We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Leone Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Our hostess, Maria, treated us as though we were family. The breakfast was gorgeous. Wine on the balcony was so romantic. The view was spectacular. LOVED IT. Book this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    49
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
378
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A small, charming, boutique hotel, cleverly converted from an old Venetian house, set in a quiet backstreet of Chania's picturesque old town. Stunning views across the attractive harbour. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were tastefully furnished with period pieces. The English speaking staff were absolutely lovely. I cannot recommend this delightful hotel highly enough and look forward to returning one day!

Room Tip: The superior room up the spiral staircase benefits from a terrace with chairs and table, which overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

My family of four stayed 3 days/2 nights at the Casa Leone hotel. It was a very sweet couple that took care of us the entire trip. We stayed in the Casa Leone suite overlooking the Old Town harbor. It was a phenomenal view, with a small balcony complete with a table and chairs. The suite has a bed with beautiful princess netting in an upstairs loft, and they made up the sofa and extra bed in the downstairs for my 4 and 6 year old. The included breakfast was excellent and way more food than we could have eaten (boiled eggs, cheese pastries, breads with marmalades, greek yogurt with granola and fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, milk, tea/coffee, pound cake). We skipped lunch both days after the breakfast. The room was very clean, and had an adjustable air conditioning/heating unit that worked well. The only down sides were the beds were a little hard. The location was excellent, and right by the waterfront, restaurants, shopping. To get to the entrance you must walk through pedestrian only cobbled streets. Once you know where it is, it's very easy to location. Our cab dropped us off one street over, as that was the closest a car could go. The locals were helpful in pointing out which way to go from there. We asked if they could arrange a car rental for the 2nd day we were there, and they were happy to help. The car was there after we finished breakfast for just 35 Euro for the whole day. On our last day, the owners held our bags after noon checkout until 5pm when we needed to leave. It was a lovely sweet place to stay, with a super nice and helpful owners who were great with our kids as well as other couples staying there! Would definitely go back again!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the waterfront have awesome views, but are over restaurants. For a quieter room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

Casa Leone is a hotel we've wanted to stay in for a while but never managed until now, as we don't usually plan our trips well enough in advance to find an available room (the hotel has only five guest rooms). This time we were way out of season, so we managed it!

Let's start with the location, which for me is unbeatable. The hotel is in a beautifully restored fifteenth century building right on the waterfront of Chania's old Venetian harbour (but see note below **). There are only five guest rooms, each one different. Two of the guest rooms, as well as the reception area, have small balconies that overlook the harbour - amazing view!!! Another room has a bigger terrace, again overlooking the harbour, which must be very nice in summer though the terrace was not too comfortable in February.

Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, kept so by the ever-helpful Maria who also provides a breakfast that seems to just keep coming - too much for my small appetite actually, though one can't complain about that! The bed was very comfortable, which I find unusual in hotels.

If you are lucky enough to stay here, it's worth spending a few minutes to read the history of the building, and its renovation by the family that owns the hotel. It is kept in a small folder at the reception.

We have stayed at several hotels in Chania over the years, and I have even given a five star review to one of those, the Splanzia hotel. I still think Splanzia is worth those five stars but then Casa Leone deserves at least five and a half because of its exquisite location.

Highly recommended.


** Note: the hotel IS on the waterfront but the entrance, like those of most of the waterfront hotels, is hidden away in the maze of tiny back streets in the old town behind the harbour.

To complicate things further, at the time of writing (February 2015), Google maps shows Casa Leone in the wrong location. Google locates the hotel on Theotokopoulou street, which is not on the sea front. In fact the entrance to Casa Leone is on a side street of Theotokopoulou (shown as Par 1 Theotokopoulou on the map: par is an abbreviation of parodos, the Greek for side street). Booking.com shows it in the correct position, the actual location is approximately 35°31′03.86″N 24°00′57.27″E. I have submitted a problem report to Google about this so hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

It is charm all around.!
People are very nice, they greet you with a try with sweet treats and coffee by the main little balcony.
Breakfast every morning is different, we got educated with Greece cuisine at breakfast. Tasty and fresh!
The room was wonderful, we booked one of the rooms with the front view of the bay. Thia is an ancient building that has been restore and made it habitable, so some of the walls and beams are original. It is a very romantic place. As it is on top of night club, in the middle of crowd traffic, it could be little noisy at night, but with the AC on, the noise banish.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Absolutely gorgeous location looking out over the harbour. Fascinating old building with great history that's been restored beautifully with characterful rooms well furnished in a beautiful setting.

Maria is charming & her breakfasts are amazing - huge amount of food and very good. Overall a really great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a large terrace and room 3 (+ 1 other) have small balconies - all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

this is a nice place at the old town at Chania....It is clean place with the best view i have ever seen at the old port at chania..I have been to the old city 9 times in the past...This place is amazing but of course it is one of the most expensive places at the old town...if it is just to stay a few days or if youi can afford it it worth it...

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for it..there is no way to reger it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Leone Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.