We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to explore Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akali Hotel Chania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Akali Hotel Chania to your Saves list
Akali Hotel Chania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kissamou 55, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from Chania. Akali hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Chania harbour. We had family room(two connected rooms). My children are 9 and 11 years and this type of rooms was ideal for my family. Rooms are very clean and tidy with every day maid service. They provide all the comfort of 4 star hotel with shower gel and shampoo.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. They are always ready to give you information and help you with maps and directions. Also Mrs Fotini is around the hotel to make sure that all the quest have good and comfortable stay. It is town hotel with few disadvantage like view but we expected that when we have booked town hotel. It seems that all business people stay at this hotel because it is offers good value for money. Also I have noticed football teams stay at Akali because it is in the town and offers the best quality compare with other hotels.
In my next visit to Chania I will stay again at Akali

Room Tip: Swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
20
34
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in August 2011. We paid 75 euros per night for our room, which also included a good breakfast. The decoration is a lttle tired, but the room was always kept very clean. We didn't have any issue with noise, although our room overlooked the pool rather than the road. The pool is small, more for a quick dip. However it is a 10 minute stroll to the beach. All in all, we felt it was very good value for money.

What I would emphasise is that the hotel staff were tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble, and they went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

It is well located for the main sites in Chania town. The hotel only has a handful of car parking spaces, but it was pretty easy to park in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 24/12/11 - 01/01/2012 and we have only good things to say about the hotel. We were a pary of 6 adults and 1 baby. We arrived very early in the morning and we were given our rooms immediately and we were pleasantly surprised that even thogh the hotel has no obligation they allowed us to have breakfast at no extra charge. The rooms are spacious and clean and i had no problem with the baby cot provided for my little girl. We would like to giave a special mention to all the staff that made our stay wonderful as half the family came over from South Africa. They were helpful in every aspect wether it was for simple information or any type of service provided. Even though they were working during the holiday season and i am sure that they would all want to be with their respective families they welcomed us with pleasant smiles, curtesy and were always polite.
For an added bonus they gave us new year cake and also allowed us to check out late at no extra charge as our boat was departing late in the evening.
Thank you to the staff of the Akali hotel , we had a wonderful stay and when given the oppertunity we will definitely come back. The Family from SA Gregory,Irene,Eleni,Maria,Zak,Ioanna and baby Anastasia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a business trip and chose it based on its 4 star rating.......it is not a 4 star please take note of the previous reviews as they are true.
If the room price was cheap you'd probably put up with it.
In reality the road is derelict noisy and busy with traffic 24/7 to add to the noise the air con is loud and the beds were hard. Breakfast was bog standard at best.
Chania is nothing special, i'd spend one night there and move on to somewhere else. avoid the restaurants in the port they all sell the same rubbish, find a backstreet taverna!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Pros (+)
- Service
- Good location (noise avoidance)
- Ordinary american buffet breakfast
Cons (-)
- Lacks of room refurnishment
- Swimming pool size
- Quite expensive in comparison with similar hotels

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazio, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The photos oh the hotel absolutely do not give you the real idea how how old and dirty is the hotel. Sure it's 10 minutes walk from the center, but if you're on a business trip it's not the right choice:
- no reserved parking
- old and dirty rooms (I was at the 4th floor with a colleague and both rooms were in the same condition. The moquette looked like if they had eaten on it for days
- breakfast was various but very low quality
- for a "wanna be business hotel", I didn't sleep for one night because they hosted tons of teens on school trip, making incredibly noise at night
- internet wireless in the room was fast and free for just an hour: as soon as other people arrived in the hotel the service has been saturated and very difficult ton use even for e-mails

I paid 85 euros per day and the only good thing has been the courtesy of the staff people.

Absolutely to avoid

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I staid for a couple of days in Akali hotel for a business trip. I payed 75euros/day. A nice value for money hotel with, big and clean rooms, good service and very good breakfast. I would definetely recoment it to other peopole visiting Chania.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akali Hotel Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akali Hotel Chania

Address: Kissamou 55, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akali Hotel Chania 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to AKALI HOTELA very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, AKALI HOTEL is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Akali Hotel Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akali Hotel Chania Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akali Hotel Chania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.