We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, breathtaking views and a lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Sun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   G. Paizi 36, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, breathtaking views and a lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Visited the hotel with my wife very recently and it was an absolute worth for money, service and quality. The rooms were impeccably clean, and the staff was courteous, helpful, fluent in English and ever ready to help.

Special thanks to Nickolai (hope the spelling is correct) and both the hotel shuttle drivers, who were really helpful, charming and very hospitable. I had extended discussions with Nickolai about not many things being open and probably better co-ordination of tourist services that co-insides flights and tourists. Despite bad weather and not many tours, etc. available, the hotel staff and owners helped us in best possible way to make the best of our Chania vacation.

Pros:
1. Free shuttle to/fro to the city centre every 30 mins, from (10:30-00:00)
2. Clean and modern rooms
3. Awesome view
4. Amazing Staff
5. Huge food portions at restaurant
6. Large balcony in the room.

Cons (Nothing really, but if I were to be critical):
1. Breakfast buffet could have been better for 8EUR
2. Bathroom were small, compared to room size, but still acceptable.

Would absolutely recommend this place and would visit again. Loved Chania, Greek hospitality and food.

Room Tip: Take sea facing rooms for breath taking views of the city. The mountain facing rooms will give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    48
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
88
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I try to stay here every time I go to Crete. The view is the best in town, the restaurant is superb and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good but the dinner menu is what keeps me coming back. Cretan food is so much better than Greek food. Don't worry about a view, every room has one!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the restaurant. The marble walls really transmit the noise. The northeast si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklet, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had a blast when I stayed at this hotel. It's not a bad cab ride back from the clubs/bars at night. The staff was friendly, food excellent and I hope to make this trip again in 2015. Conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for many years and enjoy my stay every time. My favorite meal in the world happens to be at the hotel restaurant (bekri meze). The rooms have upgraded there mattresses which were long over due and the AC works great. The view, pool, and restaurant makes this hotel the best in Chania!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good service, Good room, Really Good awesome view, lovely pool area, free shuttle to old town from hotel and back, Breakfast soooo good and many things to choose from. A great hotel to relax and see the sun set over Chania town and behind the sea! All thumbs up!

Room Tip: Ask a room with a sea view! There are few rooms at the other side as well, but you will definetly ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went with my friends and everything was great : the food, pools, location of the hotel, room view and the staff were amazing and very welcoming. As soon as we arrived at 7am we were allocated to our rooms. The room had everything you needed. At breakfast the food was fantastic and very delicious. Every day our room was cleaned .
This was my best experience on Greek island, I had a fantastic holiday and would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Royal Sun Hotel is located on top of a hill overlooking the Med and the city of Chania. You can experiance breathtaking views while enjoying a beer from the bar, (which has the most extensive beer selection in Chania) or while enjoying an exquisite meal outside on the balcony. The rooms are nice with modern amenities while the pool area has recently been upgraded with a newly tiled pool and pool deck and new sun proected lounge chairs. Also, the Royal Sun is a reasonable cab ride to downtown Chania which alleviates the issue of parking in the downtown area. Overall, the Royal Sun has it all and I'm sure that Tony and his dedicated staff will take care of all of your needs!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Address: G. Paizi 36, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.