We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan to sleep in on Sunday morning!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neli Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neli Studios to your Saves list
Neli Studios
23 Isodion str. | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Gloucester, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't plan to sleep in on Sunday morning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a very basic studio apartment within easy walk of the Chania bus station and situated just off the beautiful Halidon. The room and bathroom was adequate, although only just. Fine for a one night sleepover, but we wouldn't have wanted to spend longer. The major drawback was being wakened at 7am by the prolonged ringing of church bells at the adjacent Orthodox church, followed by the same thing one hour later to announce that the service had started. I have no objection to church bells per se, but with only a handful of worshippers actually present for morning worship, it seemed a shame to wake everyone within earshot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San dona Di Piave, Italia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

In the centre of the Old Town, only few meters from the Venetian Harbour, it's a good start for doing anything you like. The room was very nice (Thalia) and it had a big terrace (large as the roof of the house) and a small one. Just a little bit noises from the bars & restaurant nearby but nothing unbearable. The shower in the bathroom hadn't a curtain but it didn't really a big matter. The staff is very very friendly and helpful. The price was o.k. considering the period and the position of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Neli studios last year (2010) and loved it. However, the new owners this year (2011) don't seem to care too much. I asked for the same rate as we had paid last year, the new owner was very rude but agreed to do it for the same price.

I was given a small room that was only fit for one. there was no space for my 2 suitcases inside the tiny room.

The bathroom was smelly, no bigger than a cupboard and the towels smelt stale.

The fridge was rusty and ancient. The cupboard that contained the plates, cutlery etc smelt damp therefore I didn't feel like cooking.

It was such a shame that we did not enjoy the same experience as last year. I believe we got the worst room in the hotel because I asked for the same rate as I had had the previous year.

We left early

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Neli has changed owners in the last year but is still a great place to stay. My room was spacious (though the balconies are tiny) and there was plenty of room when my sister came to join me. Bathroom and kitchenette were adequate and everything was clean. It's centrally situated in the old town, no traffic in those streets, and is close to the harbour and the cathedral square which is deilghtful. I highly recommend it especially if you are self-catering.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my dearest friends. We had more of a suite, with a small kitchen/dining/sitting area and bathroom right inside the door, and the bedroom at the top of a short flight of steps. Outside the bedroom was a small landing with a few steps leading to a large balcony. The balcony overlooked a very cute street and restaurant outdoor area — twinkly lights and beautiful plants made it a very charming view! The owner was friendly, and the restaurants just outside were quite good. The municipal market (ask for directions — it isn't very close) was a great find since the room had a small kitchen. We enjoyed eating meals on the balcony. I would recommend asking in advance of your trip for driving and parking directions — you cannot drive right up to the hotel and there are many one-way streets and dead-ends (not exactly fun for a late night arrival). Overall we loved this hotel and would come here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bijeljina, bosnia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beware on the number of beds, if you need 3 bed, reserve 4. The Location is great, easy to find, just next to a big crowd, yet not noisy. Rooms are OK in general, and it is value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Xara, the owner is a treasure, and keeps the rooms spotlessly clean. Each room has its own bathroom and small kitchenette. There is a safe in the wardrobe. Beds a little hard; but after being out and about all day and night, you don't really care. Same with the church bells, yes you will hear them but you'll probably just groan and roll over back to sleep or decide it's a good time to get up and explore the old part of town, the markets, the harbor. Location is perfect !!! I arrived on the bus from Irakelion and walked down the main street towards the harbor (Halidon Str) and it's just off that street - bout 5 mins walk. You'll see the church on your right, cross the wee square in front of the church and you will see the signs for Neli Studios - the street name is Isodion str.

There are no lifts in the building, so you will have to carry your bags up the stairs, I was on the first floor so no real drama :-)

As I was traveling by myself I really appreciated how Xara and the ladies at the taverna Apovrado (just across the road) made me feel so at home. Always calling out a welcome, and asking how my day had been. Handy having the taverna so close, and such yummy food.

Will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neli Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neli Studios

Address: 23 Isodion str. | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neli Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neli Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neli Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.