We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, staff and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto del Colombo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Porto del Colombo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto del Colombo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theofanous & Moshon Sts, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, staff and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is simple, unfussy and charming. The staff are a delight, the rooms are comfortable with some quirky charm and the location is a dream! We have been very happy to use his as our base for the week and would recommend to anyone. Just one word of warning, if you don't like lots of stairs to your room make sure you get a room on the first or second floor. This was not an issue for us but for older or less mobile individuals its worth asking ahead of time.

Room Tip: If you are not so mobile make sure you ask for a room on he first two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koln Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice traditional boutique hotel in the heart of the the old town,close to the center too.Quiet place,fully equipped rooms with wood art furniture. The breakfast is served in a unique room , specially decorated. Also,the breakfast buffet had full variety ,included local products. Sweet ladies in the Reception helped us all the time, even when we needed to transfer our luggage in my room. I love to stay in this beautiful hotel again. I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have a nice view to the old harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location was great, off a tiny street- so a bit of a challenge to find once the cab dropped us off...no cars allowed in the historical center. Based on other reviews, I was not surprised by this fact. We were on the top floor, so more steps... the room was tiny, but very clean. The staff was very helpful and gave suggestions for our day trips. We rented a car through www.cretetravel.com and they delivered it to the hotel on day 2 for us. Parking near the hotel was quite challenging, but so worth it to explore the island! I loved being near the harbor to walk around at night.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Owner at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at our traditional hotel in the old town of Chania. It's definitely our pleasure to hearing from you that you enjoed your holidays here in Crete!
We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
The owner of Porto Del Colombo
George Lionakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we found it a very charming building with character. First the location was great! The hotel, a 650years Venetian Town house building, is within the Old Town with plenty of restaurants nearby, and close to the historical site. In the morning, a rejuvenating breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice waited for us downstairs next to the reception, in a fully renovated breakfast room with to spectacular Venetian arches. Fully renovated rooms (according to the Receptionist last renovation finished on March 2013) are of a high standard, bed was large & comfortable,free wi-fi, no noise & equipped to a 4 star standard. Roula and Ria (Receptionist girls) are very well informed about the region's best sights and give you the best information. We would have loved to have stayed longer and if we come back we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Owner at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for your time to share your travel experience to Crete and your stay at Porto Del Colombo hotel and your warm words. We are very happy to read that you are satisfied with the quality of the services of our traditional boutique hotel in the old town of Chania.
It'll be our pleasure to see you again a next time!

Kind regards
The owner of Porto Del Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york new york
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Porto del Colombo is well located although hard to find at first and requires carrying your luggage. Our room was reasonably sized. The bathroom however had the smallest shower i've ever seen! Breakfast was fine. the staff was helpful, offering good recommendations on restaurants and places to go.

Room Tip: better views from a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. It is in the old town of Chania, you cannot take a car to the entrance so be prepared to carry the luggage for quite a long walk. The stairs for us were no problem but we are in our late thirties and fit. Noisy air condition, mold and rust in the bathroom, breakfast was basic, no towels for the third person (we had a triple room). The third bed was where a chimney used to be, quite unique! Did not like the fact that from 22.00 to 07.00 the reception was closed. Venetian feel, superb location, friendly receptionists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george l, Manager at Porto del Colombo Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for writting a review about your stay at our traditional hotel in the old town of Chania.
We kindly inform you that the old town has a story of centuries. For that reason the cars are forbidden inside the old town and the most near parking area is a little bit far from the hotel. Also, because of the architecture of our building, which is a 600 years old with a rich history, doesn't have elevator as almost all the buildings in the old town.

Kind regards
Manager of Porto Del Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is worth the cobblestone paths it takes to get there. It is just off the harbour and within walking distance of everywhere in chania. The bus stop is also within walking distance should you need a bus to Samaria or Heraklion like we did. We arrived at 1.30am, and everything was waiting for us, the only negatives were that the staircase was a bit to manage with luggage and sleepiness at that time (also after walking Samaria it was hard), the aircon when on cool was loud and the fridge wasn't that cold. But hey, minor negatives in an otherwise very enjoyable trip. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that, the ladies in reception we so helpful with everything, from planning Samaria to bus trips.
Ps. If you are travelling to other Greek islands I would suggest doing your shopping in chania, the other islands are so overpriced in comparison. A ring that in chania would be €8, in santorini is €15.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it had a nice view, although the staircase is hard. So if you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto del Colombo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Colombo Hotel

Address: Theofanous & Moshon Sts, Chania Town, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto del Colombo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel, an imposing, tall, 600 year old building, has gathered a rich history over the passing of the centuries. During the days of Turkish Rule, the building housed members of high ranking Turkish military who made many changes to the buildings architecture - even built a Hamam.In the garden and next to that, a room to secure their slaves (where you can still see the metallic rings nailed to the walls). In the beginning of the 19th Century, the building was used as a French embassy and later was inhabited by the great Greek political figure, Eleftherios Venizelos, who also used it as his political offices until his move to Athens, when he took power as Prime Minister of Greece. The Hotel has 10 beautiful rooms - the 2 of which are maisonettes - fully restored and traditionally decorated to provide our guests with an especially warm and welcome feeling. All rooms have modern conveniences (WC, telephone, TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and Central Heating in winter) ensuring our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Porto del Colombo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Colombo Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto del Colombo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.