We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilelmine S.A.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vilelmine S.A. to your Saves list
Vilelmine S.A.
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32, Betolo Str. | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Antonios was so helpful at Vilelmine, even when he was distracted with other matters, he always took the time to answer questions about where to eat, what to do, etc... Even running into him on the street he was always friendly and willing to answer questions I had about life in Greece. After traveling 30 countries, it is friendliness like that which makes all the difference. The room itself was huge and the balcony view over the main square ended up being where I spent much of my time under the lazy afternoon sun. Even though the room faced the square, it was very quiet in the room with the doors shut. AC was strong and plentiful, which was very appreciated. Location could not have been better as I often found myself lost in Chania's old town only to end up back at the main square after a few twists and turns. Definitely one of my favorite stays during my time in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
94
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked the Hotel Vilelmine on the strength of the Trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed for a week in August-September 2013. We had room no 204 which was on the 2nd floor at the front overlooking the square. The view was fantastic, the square was lively with lots going on but quietened down late evening. The room was well soundproofed so evening noise was not a problem. The staff were laid back and very friendly. Room 207 was roomy and with lots of storage space with a fridge. Air con worked well and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom a bit tired but perfectly fine with a good hot shower. Breakfast could be taken inside or on the square, we preferred the square so we could watch the comings and goings. Breakfast was good. Coffee or tea, bread, homemade marmalade, rusks, honey, jam, cake and freshly squeezed orange juice. Simple but fine. the location was perfect, in the centre of the old town a couple of minutes walk from the Venetian harbour but also close to a couple of good supermarkets and the bus station. Lots of restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. However one feature has been left off the website but should be included is "Billie" listed on the board outside as the "the coolest dog in town". He is a cutie. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the square have a balcony and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Vilemine hotel is a historical villa at the center of the old town (where it all happens) with all the armisphere of a traditional mansion and all modern utilities. The service is very friendly and professional, the room was super clean, the whole experience was exceptional. Real deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Vilelmine though there are some pros/cons to consider:

Pros:
- Room was nice was very high ceilings. For our 3-person room, we had a loft with a single bed and a queen bed in the bedroom. The bathroom was fine and perfectly adequate.
- Service was good; we asked some questions about the area and were given good recommendations
- Location was great right beside the main Greek Orthodox church -- and walking distance to generally everywhere in old town. Chania is small but this hotel is very well-located!
- Checkin was smooth though be sure to tell the manager of your arrival time; we arrived late ~midnight and he was kind enough to wait up for us with instructions on where to park
- Email communication was great beforehand; we had questions about parking and the manager/owner responded to us very quickly

Cons:
- Internet didn't work well in our room (we were on the top floor), and on the ground floor you either used the desktop or used the wifi outside the hotel
- We were on the top floor but this meant staircases (no elevator) that were pretty long because of the high ceilings

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location in the main square next to the church is unbeatable for hours of watching the world go by. The rooms maintain the age of the building beautifully. The staff could not be friendlier whether serving the excellent value for money breakfast or a late night drink after dinner in the old town.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a room with a church facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel by accident as the hotel we originally booked was overbooked so Vilemine was the alternative accommodation. What a fantastic place! Every detail in the room was carefully thought of to proudly show how beautiful the old town of Chania is! Spotless clean and the room was big and comfortable with a terrace to die for! The guy we dealt with at reception was very polite and did his best to accommodate us. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Vilelmine has an excellent location on the square with the beautiful Metropolitan Church. Wonderful view from the Balcony and close to everything in Chania.
The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. There's a lot of nice details that make the hotel special : flowers in the room, the nice wooden furniture, nice and cosy lights, ...
Our stay was perfect. We'll definitely go back when we spend the weekend in Chania.

Antonis, who manages the hotel with his sister, is a friendly and helpful man. Great people! When we booked the room, we couldn't go because of a family matter. Normally we would have lost our money because it was not refundable at all. Nevertheless Antonis gave us the chance to come a couple of weeks later. He even gave us an upgrade to a room with a balcony and view on the square. These people are not only in it for the money. They really care and want to give their customers a great experience. Top service !

Room Tip: The rooms with a view on the Metropolitan Church are wonderful. Try to book on of these rooms, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilelmine S.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilelmine S.A.

Address: 32, Betolo Str. | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilelmine S.A. 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilelmine *** is a renovated early 1900s building that offers any comfort & service to the traveler who would like to visit Western Crete. Spacious, high-ceiling, wood and stone, old-fashion style hotel, located in the centre of the old town, offering air-condition, 17" TV w/satellite receiver, safe box, balcony view for each room, ability to connect to the Internet in the room (for laptop owners), continental breakfast, snack bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vilelmine S.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilelmine S.A. Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilelmine S.A., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.