We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and warm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Andromeda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Andromeda to your Saves list
Villa Andromeda
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   150 El. Venizelou str, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spacious and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer than two nights at Villa Andromeda, both so that we could explore Chania in more depth, but also so that we could enjoy our beautifully restored two-level suite. Barbara and Athena were a terrific help, attentive to every need and request. The remaining staff was also sweet and helpful. The 15- to 20-minute walk to old town is beautiful, and there's a fantastic seafood restaurant, right at the edge of the water, a block away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The view was magnificent: we are delicious breakfasts and watched sunsets on the balcony overlooking the sea. We cooled off every day in the pool located in the lovely garden. It was quiet yet a reasonable walk to many interesting places. Athena, the owner, and Barbara were both very helpful and the rest of the staff very friendly. We would love an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova. PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and i travelled with our 10 year old grandson to Chania, Greece. The initial arrangements were made by Fantasy Travel in Athens. Their selection of Villa Andromeda for our Chania stay could not have been a better choice for us. Barbara and Athena, the owner, were very helpful in helping us to get our bearings in Chania. Their suggestions as to where to eat and what to see were most helpful. The accommodations at Villa Andromeda were excellent. The rooms are spacious and of very high quality. The Villa is essential a converted mansion that has been in Athena's husband's family for a century. The rooms are enhanced by marble and hardwood floors, heavy wrought iron work, heavy wood doors and beautiful wood trim and a modern bathroom. Our particular suite had 2 levels with a spiral staircase, done in marble. The included breakfast was served wherever you selected. Several guests chose to be served on the spacious balcony the overlooks the bay area and town of Chania; a delightful view and a great way to start your day. The pool area was great for our grandson, who spent time swimming practically every day of our 5 day stay. The Villa Andromeda is located just east of downtown Chania by about 1 km. It is an easy walk into town. Once you get the lay of the land around Chania, you realize that it is an ideal location convenient to restaurants, the Market , access to the airport and the National Route. Villa Andromeda is most suitable for the independent traveler. You should have your own rental car as there is no bus or other pickup or transfer offered by the Villa. Parking is very easy in their secure parking lot with its gated access. If our future travels return us to Chania, there is no doubt that we would want to stay again at Villa Andromeda.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent five nights at the Villa Andromeda in Chania and had a great time. Barbara and Athena are warm, welcoming and so helpful in finding restaurants and sites in Chania, particularly in Old Town. Chania is a great place and the Villa Andromeda is perfect - beautiful, clean and elegant. Recommend highly!

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, as for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in Villa Andromeda for a week in August. We were just looking for a relaxing week in the sun and we couldn't have chosen a better spot. The owner was so helpful and welcoming from the moment we arrived. Our suite was lovely, very spacious and the garden and pool were lovely. Most days we had the whole pool to ourselves. The owner and her assistant recommended some great restaurants, organised a car for us and went out of their way from a service point of view. Breakfasts were fab and it was so nice to sit on the balcony in the morning overlooking the sea. The villa is a little out of town but the walk is good to burn a few calories and work up a nice appetite before you head to one of Chania's many great restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Following friend's recommendation we spent one week in Villa Andromeda... The stay was absolutely wonderful. The hotel Is very well located, slightly outside the city center, with amazing views. The hotel itself is great. It is an old Mansion, with a very nice and big swimming pool where you can rest after a day at the beach. The suits are very spacious and consist of 2 rooms. The breakfast at the terrace is a great experience. The staff is very kind, professional and helpful. We want to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we stayed here for 2 days in September, and wish it could have been more. The room ( ground floor front ) was huge, light and airy. The view from the balcony straight out to see. The breakfast was divine, and the pool area perfect after a days sightseeing. Not the smartest, nor most modern, but full of character, welcoming, and fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Andromeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andromeda

Address: 150 El. Venizelou str, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Andromeda 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andromeda in Chania in Crete is a Neo-Classical mansion built in 1870, which has been very carefully restored so as to preserve its characteristic 19th century architecture. Villa Andromeda has 8 self-contained suites, discreetly and tastefully decorated with hand made carpets, comfortable furniture and authentic paintings. Οne of the joys of Villa Andromeda is the huge all green garden, with its incredible variety of plants and the spacious swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Andromeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Andromeda Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Andromeda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.