We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is cosyness in old houses hiding?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto del Colombo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Porto del Colombo Hotel to your Saves list
Porto del Colombo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theofanous & Moshon Sts, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Varna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where is cosyness in old houses hiding?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am enjoying the Porto Del Colombo in Chania even as I write these words. Before coming to Chania I had fears connected with my veeeeery late arrival (02:00 in the morning), knowing that the reception was open until 22:30 in the evening. But everything with finding the keys was well organized. The hotel is really old - not only full of history, located in the old town of Chania, perfect location, very close to the "limani". It has the flair of getting old as a Cathedral - clean, a little bit dark, smelling at old laces and herbs, but cosy.
The rooms have the most needed. The fridge was a little bit noisy.
Rula from the reception was (and still is) very helpful in finding place for parking the car, finding the good beaches nearby, finding a tasty food in restaurants, offering "karameles":). In the restaurant - tasty food, the most amazing fresh orange juice, home made delicacies. Great time in Chania!

Room Tip: I was in room Number 7 - my colleague was complaining by the noise, but with me everything was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a great experience staying at Porto del Colombo in Chania. The house is very old, built at the time of the Venetian occupation and has undergone many transformations following the adventurous history of the city. It is of course renovated and converted into a rather comfortable hotel.
We were greeted at the Reception by Athina, who is very friendly, hospitable, and helpful. She gave us very helpful hints about restaurants in town, beaches, and how to get around. The breakfast was ample, tasty, and the lady in charge is friendly and fun. Furthermore, the hotel is quite close to the city gate, which is very important since you cannot drive a car inside the old town.
This is a great place to stay for anyone visiting old town Chania!

Room Tip: There are three stories and no elevator, so choose a first floor room if you are lazy, and a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is absolutely a charming hotel, well located in the center of "OldTown," with a great staff and good breakfast but be sure you understand that you will have to roll your luggage about 200 meters since it is in a pedestrian only area and once at the hotel you will have to walk up 64 steps if they put you in the "junior suite" in which the bed is up an additional 15 steps and the bathroom is below.

If this doesn't bother you than it is your kind of charming spot!

Room Tip: Do not select the "Junior Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I just loved staying at this hotel. Each room seems to be unique, and so each review is going to likely depend on which room the person is staying in. I was in room 2 & 7, and it was lovely. As I understand it, room 7's rings on the walls were where slaves used to be held, which is quite interesting. It is at the back of the hotel, and on the top floor so is ideal if you would like a room that is a bit darker & quieter, and has a gorgeous 4 poster bed.

Room 2 is lovely and spacious with two twin beds which was ideal for myself and my daughter, as it meant she had her own bed (she is 3); although the hotel had kindly set up a sleeper for her too. There are 8 windows, which allowed for a lot of light which I thought was great. :) There is a translucent window in the room which lets light in from the hall, but having lived in Scotland I'm pretty used to this, and view it as a 'night light', it did not by any means disturb mine or my daughters slumber. Both the rooms had a fridge, and lot of space to store your luggage and clothing.

Beyond the rooms, the staff were really what made my time here so wonderful. They are SO kind, and give so much of themselves for their jobs. They give great recommendations for what to do, and where to eat. They also arranged enumerable taxis for me, which ensured I got good rates, and found the best and cheapest laundry service EVER (2.90Euro per kilo! YES PLEASE.) . They even gave up their own staff kettle so that I could heat my daughters bottles for a week. How amazing and generous is that? And best of all they did it, every day, with a smile. Athina, Roula and Helen - you will be missed until Castanea and I come back to visit next year!!

I would like to address some of the issues that other patrons seemed to have while I stayed here the last 7 days. There is no elevator, but it is a 600 year old hotel. So if you really feel like you might not be able to make it up 3 flights of stairs (despite the staff helping you up with your bags), I might not recommend staying here. Its not the hotels fault, its just the building is historical and old, and has no room for an elevator. But don't book and then take it out on the staff - its not their fault, and they are doing their best to help you.

The old town is 100% pedestrianized, which is amazing for walking around with a toddler. This does mean you have to bring your suitcases from where the taxi drops you (it takes about 3 minutes to get from the taxi stand to the hotel. 5 if you are moving slowly). Its NOT a big deal, and I have three bags and baby. AND the receptionist Athina left the hotel at 9:40pm to come and collect me when I wasn't sure how to get to the hotel on my arrival. So. It is fine. And just another example of how exemplary the staff is - how they go above and beyond to make your stay amazing.

