The internet connection is not stable and you need to troubleshoot/log out/log in several times a day. There is apparently no solution to this if you ask the staff (...). So if you bring work or need to be online for some reason - be patient. On the positive side: when it is stable, it is quite effective.
Food. It is pricy, compared to the restaurants in the Chania area, and there is really nothing special about it. The gyro at the poolbar costs 8 euro, and 100 meters down the street you will have a great, freshly made gyro for 2,50. The fruit plate with yoghurt is great though!
Service. The cleaners, especially Kasia, is great! The hotel is lucky to have this woman on staff - she is effective, smiling & helpful! If I was the management of this hotel, I would find bigger and better things to do for this woman - she is a great ambassador for the hotel. The two bartenders, Billy and Kyriakos, were good guys. Working long hours in the heat, they still make you feel welcome and sit down for a chat, when they have the time. There was a third bartender as well, but he was 50/50 grumpy/smiling, so I kept my distance, to be honest. The poolbar is ok during the day, but at night the teenagers and twentysomethings take over. And that would be ok, if it wasn't for the fact that they actually TAKE OVER everything. All tables, all stools, they manage the music via their own Macs & iPods, they go inside the bar making drinks, they make a lot of noise and they are drunketidrunk scandinavians... As usual. Embarrassing. It is up to the staff to set boundaries - so do it. It is bothering the other guests!
The hotel is not suited for people with handicaps, there are stairs literally everywhere.
Pool. The pool is ok, no more, no less. There is not enough room for the sunbeds to be in the actual sun - the poolbar is situated at the only place where the sun shines all day. You need to be there early to get the good beds. I moved my bed to where the sun was, because I didn't mind lying by the kids play area, so I was ok.
The beach (1 km from the hotel) is great if you don't mind pebbles - I don't. There is always a breeze, which is great - and it is not crowded at all, because most people wants the sandy beaches and go to Platanias. Sunbeds are 5 euro, or you can bring your own mattress or towel to lie on, there are large areas for that as well. Beware of the waves and listen to the lifeguards regarding when to swim or not. You can really feel the force of the ocean here.
The area. Maleme is not even a village, but for me it was perfect. The buses to Platanias, Chania, Agios Marina, Kolymbari etc is 300 m from the hotel and pass every 30 minutes. It is a cheap way to travel, 1,60 from Maleme-Platanias and 2,30 from Maleme-Chania. After midnight the buses go from Chania-Platanias and then you'll need a taxi from there, but it will only cost you 10-12 euros to Maleme. Visit the Old town and the port of Chania - it's worth the time. Shopping was good, but to get the special things you need to get outside the tourist areas.
The room. The beds and the pillows are quite hard, but I am sure the staff will give you a softer pillow if you ask, I didn't bother. The bathroom is ok, but if you need good light to do your make up, try the terrace before the sun goes down. The bathroom lights are awful. The kitchenette is equipped with everything you need to make simple meals. The aircondition is not effective and makes a lot of noise, but this might be better in the new part of the hotel, I don't know.
All in all: I had a good week, mostly because of a room with a good location, a terrace with shade in the afternoon, the buses, the weather & the nice people I met. I have been visiting the Mediterranean many times and this hotel is far from the best and far from the worst.
Room 216. It houses 4 people, is near the reception/supermarket, there is no noise from the poolbar...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, InaTherese75 we thank you for your review and we value opinions and comments from our guests to improve our service. To begin, I would like to mention that upon your arrival to our establishment you requested that you would not like a room on the ground floor as you were a solo traveller. Therefore within the day, we arranged an upper level room, room 217, not 216 as you have mentioned, which consists of a large balcony and fits up to four people.
Report response as inappropriate
I would like to address the problem you were having with the internet connection. During your stay our local internet service provider, O.T.E was working on the internet lines to improve the service in the area to offer increased speeds of up to 50mbps. The reason why the connection was intermittent was not due to the hotel facilities but rather the internet service provider. This problem was resolved. The internet facilities are up to date and the problem was only temporary. Unfortunately, there was nothing the staff members of the hotel could do as this was an external problem.
With respect to the food, I have to regrettably inform you that you are comparing two separate things. Firstly, the gyros we serve at the hotel is a full platter that comes with a side salad, chips, tzatziki, ample meat as well as the actual gyros pitta bread. What you are comparing this to, is a just the take-away wrap that that consists of only the meat, no chips, a little onion, tomato and a dollop of yogurt. Therefore the product we are selling is different and you cannot compare the two at such a level. Moreover, the prices, quality and quality our food is above that of what you would find locally as all our products are organic and naturally sourced.
With regard to the level of service of the cleaning services, we welcome your positive comment and that specific staff member has been acknowledged for her hard work and has been rewarded. With regard to the bar facilities, we have dealt with that situation appropriately yet is it quite difficult, as you have mentioned, to establish strict hotel policy without sacrificing the guests happiness. People of all ages request different types our music and we try to cater to all our clients’ needs. It just so happens that you were in the hotel when there were a lot of youngsters present and we regret that you did not enjoy your time spent at the bar, although we would have gladly tried to satisfy your music taste.
Unfortunately, your approximation of how far the beach is located from the hotel is inaccurate. The hotel ‘as the crow flies’ is approximately 200m from the beach and 300m by foot if you follow the path. If you go onto google maps, you can check this yourself along with other photos and a true description of the beach front.
With regard to the location of the services the hotel provides, the bus stop is approximately 30m away from the hotel. If you walk left of the hotel, you can see the bus stop in the direct line of sight. It is unfortunate that you walked 300m away from the hotel to catch the bus, but we would've gladly informed you where the correct bus stop was.
With regard to the room facilities, we were not informed of the issues you had with the lighting, bedding and the other facilities. You clearly state in your review that you ‘ didn't bother’ to mention any of these issues to the management and we would of tried to resolve these problems and try to meet your rigid specifications.
With regard to the lighting, our hotel is in accordance with the EU energy saving policies and our light bulbs are CFLs which become brighter as time passes. Moreover, we also provide a spotlight above the bedroom mirror to accommodate for times when direct light is needed.
In conclusion, it is unfortunate that you were dissatisfied with your holiday and we are very disappointed at the reaction and level of respect we have received from you without attempting to consult us beforehand. If you would like to contact us to resolve this issue personally, we would gladly welcome it, and invite you to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.