We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Eye

The Green Eye
Dor.Episkopou & Ag. Deka 25, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
+3028210 44150
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 252 restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am seriously missing this place already! The Green Eye is the essence of Chania..laid back, relaxed..good company and good food. I was welcomed back on my second visit as a friend and looked after so well. Everything I ate was delicious aswell as brilliant value. I will be going back later this year..and highly recommend it! :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    74
    11
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Introduced to The Green Eye by a local, I have returned time and again to this excellent taverna. Ideally situated in Chania, it has an extensive menu of both local and international cuisine. The prices are very competitive and the portion sizes are really generous. The staff are very welcoming and polite without being intrusive. You are welcome to dine a full three course meal or just call in for a drink and watch the world go by or watch television where Dragon will find what you wish to watch amongst the many t.v. channels. I rate this Taverna as excellent and will recommend it to all visitors to Chania.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was a real find, the food was excellent and the staff were incredibly friendly and polite. We ate the pork fillet and the moussaka, both were very tasty.
The atmosphere was relaxed, just what you want when on holiday. Overall a great place that I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“..very friendly bar / restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very friendly bar / restaurant in an excellent position behind the cathedral. It was right by our hotel and we enjoyed a beer and a chat with the staff on most evenings.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Great people!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If your in Chania, Crete check out The Green Eye, these guys are awesome. It is very inexpensive, tasty and you are treated like family. Every one there was extra nice and when I missed breakfast (which was included at my hotel) they allowed me to redeem my voucher for a dinner meal. They didn't have to do that but hey they're good like that. Either way I am fully satisfied with he Green Eye and I recommend this place. The Raki was good too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Eye also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Green Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Eye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.