Late check in - there are detailed instructions on how to get into the hotel if you happen to be checking in after 10pm/before 7am. Having 15 hour reception was fine, just remember to take your key with you to get in after 10pm.

To finish - I highly recommend this hotel. I only came to Crete for a friends wedding, but staying here made me fall in love with the place, and I fully intend on coming back every year - and making Porto Del Colombo my stay of choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed for 3 days with my wife holidaying. Outstanding friendly staff, breakfasts real fresh squeezed oranges, Greek omelette etc. beautiful room in historic building was prime minister Venizoulos (?)sp residence & an embassy. Features make up for lack of a lift!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We are mature couple and we stayed here from 6 to 13 june.The staff were so warm and friendly and it was just 2 minutes walk to the venetian bay.Rooms were very comfortable and quiet at night and breakfast was very nice with the best pure orange juice ive had anywhere. Next year they'll have a rooftop garden available with views as theres no balcony available to sit and read if you want to. Also because its a beautiful old building, it has no lift.
We arranged a trip through the mountains with their taxidriver, George, for just the 2 of us in a 4 wheel jeep and if cost 65euros from 10 till about 4.30- great value and a place we wouldn't have otherwise seen. You can choose your own route or they will advise you on the one most suitable to your likes.
Chania is one of the most beautiful place in crete spoiled only bymen outside restaurents pressurising you to go in. {walter and Theresa[Dublin]]

Room Tip: Room 5 and 8 are the ones with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a most enjoyable 11 night stay at Porto del Colombo at the start of May and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in a hotel that has lots of history and character in the quietest part of Hania old town.

The location was perfect, within 30 seconds of the harbour front and no more than 3 or 4 minutes from a number of excellent restaurants (Portes, Tavern Strada, Tamam, Amphora, and others we didn't get round to trying). We were in one of the mezzanine rooms (number 9) on the very top floor. It was extremely comfortable, and of reasonable size for two, and despite being so high up (60 stairs to keep us fit!) the wi-fi worked perfectly and the shower was powerful. It also had terrific views, out to sea in one direction, and across the harbour and the town to the snow capped mountains in the other, the only drawback being the unusual positioning of the windows which meant the former could only be seen lying down, and the latter standing up! It all added to the charm of the place.

Every morning we really looked forward to our Porto del Colombo breakfast. As well as freshly squeezed orange and lovely fresh bread, there was always a variety of home made Cretan treats on offer which changed by the day. Always something interesting and unusual that we had not had before.

The service throughout was excellent, with Roula and her cheerful colleagues around to help if needed, but never intrusively. We decided not to hire a car but rely on the extensive bus service to get to most places we wanted to see (the bus station is less than 10 minutes walk away), but Roula arranged an excellent trip for us with George who does taxi driving for the hotel (but really should be a tour guide), to take us to various sites the busses don't get to.

Before booking, we suggest it's best to visit the hotel's website and then phone or e mail (Roula speaks good English) to find out which room will suit you best (not all are up 60 stairs!).

Room Tip: Visit the hotel's website and then phone or e mail (Roula speaks good English) to find out which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#17 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#29 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#13 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#37 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#40 of 120 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#51 of 120 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Colombo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Colombo Hotel

Address: Theofanous & Moshon Sts, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto del Colombo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel, an imposing, tall, 600 year old building, has gathered a rich history over the passing of the centuries. During the days of Turkish Rule, the building housed members of high ranking Turkish military who made many changes to the buildings architecture - even built a Hamam.In the garden and next to that, a room to secure their slaves (where you can still see the metallic rings nailed to the walls). In the beginning of the 19th Century, the building was used as a French embassy and later was inhabited by the great Greek political figure, Eleftherios Venizelos, who also used it as his political offices until his move to Athens, when he took power as Prime Minister of Greece. The Hotel has 10 beautiful rooms - the 2 of which are maisonettes - fully restored and traditionally decorated to provide our guests with an especially warm and welcome feeling. All rooms have modern conveniences (WC, telephone, TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and Central Heating in winter) ensuring our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Porto del Colombo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Colombo Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto del Colombo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.