We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Venetian Harbor

Old Venetian Harbor
Akti Tompazi, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Small-Group Chania Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A beautiful city, it wa like little Venice!!! Very atmosheric and so beutiful. We went fora stroll all around the old harbour and we found it perfect.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    504
    77
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Touristy but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Worth a visit. Walk out to the lighthouse, explore the hidden views and shops in the back streets, and eat at a harbor-front restaurant. Tip: Walk by the restaurants and check the price of beer. We found one with beer almost half the price of others, and so was the food, and it was delicious.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was my forth time over more than 20 years in Chania and I love the timelessness of the Old Harbour. The busy restaurants around the harbour side with the clean waters and the lighthouse dominating proceedings. I can feel myself relaxing just thinking of it. There are plenty of benches to sit on around the harbour if you dont want to buy a drink from any of the multiple choices open to you and you can get a good walk in too if you walk around to the lighthouse and then back again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a walk through history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Don't miss:
- a walk during the sunset!
- a coffee early in the morning
- a dinner late at night
- a room with a view

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful old venetian harbour and town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Chania is lovely - from the venetian harbour to the cobbled windey steets of the old town - its a great experience to wander the town. Sit at one of the tavernas on the harbour and just people watch or check out the boats over freshly squeezed orange juice or coffee or wander the streets of the old town in search of souvenirs - its a great way to spend a day. A very friendly town - always worth haggling over the leather goods available in the market - you'll get a bargain! We visited numerous tavernas for lunch or drinks/snacks and at every one received great service and fabulous food. The old mosque, venetian lighthouse and venetian warehouses are stunning - a great place for a history lover like me!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Venetian Harbor also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Old Venetian Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Venetian Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.