We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual, we got what we expected (excellent stay)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunCity Hotel Studios

Save Saved
You added SunCity Hotel Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SunCity Hotel Studios
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nearhou Str Agii Apostoli Kato Daratso | N. Kidonia, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As usual, we got what we expected (excellent stay)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Year after year, Sun City became a part of our regular yearly vacation to Island of Crete in Greece. Our stay makes us feel at home with the wonderful family who owns and runs the hotel, and the guest that are just like us who keep on coming back year after year. This type of hotel is a condo type where you can cook your own food.

The location of the hotel is very close to the 5 beaches (from 5-10 minutes walk), and the Chania town is only 15 minutes ride by bus (maximum) that goes every 15 minutes. It is also located just a 50-100 meters from two large groceries, so home cooking is a very good option. For those who have young children, the children's park is just 100 meters away where the adult can enjoy playing bowling or mini-golf.

Large variety of restaurant choices within a 500 meters area is more than 20 and all of them are authentic Greek cuisine.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very convenient if you wish to use the veranda often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
61
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
troon,scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

These studio/apartments are a wee gem. Spotless and well run by Gina and assisted by her lovely daughters who will warmly, welcome you. The location is nice and quiet and it is only 10 minutes walk to a lovely small beach where you can rent 2 sunloungers and shade for €7.
Sun City is convenient for transport into Chania town with a cheap, regular bus service and a taxi cost approx €7 and there is a large supermarket opposite where you can get pretty much anything as you can, at home.
If you are looking for good value, friendly, and clean accomodation in Agii Apostolli this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the pool and are east facing therefore, hot in the morning. Back rooms have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Bialik
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Perfect location if you want to be a few minutes from the center of Chania but want to enjoy a quiet place on a lovely street, minutes of walking from the beach. Gina the owner is such a pretty woman, outside and inside, always with a smile and warm approach, did everything to make our staying perfect.
the room was super clean, with a big balcony and great wind that comes inside all day.
We stayed at Crete for one week, slept every day on different city. Staying at Sun City was the best experience. Much more special then taking an usual crowded hotel.
We will sure come back next time we are in Crete.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast. Great food in intimate atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at SunCity and are very happy to confirm all the positive comments made by previous guests. The hotel is very reasonably priced and is charming with good facilities. The location is fantastic with great nearby beaches (we particularly liked the colourful Iguana Beach) and with cheap and regular transport into Chania which is a beautiful town. Our room (202 on the second floor at the back) had views over the local countryside and the sea, a beautiful sunset every evening and the local pair of eagles which are nesting nearby. The local restaurants are a good standard (Andreas' and Pergola particularly). Above all though the family who run the hotel do everything they can to make your stay successful with advice on local transport and places to visit and eat and they do this all day with friendliness and permanent smiles. Thank you to Gina and her family for making this a fantastic and relaxing holiday for us!

Room Tip: The views to the rear of the property are quiet and have great views of the sun setting over the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ofcourse we read a lot of good reviews and most of the time they are accurate, but you always have to see it yourself to believe it. Well, I couldn't agree more with all the positive reviews!

Our room in the hotel was cute, with little authentic Crete decorations and some old furniture. Everything you need, all in small proportions but nothing too small. Only the bathroom is a bit tiny, but after two days you dont even notice it anymore. Most importanly, everything is very clean! What we noticed was the 'housy' atmosphere; it feels as if you are walking right in someone's home. Also, there are some books lying around you can grab to read at the pool (of course there is Wifi available).

The location is perfect: you can choose between several beautiful beaches, all within a 10 minutes walk (the nearest is about 5 minutes, relaxed walking style :P). If you wish to stay at the pool, that is also possible (whit plenty of sun and beds available). There are some nice restaurants in the same street, but also a bit further away there are plenty of options to have diner. Furthermore, there is a Lidl and an Inka (plus ATM) next door, so everything is right at your side. When you want to go to Chania, there is a busstop on the opposite of the road (nr. 21). If you want to go with a tour, they will pick you up at the hotel.

To save the best for last: our hosts! We really appreciated the generous hospitality of Gina and Manolis and their wonderful daughters Illena and Maria. Many thanks for your advice, the good company and the little peak in a Cretan family's life. It was hard to say goodbye, but I have a feeling we will be coming back to this little treasure...

