We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet refuge in the middle of Old Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bozzali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bozzali to your Saves list
Bozzali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sifaka & Gavaladon 5, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A quiet refuge in the middle of Old Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Bozzali is a lovely, quiet small hotel in Old Chania. It is located only a block from the harbour front, so it is very close to all the town has to offer.
Our double room was in the back courtyard, and was so airy and clean! It was great to come back to after a hot day walking and swimming. It has very high, beamed ceilings and the washroom is very large.
Breakfast in the morning was outstanding (including the freshly squeezed orange juice), and it will be something we will continue once back home. Katerina was a lovely hostess and very helpful.
Only issue was the the internet only seemed to work in the courtyard, perhaps putting wireless in the room would be a good option.
Thank you for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cactusjock56
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I spent 7 nights at The Bozzali. Antonio, the Italian owner, is a wonderful host. He has many years experience in the hotel business and knows how to look after his guests. The hotel is in an old building right in the heart of the old town, a two minute walk from the splendour of the Venetian harbour. Antonio plays great music, on vinyl no less, and the breakfast room doubles up as a small wine bar in the evening. He has an excellent selection of Italian wines. Breakfast is copious and the rooms are comfortable, and well equipped, with a fridge and TV. I loved my stay here and will be back. Chania is quite enchanting. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have just spent two nights here and I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this small, well-run hotel. Charming building and rooms, tastefully furnished, with modern conveniences (Wi-Fi that actually works for once), decent breakfast, quiet location in the old quarter, only 5+ mins away from the waterfront, 20 mins to the beach, good restaurants in the immediate vicinity (much better than those on the harbour which you should avoid), ultra-helpful and friendly owners, good value at Euro 65 a night inc. breakfast. It's not difficult for taxis to find as long as you get off on Sifaka (in front of the hotel's restaurant and besides, there is a prominent sign for the hotel itself). A very happy couple of days in Hania! Thank you, Luana !

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very nice hotel.
Nicely furnished. Large room.
Very good breakfast.
Friendly owners.
Well located in old town.

Only possible drawback is a lot of steps to rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We took the overnight ferry from Pireaus, arriving at 5:30 AM. Taking the bus from Souda Port to Chania, we walked from the center park area down to the old harbour, enjoyed a little breakfast there at an early opening cafe while the sun came up, and walked the short distance to the hotel. A cab driver, helping some customers, gave us a clue as to the direction, but the hotel really was fairly easy to find. We were able to leave our luggage there at 7:45 AM which was a big help and set off to see the town. The room we had was up a couple of flights of stairs, but beautiful in an old building, charming way and very clean. Exactly the kind of place we were looking for, not luxurious, but clean and comfortable, lots of charm, friendly, helpful staff, good Greek-style breakfast. And, while no views (at least from our room), otherwise a great location, easy walking to most of the old town area. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonecollector
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Bozzali Hotel and recommend it 100%! It is in a great location - a quiet part of the old town, and only 5 minutes walk to all the action (restaurants, the Venetian Port, etc). It's a beautiful old building too. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was great.

One thing - as others have mentioned, taxis will have a hard time finding this street if that's how you're arriving. It's a small street and cars can't go on it, so bring a map that you can use to figure out where to be left off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in Old Town Chania. It was only a few minutes walk from the harbor and far enough from the busy streets so that your sleep wont be disturbed. Since my brother and I were walking about the whole day, we only needed a hotel to sleep and rest. This hotel did that for us. The bathroom was larger than your average Greek bathroom, so thats always a plus.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bozzali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bozzali

Address: Sifaka & Gavaladon 5, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bozzali 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bozzali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bozzali Hotel Chania
Bozzali Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bozzali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.