We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Gem with a Big Heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Leone Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SMART Deal
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Small Gem with a Big Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Casa Leone is a little hard to get to (you can't drive up to it) but it is well worth it. Our cab driver at the airport had to consult with his fellow drivers about how to get to the hotel. The 5-room boutique hotel on the harbor is a restored Venetian house with many original features. My husband and I had room #4 which did not have a balcony but was very quiet. Normally, though we did have access to the balcony in the main central room. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed watching the bustling harbor from the hotel, including a sensational rowboat race. The location was great with easy access to many restaurants, bars, and shops. Now for the good stuff. The hostess, Antonia, is the hotel's greatest asset. She is a bundle of energy, charm, and information. When we told her we were thinking of hiking the Samaria Gorge, she jumped in with both feet, laying out all the options. She said a reputable tour group could pick us up very near the hotel, take us to the top of the gorge, buy our entry tickets, include a guide, sell us ferry tickets, and take us back to the hotel...all for 5 euros more than what we would had to have paid if we did it on our own. So we did it and she was right. She also helped with dinner reservations when needed (everyone who likes seafood must go to Thalassino Ageri). If you had any reasonable request, all you needed to do was ask Antonia. And you will not believe the size and quality of the breakfasts she prepares, with the main course changing every morning. We could never finish everything. Being from Seattle, we are particular about our coffee and it passed the test with flying colors. All of this for 112.50 euros per night! One note of caution. If you are the type that must have every modern convenience, a huge bathroom, no stairs, cab delivery to the front door, etc., go somewhere else. Remember, this is basically a beautiful, but small, B&B. For us, this place was perfect.

Room Tip: The main choice is between rooms with or without balconies. The ones without are a bit quieter in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    47
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
370
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Casa Leone for 10 nights in the honeymoon room, not because we were just married but selected purely for its private terrace overlooking the beautiful harbour of Chania.

Casa Leona is traditional, paying huge respect to its origins as a Venetian gem. With only 5 rooms, it is a boutique hotel which allows for a friendly, sociable feel but also offers privacy within its characterful rooms.

Antonia, Maria, all their small team are delightful. Welcoming guests with smiles & providing help/information about the hotel, Chania or wider Crete. The breakfasts are served primarily in main lounge/reception area and be prepared as you will be offered fine Cretan based food but far more than you'll need!

You won't find a better location for your stay. We enjoyed views over the bustling harbour from our private terrace which is well equipped. The harbour front is lively at night but our room was quiet, away from noise. Rooms are not large but are big enough & ensuites are compact but have everything you need - our room is in keeping with the origins of the building decorated in a traditional style.

Casa Leone is located in the prettiest part of the old town with narrow streets & beautiful old buildings with decorative wrought iron Venetian style balconies dripping with colourful flowers. It's a photographers dream. We spent some days walking, exploring east & west along the front & others meandering around the small lanes of the old town. We hired a car for 7 days which also allowed us freedom to discover the surrounding area of western Crete. We particular liked the beach at Kalathas as it attracted less tourists, more locals & provided a constant sea breeze, safe swimming & all we were seeking for our days on the beach.

We hope to return to Chania & would love to stay at Casa Leone again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a private terrace overlooking the lovely harbour. It offers sun & shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this hotel carefully after reading many hotel reviews in Chania and I was not disappointed!

I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel except have one key piece of feedback for the hotel which I hope will help future guests, particularly solo travellers like myself. It was almost impossible to find on your own! Unfortunately, I arrived very late at night after my ferry from Santorini was late in arriving into Heraklion. I had asked the hotel previously how to get there from the bus station, but the instructions did not really make sense, and Google maps has this hotel's location incorrect - a warning for travellers who rely on this. The hotel really should have a map that they can send travellers which clearly shows where they are located, particularly from the bust station.

The room upon arrival was lovely - very elegant personal touches to the room. The shower is very small which is a warning to guests who are very tall - but fine if you're tiny like me :)

Wifi was okay - intermittent but good enough.

The breakfast was what REALLY impressed me - see my photos for an overview - a selection of breads, pastries, condiments, cakes, orange juice, coffee (good coffee too!), eggs and the best Greek yoghurt of my trip.

The hotel is right in the middle of the action - perfect for exploring Chania. Plenty of amazing restaurants around. And the owners are extremely helpful and friendly.

If you want a good sleep in at this hotel though, you may not get it. The rooms all back onto the dining room and so from 8.30am there is a lot of hustle and bustle directly at your door. But not a big issue, just something to be aware of - this is a boutique hotel and so everything is very close to everything!

But great place - have already recommended it to my family and friends - the best view in Chania I reckon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is one of the best places you can stay, no word about that. If you're about exploring Chania, shopping or having romantic evenings near harbor that's the spot to have it all. More than that, this is probably the best place we stayed for that money in our lives. Whenever visiting Crete we will be back to Casa Leone for a few nights at least. There is a myth that this part of the city is noisy and that is not truth at all. At this point I must say that we visited Chania at beginning of June, never July or August. We maximally enjoyed every minute at this superb hotel where everything is so nice and in right place. Real gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Leone. It was our last stop at the end of our two week Honeymoon in Greece. We were a little tired from our travels and Casa Leone really took care of us. Each money morning they made us a delicious Greek breakfast. They were very helpful and always asked about our days. Our room was very spacious and very well taken care of. We highly recommend Casa Leone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday, so Maria was the only one around. She was just wonderful getting us set and helping us with any and every thing. It was a terrific start to the great experience we had at Casa Leone. We had Room no.2 to the right of the large main/common area, while our friends had Room no.1 across from us. We both had private balconies to enjoy the complimentary welcome wine and chocolates. There is also a large balcony off of the main area. The balconies all look out over the old port and provide a great view of the old town. You can watch all the people walking by and the lights at night. It was beautiful to have a cup of tea/coffee on the balcony in the quiet morning, although the tranquility did not last long as the cafes and restaurants below started with the loud music at 08:30, but that was followed by nice church bells.
The rooms have all been redone to preserve the old Venetian style. Our room had a second floor containing the bed. Below was a spacious living area, with a couch, lounge chairs and a desk, and a small bathroom, with a tight shower. It was charming, with a lot of exposed wooden beams and panels. The hotel is a little hard to locate through the narrow, windy streets, but after the first time, it's not an issue. You have to park your car at the municipal lot and walk about 300 meters to get to the hotel.
Breakfast was served in the main area and was excellent. We walked around the town in the morning and returned to check out at noon. We stayed in the common area for about an hour more with complimentary juice, while my wife returned to the shops for a couple of additional items. The owners were very welcoming and generous.
This is very nice place and we would certainly go back there for a stay in the future.

Room Tip: The two rooms off of the common room have great balconies that overlook the old port and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for two days. We like the atmosphere and hospitality, We had complimentary wine on the balcony to see the beautiful night view of the port and bought beer our own to see the port at day time. We enjoy our last two relax day in Chania, Crete. Would love to come back if I got a chance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#9 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Leone Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.