We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalthia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amalthia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amalthia Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

One of the best hotels ever visited. Everything was excellent. Spacious room, crystal clean sheets, clean hotel generally everywhere, friendly people, excellent food quality.we were given complementary suite which was truelly amasing too.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are cooler at nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    76
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
125
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a week long stay here at the end of June. We spent a long time researching exactly where to stay in Crete and decided on Amalthia Beach resort after many hours of looking! Having spent the first week of our holiday in Kissamos we were very much looking forward to arriving in Agia Marina and had very high expectations for Amalthia Beach...

The good parts....

1.The room was kept spotlessly clean all week.
2.All the staff, (especially the blonde lady on reception) were extremely polite and helpful. A credit to the hotel.
3.The location was brilliant, right out onto the beach.
4.The restaurant by the pool was great and served lovely, well priced food.

The bad parts....

1.We were given a room in the main building (which we were aware of when we booked), however we did not anticipate that our balcony view would be the front doors of 3 other apartments, not very nice!
2. The free wifi is very poor, we could only get a signal by the pool.
3. There is NOWHERE near enough sunbeds! And the sunbeds there are have often been 'reserved' by people leaving towels over them and then these sunbeds end up not being used all day. We found this really annoying and rude. I really think this issue needs looking into, especially considering my next point....
4. It is ridiculous that they charge residents of the hotel for the sunbeds. As the hotel manager points out to another reviewer, this is not a hidden cost, but it still does not make it ok! People are paying a lot of money to stay in this resort, it is frankly unbelievable that a charge is made to use a hotel sunbed on the beach! I would also just like to point out that there are numerous bars and restaurants along the beach offering free sunbed use if you have lunch or even a drink there. Me and my partner would have spent a lot more money in the Hotel pool bar/restaurant if we were able to use the Hotel sunbeds in return. However, we preferred to spend our days on Almira's sunbeds and spend our money at their bar and restaurant!! Perhaps the Hotel could start a similar scheme whereby if residents have lunch at the restaurant they get beach sunbed use free. The hotel would surely make more money this way?

Despite all this, we still enjoyed our week here and the good points I mentioned luckily carried this hotel through, making it just above average.

Finally, I would like to point out that I would have given this feedback directly to the hotel when I checked out on the morning of Friday 4th July, however, the brunette lady on reception did not ask me if I had enjoyed my stay.

Bit disappointed after our high expectations.



.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building do not have good views and were smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me and my sister, our husbands and our mother spent a week at adorable Amalthia Beach Resort in July. The location is just perfect; right on the sandy beach and with restaurants and shops just around the corner.
My husband and I had a room on the second floor facing the pool and the sea. It was so serenely to sit on the balcony and see the sunrise over the ocean every morning. My sister and her husband, and our mother had rooms on the ground floor with a terrace facing the lovely garden.
All personnel were so nice and helpful in every way – from the cleaning ladies to the staff in the reception and in the breakfast room. The pool/beach attendant and the staff at the bar and tavern by the pool/beach were so nice and cheerful to all of us and we enjoyed every day.
The whole resort was very nice, clean and quiet and we can highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I and her sister and husband have been to many islands in Greece over the past 14 years and the four of us agree that our holiday in the Amalthia from the 13 May to the 27 of May this year has been our best holiday in any part of Greece.
This is a beautiful Hotel fabulously located at the edge of the sea. The staff are so friendly and helpful we cant wait wait to get back there again hopefully this coming October. The dining room staff were so friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a friendly smile every morning. The staff in the beach side restaurant were also very helpful and their service was excellent.
Dont forget to take in the Greek Night - fabulous musicians.
There are very fine restaurants nearby and we highly recommend the Mithos Taverna and Restaurant and the Horiatiko Taverna which served very fine food and wine and the service in both restaurants was excellent and both had a very warm welcome each night we ate there.
Roll on October

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 very nice days in Amalthia Hotel in June. We had a room close to the pool with a wonderful view on the beach and the island. See bath early in the morning, before breakfast was simply fantastic.
We enjoyed the Taverna, restaurant on the beach. Staff of the Taverna is very kind, helpful. serving various and good meals (fresh fish and greek specialities) at a correct price. It's really a lovely place to stay few days to rest and to benefit from the see side.
Like in most places in Creta it's better to speak english, but people are so nice, there is no problem at all.
Our room was large and confortable, as in any 4 stars hotel in the world.
I strongly recommand this place.

Room Tip: rooms with see view are nice in mornings and evenings. May be too close to the pool for ones looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

It has been amazing stay thanks to most helpful staff ever. From the cleanliness to amazing food (including breakfast). We coouldn't have imagined better stay. If you are lucky enough (as we were :)) you can have sea view which every morning made our day!!!! Loved absolutely everything of this hotel. Super convenient location too. I am sure everybody would enjoy the stay as we did!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paimio, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I spend one week in hotel with my husband and our friends. We are really pleased to our choice. Hotel area is very comfortable and also the rooms. Rooms are modern and the facilities are good. We enjoyed breakfast buffet and there was variety also. Pool area was a real favourite! It was nice and clean. The location beside the beach was excellent. Also the beach restaurant was good and staff very friendly. The same we can say about the staff - all really nice, helpful and friendly. We will come again and also hope good luck in lottery :)!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalthia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalthia Beach Resort

Address: Aghia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#19 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalthia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, located on the beach of Agia Marina, the new resort will offer you services of a 4 star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amalthia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalthia Beach Hotel Chania Town
Amalthia Beach Resort Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalthia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.