Town, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Spain
1 review
“The best place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent value for money. Excellent Location. Silvia will be there for all you need. Don´t woory about the breakfast, you´ll have all you need there (even a handmade cake of Silvia). Besides, Chania is one of the best places in whole Greece. I fully recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We chose this apartment as our base while spending a week in Crete. Silvia, the owner was in constant contact with us while we were in Rome prior to our flight to Chania and even texted us WELCOME when our flight landed. She even walked to the parking to meet up with us when we arrived because cars aren’t allowed in the Old Town. The apartment was clean and spacious. Our bed was extremely comfy and big. The only thing that we were hoping for was to be on a higher floor but since we are situated far from any restaurant or club, it was fairly quiet. The small kitchen equipped with a small fridge and stove was perfect for our breakfast. The best part is Silvia is always available to answer our questions about where to go, what to do. She showed us the best way to get to beaches, where to buy souvenirs and jewelry, and stuck around for small talk. We could not have asked for a more welcoming hostess.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment on a higher floor for more privacy and tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajijic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at Silde Apts for two nights. Sylvia has been most helpful both by email & in person. Studio is in restored historic home with quality furnishings. Nice to have a separate bedroom. Kitchen is well equipped inc. elec grill & a real coffee maker & stocked with basics- coffee, tea, paper towels, etc. Bath has beautiful fixtures & plenty of hot water.. Sat. TV , WIFI. With good reception

Room Tip: Stairs only to upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We enjoyed our Silde apartment for four nights. Owner Sylvia was very responsive to emails during the booking process, and very friendly and helpful on arrival. The unit is compact but has everything, including an excellent shower with small dumper option; and it did not flood the bathroom floor ( a rare privilege in Greece). The location is ideal, with not too far to walk from the car park, and easy access to all of Old Town. Given its location in Old Town, it is a bit noisy with locals going about their business until midnight - if you want to sleep before then, bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in apartment no.3 on the second floor for 11 nights. Whilst fairly simple, it had everything we needed & we had a very comfortable stay - it had real character & felt a real home from home, not just a holiday apartment. It's also in a fantastic location, minutes walk to the harbour & countless cafés & restaurants. The owner, Sylvia, was so kind & helpful - recommending restaurants, looking up bus time-tables for us & even bringing us cake, biscuits, olive oil & Easter chocolates - all homemade! The cleaners came every day, & also changed towels, even on Easter Day.

We had an amazing stay there & we miss it - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: It's worth pointing out that the stairs up to this apartment are very steep so anyone with mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic situation, right in the middle of the old town, i.e. in the middle of everything. The owner of the studios was very kind and helpful and gave us good tips with maps. Our studio (bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bathroom, two small balconies) was very clean and they even changed the sheets and towels every day - like in a luxury hotel!! The beds were comfortable. Because of many stairs the upper rooms are not maybe the best choice for (elderly) people with bad legs. Can recommend!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The apartments are in the centre of old Venetian Chania, close to everything (the free town parking, the old harbour, several delicious restaurants, and shops around the corner within 30 seconds walk) and yet there is no noise, as it is at the corner of 2 pedestrian side streets which form a tiny piazza.
We arrived 30 minutes earlier than planned, without warning, but thankfully Silvia (our host) was already at the door to welcome us with the key and show us the room, which was on the second floor (the only negative point here being that the stairs are rather steep with a suitcase, but the view is more than worth the effort).
Our apartment had 1 bedroom, a living room with a kitchen corner, and a small bathroom. The bathroom was clean and modern. The lofty bedroom had a window, a high ceiling and a vast comfortable bed with crisp white sheets. As we stayed only 1 night, we did not unpack, but there is a wardrobe and a chest in the room for storage if you are planning to stay several days. The living room is very bright, as it has 2 windows (each with a balcony), but you can draw the curtains and get some shade in the afternoon if you wanted to cool down; the flat has also air-conditioning. The living room is tastefully furnished with a deep sofa couch (for a lazy nap), a table and two chairs (garnished with the welcome coffee/tea/milk/kettle and a generous portion of home-made lemon drizzle cake for our breakfast (under a cake cloche to keep it fresh), and a kitchen corner with sink and hot plates (and all cutlery, plates and pan necessary for a home-made meal). We only used 1 balcony, but on each of them, there is a small table and 2 chairs where 2 people can sit while having a coffee, and gaze upon the neighbouring rooftops (ochre curved tiles and pot gardens), the Venetian balconies, arches and elegant windows of the surrounding high storied buildings, or the few passers-by down below. It’s a beautiful spot.
Silvia gave us a very warm welcome, provided us with both a map of town and a homemade map of recommended restaurants (which was very useful – we ate well thanks to this!). After a chat, we discovered that she is fluent in at least Greek, English and Italian (and maybe more languages! ), and also accepted payment by MasterCard without any problem – a rare thing in my experience in Greece outside of bigger hotels.
This place is a gem - if you stay in Chania, do not miss it!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is great (the stairs are steep but the lack of noise, sunshine, breeze and view are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#5 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#17 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madonna Studios
Madonna Studios
#3 of 115 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silde Apartments

Address: Old Town, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silde studios and apartments are situated in a small square of the Venetian quarter of Chania,the focal point of the old town with its museums, shops, cafes, tavernas and promenades. It includes two studios and two apartments. All rooms include bathroom with shower, full equipped kitchenette, fridge, air condition,heating, internet service, safe box and tv. Very close to Silde is the big beach of the town and the public parking (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silde Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silde Apartments Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silde Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.