Room Tip: There is a small road on the South side, so for some it might be better to sleep with the doors clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are a family of 4 (mum, dad, 20 & 12 year old girls) and booked the Suncity apartments based on the TA reviews, staying for 2 weeks. Really good, with Gina, Iliana and Maria going the extra mile, every day and all for a very reasonable price. I can see why we met loads of people who have been returning year after year. I would highlight the following from our stay in Crete.

The Apartments

Our apartment was in the separate block, which has 3 apartments in it on the first floor. Apartment A1 looks directly over the pool and gardens, ours (A2) looked over the side of the gardens, pool and bar area. The third A3 would look over scrub and the main building (see pictures).

Ours had a spacious room with a double bed, a fan but no aircon. The main room that you walked in to from the landing, had two single beds (one could be made in to a double) a small dining table with 4 chairs and had the aircon unit. Big balcony with table and four chairs accessed from our room, where we ate breakfast and lunch.

It also had a small kitchenette area (2 rings, fridge, sink) and was well equipped with pans, kettle, cutlery, plates/dishes etc. Steam iron and ironing board also available from the landing.

We also had a bathroom with sink, toilet and small, but useable shower. Hair dryer in the bathroom.

All rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every two days and like the whole place, was spotlessly clean.

Surroundings

There are two supermarkets about a 100m from the hotel. A Lidl for cheap and an In.Ka for more choice and an ATM. So easy to walk down for fresh bread, milk etc.

The pool area has two toilets and a shower, as well as a nice bar area that doubles up for breakfast in the mornings. The pool is of a reasonable size, with a separate kiddies area. The whole site gets full sun for the whole day, so very well placed, but the lush gardens help to keep things feeling cool. Good number of sun beds, but a few more parasols were needed.

Amenities

We alternated between a day at the pool and one of the 3 beaches about a 10 minute walk away called Golden Bay (see pictures). This was left out of the hotel, walk down road to Andreas Taverna, turn left a keep going til you hit the sea! The two sun beds with a canopy were €6 for the day. There is a nice bar at the back of the beach with toilets, but also a shop about 30m away, selling all the things you may need (ice cream, sandwiches, drinks etc) but much cheaper than the bar.

The buses in to Chania (Hania) were a great and cheap way to get around. Ran right passed the hotel. Family of 4 one way in to town €4.4 or €6 if tickets bought on the bus. Ran every 15 mins until midnight.

Restaurants

We were trying the top restaurants in Hania. To Xani really fantastic, Strata amazing, Glossitses great and Chrisostomos really good, but try the old town area. Little alleys and passageways full of family run tavernas.
Locally there is a taverna right opposite that we had take away pizzas from a couple of nights, as it had a proper pizza oven, called Fillipos.

Left out of the hotel for 300m and you'll find Andreas Taverna which was great. Left at Andreas and you'll find Talos Hotel and Flamingo Hotel restaurants which were also great, with real wine glasses! :-)

Best meal, setting, service were both Strata and To Xani in the old town part of Hania. Go to both, you won’t regret it.

I've done separate reviews for all the restaurants we went to, but please drop me a line if you have any questions.

All in all a great base to see a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: If you would like a great view of the pool/bar/gardens, try and get rooms A1 or A2 in the separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit worried when we booked this hotel because it was so cheap but on arriving we were very pleasantly surprised ! It's a lovely hotel with a glass lift and beautiful foyer and staircase . Pool was excellent . Location amazing . So easy and cheap to get around on the public buses . As previous reviews state , gina manolis and the girls were great hosts. It's a quiet hotel , bar closes at twelve , but that's fine as there are plenty of tavernas within walking distance. There is a huge bowling alley with outdoor crazy golf, go karts and inflatables with organised activities , just on the corner up the road about 40 yards from hotel , great for kids while adults relax at the little on site taverna. It's all enclosed so really safe. Beaches all nearby (5) of them , amazing !!! I hope this review encourages more Brits to this area as it was predominantly Scandinavians ( don't have a problem per se however on a trip we took on the fun train my husband and I had a very unpleasant run in with a family of Scandinavians and I was assaulted by the husband. Really sad ending to our holiday as I have visited crete on four previous occasions and never experienced anything like this . However , this incident had nothing to do with this hotel which is utterly fantastic . Book direct with gina, pay on arrival and book your own flights. Cheap as chips and you won't believe how fantastic it all is !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SunCity Hotel Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunCity Hotel Studios

Address: Nearhou Str Agii Apostoli Kato Daratso | N. Kidonia, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — SunCity Hotel Studios 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SunCity Hotel Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SunCity Hotel Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunCity Hotel Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.