We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a bit commercial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Venetian Harbor

Old Venetian Harbor
Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Small-Group Chania Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 24 Attractions in Chania Town
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice but a bit commercial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very beautiful, but you can be harassed by people trying to get you into their restaurant. On the whole we found most retaurants to have good food, so we ate in the back streets where it was a bit quiter.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    364
    47
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A beautiful city, it wa like little Venice!!! Very atmosheric and so beutiful. We went fora stroll all around the old harbour and we found it perfect.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Touristy but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Worth a visit. Walk out to the lighthouse, explore the hidden views and shops in the back streets, and eat at a harbor-front restaurant. Tip: Walk by the restaurants and check the price of beer. We found one with beer almost half the price of others, and so was the food, and it was delicious.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was my forth time over more than 20 years in Chania and I love the timelessness of the Old Harbour. The busy restaurants around the harbour side with the clean waters and the lighthouse dominating proceedings. I can feel myself relaxing just thinking of it. There are plenty of benches to sit on around the harbour if you dont want to buy a drink from any of the multiple choices open to you and you can get a good walk in too if you walk around to the lighthouse and then back again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a walk through history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Don't miss:
- a walk during the sunset!
- a coffee early in the morning
- a dinner late at night
- a room with a view

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Venetian Harbor also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
 

Been to Old Venetian Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Venetian Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.