We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christianna Estiatorio

Christianna Estiatorio
Akti Miaouli 14, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
+30 697 598 3575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 284 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Christianna Estiatorio is a traditional,typical Cretan,home made food oasis in the heart of Chania. On the coast of Koum-Kapi(Akti Miaouli 14)we invite you to celebrate the flavors and hospitality of Greece,like the Greeks.Try our specialty "BOUREKI" and the other traditional Cretan dishes,like lamp"tsigariasto","Mousaka",stuffed tomatoes and stuffed wine leaves"Dolmadakia".Also we have a variety of sea food dishes and our special grilled octopus. We choose for you the best house wine from local winery's and the best type of OUZO in the Greek market. All ingredients into our recipes are locally grown and produced vegetables and herbs.Fresh local meat and sustainably caught fishes. Everything is cooked only with Cretan olive oil. Enjoy the sea view from the coast of Koum-kapi!
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best meal of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was the last stop on our cruise and was the best. Upon entering we went straight to the kitchen where we were shown all of dishes that just came out of the oven. We couldn't decide so we asked for "x" euros worth of food. It was awesome. We got to try all of the authentic dishes and were stuffed at the end of the meal. The food was delicious and the family who owned the restaurant could not have been nicer! Great escape from the busy/smelly market!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    45
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Greek Food At Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Used this restaurant 4 times during a weeks stay.The standard of Moms cooking is brilliant and the service from Christianna helpful and charming .The mixed plate gives you the chance to sample varies foods all which are of the best standard.
I to was there to witness the outburst mentioned in previous report .This was very distressing for the family and they went out of there way to apologise and get service back to normal .Thank you Christianna and Mom hope to come and enjoy your restaurant in near future.Will never forget just how good the Pork Tenderloin and in Plum sauce were,its a brilliant dish to remember while away from Greece.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent experience plus a bit of a drama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the end of a major commotion: the restaurant owner had a standoff with another woman who "always parks her car in front of my restaurant just to annoy me and my customers". As we were ordering food, the situation was accentuated by the presence of a black uniform-clad policeman, taking notes while listening to the staff. It appeared to us that the owner had the upper hand in the conflict, and she certainly scored another, culinary win with us. The food was delicious, quite obviously fresh, and not at all expensive. The atmosphere of the place is just like coming to someone's dining room: you feel you've been invited to a friend's house for dinner, and not eating out in a restaurant. All in all excellent despite the initial excitement (for which the owner kept apologising to the guests during the whole evening).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek home cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is not a fancy restaurant with breathtaking view and first class service! If this is what you are after over the most amazing food you'll ever experience in your lives, then go to a pseudo-posh hotel resturant by the harbour!


If, however, you are keen on food and want to try the best and most traditional Cretan/Greek cuisine in Chania, this is a must!

Christiana is an amazing waitress/hostess with first class manners who wants to please everyone! Her mum is busy cooking in the kitchen food that, even for a Greek, exceeds expectations (yes, better than my mum's)!

Her little taverna is so popular that rival restaurants are constantly trying to sabotage them, as we witnessed during their rush hour!

I'd strongly recommend arriving early and avoding 19:00-21:00 if you are starving! Also, make sure you walk up to the food display to choose your meal and discuss your options. Remember to finish off your dinner or her mum will be very disappointed ;)

Strongly recommended for people with serious food quality needs!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat at Kalathas Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The benefit of this restaurant is that it's right on a popular beach. the food is the variety that you find at most traditional Crete tavernas. It was very good. Service was average. Also, park your vehicle down by the restaurant as 2 of my frinds cars were broken into as they were parked on the main road.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christianna Estiatorio also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Christianna Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christianna Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.