We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Leone Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bathurst, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We visited this beautiful hotel in July 2009. It ranks as one of the best locations in the world. A special private place but directly next to the bustle of an old Venetian Harbour. The ships pass by your balcony! The service we received started with the owner and his wife waiting late into the night for us to arrive. They provided spontaneous transport and friendship out of the top drawer.

Room Tip: Take a chance on the noise, be in the front rooms overlooking the Harbour. If you can't beat the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    49
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
378
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

First impressions on arrival where extremely favourable and exceeded our expectations. Maria (the hostess) gave us a wonderful welcome which sealed the whole experience of the weekend. The room was warm, relaxing and beautifully appointed. The location of the hotel was perfect within easy walking distance of both the parking, and the tavernas. The breakfasts, provided by Maria, where outstanding and set us up for the day (particularly as we went up to Omalos in the snow!) This is an exceptional hotel which I would have no hestiation of using again. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Throughly enjoyed our three day stay at this Boutique hotel. We stayed in the junior suite, it has lofted bed and living area below. It looks out onto the court yard and does not have its own balcony, but it was the cheapest room. We mostly used the balcony in lobby as the other rooms have their own. The cleaning lady (so sorry I forget her name? Maria?) even brought us a plate of meat, cheese and olives while we were hanging out there one afternoon. It overlooks the harbour and the hustle and bustle below. The establishment is clean, traditionally decorated and quaint. Breakfast in the morning prepared by the hostess ( I forget her name too) was traditional and wonderful. The front desk staff VERY VERY helpful always. It's in a very good location in the corner only a few minutes walk to the closed gate- this is helpful to know as you cannot drive your car in Chania and if you have suitcases to lug around you do not want to have to walk far, the streets are cobbled and uneven. I would go back in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Casa Leone in Chania is a pretty Villa right on the harbour. It is in the heart of the old town and a short walk from the bus station or to taxis. When we arrived we sat down to a wonderful afternoon tea. The service in the hotel was wonderful we couldn't fault it. Breakfast was unbelievable and it kept coming and coming and coming it was fantastic and would fill you for the entire day. We did decline breakfast one day as we were leaving very early to walk Samaria and in our fridge that morning we found sandwiches croissants, yoghurt,fruit and juice all waiting for us. There was so much food we took some for our lunch, It was very thoughtful of the staff. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would love to return one day. Please note that if you would like to walk Samaria take comfortable shoes as most of the walk is across Rocks and uneven ground. Also we highly recommend taking a boat trip with Nick the Greek. You will find his boat farily easily or the English man spruiking his tour.It was highly entertaining and we did see an octopus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Wow, this place is amazing. It's beautiful and the location is very central, but that's not why it's so great. The people here make this place spectacular. My husband and I got lost on the way to the hotel. When we hadn't shown up in a reasonable amount of time, the hotel called us to see if we were okay. When they found out we were lost, they had us pull over and wait for the owner of the hotel to come find us. Within 10 minutes, we were at the hotel, being greeted by Maria in the middle of the street with big hugs and kisses. We had never met her and she treated us like family. The next morning, we woke up and were shocked to find that breakfast at this hotel is more like a feast than a simple hotel breakfast. Yogurt, granola, cakes, coffee, fresh squeezed juices, and every day they serve a different hot meal. Once day we were served a biscuit with chopped tomatoes and feta cheese, while another day we had crepes with meat and cheese. Well, I'm a vegetarian, and Maria made me a cheese sandwich instead! They were just wonderful. We had an early flight out on our last day, so while we were out they stocked our fridge with food to bring to the airport with us the next morning. My husband and I are trying to figure out how we can pass through Crete and grab a few nights in Casa Leone on our next trip to Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel was amazing, the view especially was breathtaking. It was something out of a story book. The hotel itself only has 5 rooms which made it very intimate. We met the owners Nikos and Anna they were very nice, but the person that made out stay most memerable was Antonia. She went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay, not to mention that we looked forward to her breakfast every morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a wonderful, peaceful place to stay in Chania. But overall, I was most impressed by the generosity that the whole staff showed towards all the guests. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: you should get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We picked this hotel because of the TripAdvisor ratings. The hotel exceeded expectations. Larger than expected rooms. Wireless internet. Ideal location. Stunning view of the harbor from private balcony/patio (room 5). Staff was friendly and accommodating - made the trip even better. I am gluten-intolerant, and as soon as the owners realised that I was not eating the breakfast they were providing, they went out of their way to provide something different. Can't say enough good things about this place. Am happy to stay over and over again, and happy to refer friends and family alike.

PS - Recommend for business, couples, family, solo, and considerate friends (not people on a loud/rowdy trip).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st side street Theotokopoulou 18 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Leone Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.