We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunCity Hotel Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SunCity Hotel Studios to your Saves list
SunCity Hotel Studios
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nearhou Str Agii Apostoli Kato Daratso | N. Kidonia, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Choppington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our holiday in Crete and were made to feel very welcome upon arrival. The room are very clean and have everything you need including fridge, hairdryer etc. The breakfast was nice although quite expensive. Chania itself is gorgeous especially the old town and harbour. We had to get a bus into Chania which was around a 10 minute journey but it was cheap and enjoyable. Would return to this hotel, the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
69
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I don't think I have ever stayed at a friendlier or cleaner place in my life! Pleasant room with air con, a decent balcony and tiny kitchenette. Cleaned every day and fresh towels every couple of days. Sparkling pool with plenty of sun loungers in sun or shade, a delightful beach no more than 10 minutes walk away and shops and restaurants very close by (see below). Gina and her family made a us feel very welcome and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here. Buses into Chania town stop almost outside for the 4Km journey into town and there are other beaches nearby.

Only slight negative is that it is on a fairly busy little road so there is a fair amount of traffic noise and the pool is right next to the road. Also there is a very ugly Lidl supermarket right next door (just look beyond it to the fantastic White Mountains!)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the morning sun but are nicely shaded in the afternoon. At the back you are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Clean, neat and cozy family run hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful. There are several restaurants close by and fine sandy beaches just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is our fifth return to suncity we find Gina and Manolis family&staff very kind &helpfull making every guest(new& old) part of their extended family. Rooms are very clean and spacious with self catering options,food tavernas very close by but can recomend Ginas breakfast and snacks. The grounds and pool are kept exceptionally clean and tidy local transport to chania just outside of hotel but within walking distance if fit .Beaches are close by,you will find Gina will do here very best to organise car hire or book trips out and give advise on what to see and do while staying there(if needed) all in all a lovely place go and see for yourself I am sure you will become a returner star rating how many in the sky?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June and had a wonderful stay. Gina and her family and friends are very helpful with organising tours and washing etc. The pool was always very clean and it was handy to have a mini kitchen to prepare breakfast and simple meals. The rooms are cleaned well every day. There are 3 beaches a short walk away and the bus into Hania town stops right outside the hotel. If you want a more personal experience of true greek hospitality at a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong with sun city. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked our rooms here after reading the reviews at the site and we were not disappointed. The proprietor Gina and her family are warm and welcoming, but they also respect their guests' privacy. The rooms are clean and the double rooms are spacious. The only two cons would be the beds are not the most comfortable, and the shower is small, but those are small items compared to the pros - walking distance to many friendly tavernas (including one with Greek dancing), as well as the beach and supermarket, and a bar at the hotel where the guests gather for a drink and friendly discussion at the end of the day. This hotel made our stay in Greece very special and we will definitely return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel run by the kindest, friendliest of families who make everyone feel welcome, safe and part of their extended family. Couples, families and single visitors are able to feel completely at home and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are self catering each with a spacious balcony, they are always kept spotlessly clean and the bedding and towels are changed frequently. There is a bar/cafe in the garden where the family serve breakfast anytime you like so no need to wake early! There are three beaches close by and excellent Tavernas within walking distance or a selection of shops nearby if you'd prefer to eat in. We have been visiting Sun City for many years so it has become our second home - thank you Vrouvakis! Jacqueline and Gordon x

Room Tip: Top floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunCity Hotel Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunCity Hotel Studios

Address: Nearhou Str Agii Apostoli Kato Daratso | N. Kidonia, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — SunCity Hotel Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SunCity Hotel Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SunCity Hotel Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunCity Hotel Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.