We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING LOVELY FAMILY RUN HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Futura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Futura Hotel to your Saves list
Futura Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maleme Village, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Stonehouse Lanarkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING LOVELY FAMILY RUN HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here 4th to 11th June 2013 on a self catering basis and what can I say but a lovely relaxing holiday just what we wanted.
The hotel is run by a lovely family who will help with any queries or complaints you
may have.
I would say the prices for meals and drinks are more expensive than that of other eating places
and bars within walking distance of the hotel. The shower was a bit small in room 303 where we stayed but other than that the apartment was large but basic , two ring cooker, fridge, no kettle, no microwave or oven.
The rooms were cleaned everyday , also the pool side was clean and tidy, the gardens were well maintained also.
There was no entertainment in hotel but this may change in high season.
The beach is a 10 minute walk but may not be suitable with those with walking difficulties
But once you are there it is lovely with bars and restaurants who all welcome you with a smile.
The Black Lantern is also good for eating and drinking watch out for that honey ouzo, just turn left when you leave hotel. We will definitely go back for a budget holiday break .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

An excellent quality hotel, very pleasant, clean and spacious rooms.

The location is about 1-1,5h walk, 15min bus ride from any action or sandy beaches.Unfortunately the buses were not very regular. One time I waited over 1,5h for a bus. There is no bus schedule. I ended up taking taxis to see family who were closer to central Chania. The beach next to this one is

The hotel was otherwise super super nice! The area is nice, and there are a few shop, including a British shop (mostly selling Asda products). I would recommend if you want peace and quiet. IF you like clubbing etc, this is a nice hotel, but be prepared to wait a long time in the bus stop and taking taxis back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestby
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We feel relaxed and homes when we meet a friendly smiling and helpfull owners. Futura is a nice familyhotel and the staff helps you relax and enjoy your vacation. Room: Cleaning every day. Pool: Crystal clean. Gardening: Exelent. Restaurant/Bar: Exelent.Best regards from Sonja, Sven Tore, Tiril og Sølve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hotel is very attractive and well laid out.The accommodation is very spacious and clean.
( good maid service). We did have a noisy fridge, our complaint was dealt with quickly and efficiently and the fridge was replaced.
The pool was a good size with a diving board at the deep end , ( excellent)!
The food was delicious in the restaurant, a little more expensive than the local tavernas, but the waiters were very attentive and friendly and there was a nice ambiance in the place.
The shop attached to the hotel was well stocked and the staff were helpful and friendly there too and they were keen to share their knowledge of Crete, as were the owners of the hotel.We hired a car and there was adequate parking both beside the hotel and in a small underground car park on site. All in all a great place to stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel, family run and the staff and owners were so friendly. Lovely spotless rooms, fridge & equipment for self catering also available for half board use which was appreciated. Pool was wonderful!!! Buses to Chania every 20 mins (can get crowded) and a daily (9am from opposite the hotel) bus to Elafonisi beach so great location. However, as you are out of the main touristy resorts it was a much nicer place to stay. Very quiet at the end of May - sometimes we had the hotel pool to ourselves!!! We stayed half board and had a very nice buffet breakfast in the morning, but the evening food - you just get what you are given, but it was soooooo tasty. It was like dining in a 5* restaurant every night. If you are fussy or vegetarian, you may want to speak to the hotel owners & I'm sure they'll accommodate you, but our children aged 8 & 10 ate almost everything put in front of them - from traditional Crete food to delicious handmade burger and chips. Good shop at the front of the hotel, but a big supermarket (and traditional butchers) in walking distance so great for making sandwiches or for those who are self-catering. Also a very nice ceramics shop opposite the hotel, better quality than any of the Ceramics we saw in Chania so holiday gifts were easy to buy. We can't wait to return to Futura - thanks for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: first floor had sun on balcony, ground floor had shade on balcony for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel, as we were staying with Expat family near by, but visited this hotel a few times for meals, drinks, and to use the pool. We have also booked tourist trips through them, and used their shop.

The pool facilities are excellent and there is a smaller pool for the children. The meals were excellent. My favourite was the beef stifado. They have a children's menu, and the kids pizza is ginormous!

The staff, and the family who run the hotel are very attentive, friendly, and knowledgable. They made us feel very much at home, even though we were not staying at the hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone looking to stay in Maleme, and we look forward to returning for a meal on our next trip to Crete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just got back from holiday and had a great time at the Futura apartments. The service was great and they had delicious food. The pool bar was a nice place to just have a drink and relax. My husband and I made awesome friends and would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Futura Hotel

Address: Maleme Village, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Futura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Futura Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Futura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.