We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality studio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silde Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silde Apartments to your Saves list
Silde Apartments
Old Town, Chania Town, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ajijic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quality studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at Silde Apts for two nights. Sylvia has been most helpful both by email & in person. Studio is in restored historic home with quality furnishings. Nice to have a separate bedroom. Kitchen is well equipped inc. elec grill & a real coffee maker & stocked with basics- coffee, tea, paper towels, etc. Bath has beautiful fixtures & plenty of hot water.. Sat. TV , WIFI. With good reception

Room Tip: Stairs only to upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We enjoyed our Silde apartment for four nights. Owner Sylvia was very responsive to emails during the booking process, and very friendly and helpful on arrival. The unit is compact but has everything, including an excellent shower with small dumper option; and it did not flood the bathroom floor ( a rare privilege in Greece). The location is ideal, with not too far to walk from the car park, and easy access to all of Old Town. Given its location in Old Town, it is a bit noisy with locals going about their business until midnight - if you want to sleep before then, bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in apartment no.3 on the second floor for 11 nights. Whilst fairly simple, it had everything we needed & we had a very comfortable stay - it had real character & felt a real home from home, not just a holiday apartment. It's also in a fantastic location, minutes walk to the harbour & countless cafés & restaurants. The owner, Sylvia, was so kind & helpful - recommending restaurants, looking up bus time-tables for us & even bringing us cake, biscuits, olive oil & Easter chocolates - all homemade! The cleaners came every day, & also changed towels, even on Easter Day.

We had an amazing stay there & we miss it - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: It's worth pointing out that the stairs up to this apartment are very steep so anyone with mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Absolutely a fantastic situation, right in the middle of the old town, i.e. in the middle of everything. The owner of the studios was very kind and helpful and gave us good tips with maps. Our studio (bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bathroom, two small balconies) was very clean and they even changed the sheets and towels every day - like in a luxury hotel!! The beds were comfortable. Because of many stairs the upper rooms are not maybe the best choice for (elderly) people with bad legs. Can recommend!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The apartments are in the centre of old Venetian Chania, close to everything (the free town parking, the old harbour, several delicious restaurants, and shops around the corner within 30 seconds walk) and yet there is no noise, as it is at the corner of 2 pedestrian side streets which form a tiny piazza.
We arrived 30 minutes earlier than planned, without warning, but thankfully Silvia (our host) was already at the door to welcome us with the key and show us the room, which was on the second floor (the only negative point here being that the stairs are rather steep with a suitcase, but the view is more than worth the effort).
Our apartment had 1 bedroom, a living room with a kitchen corner, and a small bathroom. The bathroom was clean and modern. The lofty bedroom had a window, a high ceiling and a vast comfortable bed with crisp white sheets. As we stayed only 1 night, we did not unpack, but there is a wardrobe and a chest in the room for storage if you are planning to stay several days. The living room is very bright, as it has 2 windows (each with a balcony), but you can draw the curtains and get some shade in the afternoon if you wanted to cool down; the flat has also air-conditioning. The living room is tastefully furnished with a deep sofa couch (for a lazy nap), a table and two chairs (garnished with the welcome coffee/tea/milk/kettle and a generous portion of home-made lemon drizzle cake for our breakfast (under a cake cloche to keep it fresh), and a kitchen corner with sink and hot plates (and all cutlery, plates and pan necessary for a home-made meal). We only used 1 balcony, but on each of them, there is a small table and 2 chairs where 2 people can sit while having a coffee, and gaze upon the neighbouring rooftops (ochre curved tiles and pot gardens), the Venetian balconies, arches and elegant windows of the surrounding high storied buildings, or the few passers-by down below. It’s a beautiful spot.
Silvia gave us a very warm welcome, provided us with both a map of town and a homemade map of recommended restaurants (which was very useful – we ate well thanks to this!). After a chat, we discovered that she is fluent in at least Greek, English and Italian (and maybe more languages! ), and also accepted payment by MasterCard without any problem – a rare thing in my experience in Greece outside of bigger hotels.
This place is a gem - if you stay in Chania, do not miss it!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is great (the stairs are steep but the lack of noise, sunshine, breeze and view are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Sometimes you find an apartment that exceeds your expectations and Silde belongs without any doubt to that category. First there is the location in the Topanas district, undoubtedly one of the most attractive places in Chania. Silde is located in a quiet street, between the harbor and a busier street with some good restaurants, souvenir shops and two mini markets. Secondly, the apartment itself. Ours was on the first floor and had a balcony which was spacious enough to sit with two people. The apartment (actually two rooms with a connecting door) was very tastefully decorated, had a good bathroom and a comfortable bed. The kitchen was a bit on the small side, but adequate for making breakfast and a simple meal. And finally Silvia, the owner. Every morning she was present to answer questions, give advice or just to chat. Silvia, thank you very much and we will definitely come back once to Chania and to Silde.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Silvia was amazing from start to finish. She met us when we arrived to show us the apartment, talk about the town and what there was to see and give us tips about eating. The map of restaurants was fantastic. One great meal after another. There was even homemade cake when we arrived.

The room (top floor) was the best part. Having breakfast each morning there was fantastic and a great start to the day. Internet was great and the service in the room was amazing as well. Always spotless when it was cleaned, as if we were walking in on the first day each day.

The best place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: The top floor is the best with the terrace, however all the rooms have balconies. Even the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silde Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silde Apartments

Address: Old Town, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silde studios and apartments are situated in a small square of the Venetian quarter of Chania,the focal point of the old town with its museums, shops, cafes, tavernas and promenades. It includes two studios and two apartments. All rooms include bathroom with shower, full equipped kitchenette, fridge, air condition,heating, internet service, safe box and tv. Very close to Silde is the big beach of the town and the public parking (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Silde Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silde Apartments Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silde Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.