We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredibly fantastic and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Hannover, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“incredibly fantastic and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spend one night in april in this hotel. It is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in, incredibly located in the middle of the old town 20 meters away from the old venetian harbour. It could hardly be better. It is a self-catering hotel with kitchenette, but there are a lot of restaurants nearby (medium priced).
The hotel rooms are sufficiently large, lovely decorated, spotless clean and quiet. The beds are very comfortable, the bath is furnished nicely in a modern style. Furthermore, the hotel offers a sun terrace overlooking some parts of the old town and the harbour. If you turn west, you will also find a small beach.

Due to the fantastic location, it is not possible to reach the hotel by car. But there are free and open parking lots directly at the seafront near the street "Theotokopoulou". From there you only have to walk for about 4 minutes to the hotel. You reach the airport in about 25 minutes by car.

I am very glad having found this lovely hotel. If possible, I will stay there again during my next trip to Chania.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arbroath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April and enjoyed every minute of our visit. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the old town which meant we could readily access the historic harbour and the numerous winding lanes. It was like stepping back into a long gone era. However the hotel has been recently renovated and has all the comforts expected of a modern hotel. Everything has been done to a very high standard - the furnishings and the bed linen are of top quality. The owners were very helpful and had some useful suggestions to enhance our visit. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Duca in April 2013. It is located in the very heart of the lovely old town of Chania. Palazzo Duca is impeccably kept and recently renovated and as a matter of fact it is also expanding. Arriving can be a little trying but only because the tiny old city of Chania is a walking city with charming winding, curvy alleys lined shops, restaurants and hotels. I The best thing to do is to park your rental car by the water, leave your bags in the car and follow the directions by foot.
The staff and the hotel owner are welcoming and very helpful. We stayed at a studio which was small pretty room with a kitchenette and impeccably clean. The bed was very comfortable with good linen and pillows ,and so were the cocomat slippers included with the room.

Room Tip: Park your car and leave your bags. Look for the hotel by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Situated in the most pictureresque area of the Old town, and yet built in a way that protects the building from the noise. Very recently and very successfully renovated, it has 8 studios including fully equipped kitchenette so that you can prepare your own breakfast etc. Three kitche things that I needed where asked for and brought in five minutes...The room I stayed in is 302(reachable by an elegant elevator) on the third floor, and it includes an open air jacuzi in the private veranda (although not used due to the weather). On the same floor, an extra veranda overlooking at the port, shared with the second studio of the floor.
Impeccably clean and fully airconditioned.Linen changed and the studio cleaned, every day. Exceptionally good and very expensive cocomat bed and pillows. You are given your set of keys (the key of the external door included, in order to enter when consierge is closed).
Worth to try it.

Room Tip: Try room 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was our first visit to Crete and we were a little sceptical about the standards of the hotels so opted to go for a four star hotel. This hotel is small but the rooms are large and beautifully designed. The hotel had been recently renovated and the bathroom and kitchenette were well equipped. The room itself was spacious and contained a flat screen TV, a large comfortable bed and had soft lighting. We went in December but the room was always warm and cosy. The hotel is located very close to the waterfront and within walking distance to nearby shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Some balconies face inward. Best to ask before booking for balcony with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This new hotel is very stylish and clean. It was walking distance to many bars/tavernas, restaurants and shopping. Our room was cleaned everyday and was the perfect size. We saw all the rooms, so if you have a family, there are also bigger rooms and a room with a jacuzzi. Every room had a kitchenette, the fridge was very useful. There was also a balcony with seating with a view of the water. The owner/manager, George was so helpful. We had a change of plans and, unfortunately, had to leave a day early and he took us to the airport at 5am. This kind of service is above and beyond!!! Anything we needed, we were accommodated with.....directions, dining suggestions, a hair dryer, etc. I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The beds were also very comfortable and the price was surprisingly very competitive. I'm very picking about cleanliness and location and Palazzo Duca was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in mid October.
We recieved a very nice top (3rd) floor room with external hot tub.
The room was very big, clean and nicely decorated.
The shower is a bit too little but there is a small kitchenet.
The location is very good - just 15 seconds walk from the port but quiet.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Please note that cars are not allowed in the old city so you need to park in the parking area (free) that is less than 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.