We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Leone Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SMART Deal
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yet again this hotel came up trumps! We have stayed there now for five times and this time my partner proposed! Niko, Antonia and Maria are very special people and had made our room up with red roses and a bottle of champagne. We have always had very happy times staying here and this time was even more special. We always stay during the winter and absolutely love it. There are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance and to drive up into the White Mountains to admire the autumn colours was wonderful. We will be back before too long! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    47
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
371
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived to find that our room had one of the most spectacular views of the harbour in Hania and were instantly charmed. The keepers of the Hotel, Maria and Antonio, are absolutely wonderful and even went out to buy me a thermometer because I thought had a bit of fever the first night! We loved sitting on the balcony, sipping tea, watching the light change and the activities in the harbour. it was very quiet being November which we loved. Our room was beautifully decorated, with a four-poster bed, shining wooden floors and antique furniture. The bathroom was small but very clean and perfectly functional. A tray with tea/coffee and a complimentary bottle of water was included in the room. Breakfast is taken in a beautiful room with a large double window opening onto a balcony which overlooks the harbour. Breakfast is not included but plentiful and wonderful if you like croissant, cake, breads, home-made preserve, honey, fresh yoghurt with fruit, muesli to sprinkle on the yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh juice and unlimited tea and coffee. If you prefer a light breakfast, you can eat out but I recommend having Maria's breakfast at least once during your stay if you can eat gluten!

We look forward to returning to Crete and will definitely stay at Casa Leone again.

Room Tip: choose one with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night at Casa Leone as we were in Crete to visit friends, but wish it had been longer. Because it was such a short stay we just booked the Edem Double so we didn't have a balcony, but being November we weren't too bothered about that. The room was absolutely beautiful with polished wooden floors, antique furniture and a four poster bed which was sumptuously comfortable. There was a very comprehensive tea/coffee tray in the room,and also a hairdryer. The proprietors are very helpful and friendly. Other reviewers have mentioned the breakfasts - wow! Breakfast is taken in a beautiful room with a large double window opening onto a balcony which overlooks the harbour. A boiled egg is then followed by a hot ham & cheese croissant, a selection of cake, bread, and what we call "cakey bread"; home-made preserve, honey, fresh yoghurt with fruit, muesli to sprinkle on the yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh juice, unlimited tea and coffee .... I've probably left something out but suffice to say I defy anyone to leave the table hungry.
I advise looking closely at a map of where the hotel is situated, especially if you are approaching from maze of little streets in the town. It's easier to find if you're on the waterfront as you can just find the hotel and go up the little street to the right of it and follow the building round the back until you get to the gates of Casa Leone.
Chania in November is lovely - it was warm (around 20 degrees), and bright, and because many of the restaurants and gift shops are closed for winter you can see some of the fabulous architecture that you don't notice when the streets are heaving with people and the buildings have their wares hung outside. We've been going to Crete for many years and have been to Chania several times but never out of season - it was brilliant. We intend going next November, and will hopefully be able to book at least two nights at Casa Leone.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

All five rooms have their own individual charm. The views from the balcony are perfect and it is great to stay somewhere so central inside the walled old town, surrounded by restaurants and nightlife, overlooking the picturesue Venetain old port of Chania and yet so quiet. The outstanding part of our weeks stay was the welocome afforded to uis by the owners and their staff who made us feel so welcome that it was like staying with dear friends who had a very comfortable house of their own

Room Tip: Three rooms overlook the harbour and those are the best of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Crete in October 2014. The honeymoon suite is as advertised in the pictures and has a majestic view of the harbor. The hotel is right in the center of old town Chania. The breakfast is great and the staff are friendly. It was about 30 minutes from the airport. There is a short walk from the taxi dropoff to the hotel - it's a 3 minute walk if you know where you are going, but when you first arrive you might get lost. Don't worry - getting lost in Chania is the fun part!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Great service and amazing location with a great view. The Hotel made us feel at home. The breakfast was served in the main room with the view, it was fresh and spectacular. Great way to start your day!!

Room Tip: You can choose the rooms with a balcony view have more privacy, but there are a couple of rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This is a lovely small boutique hotel with amazing views over the old harbour of Chania.
Family run, the key personnel are owners, Nikos and his wife, and staff members Antonia and Maria. All are very keen to help and offer visitors warm, genuine, generous Greek hospitality at its best. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Whatever you want, just ask and they will do their utmost to meet your request.
Unless you want a very quiet room, go for one of the rooms with a view of the harbour. They are truly lovely.
The hotel's Cretan breakfasts are legendary. So much food! Don't be afraid to say you have eaten enough. But do try the local Cretan specialities offered.
The building is a sympathetically restored Venetian mansion. It's a beautiful building. Maria the housekeeper keeps it spotlessly clean.
If you are looking for something refreshingly different from bland chain hotels, the Casa Leone is for you.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the old harbour, unless you want a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Leone Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.