We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

One of the most beautiful boutique hotels I've ever stayed in! Clean with a great interior and in the heart of Chania's old town. The owner was very friendly and upgraded us in a bigger room the second night just because he liked us! Definitely worth every penny paid,which compared to what you get is quite cheap!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you visit Chania, you should definitely accommodate in the Old Harbor area. Palazzo Duca four star Hotel is absolutely perfect, it is located in the Old Harbor, very coquette, very clean, with excellent stuff (we visited and ate where they recommended us and the trip was fantastic). The hotel was opened this summer, it is brand new. We loved that they kept some elements of the old building (for example, the wall behind beds that appear in the photos). The hotel was furnished with great skill, old style and modern elements are excellent combined.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Beautifully decorated with a small kitchenette, excellent bathrooms and comfortable beds!!! The location is unbeatable, in the centre of the old town and just off the harbour, with lots of good restaurants and bars nearby, but no noise in the rooms. The owner, Georges, was helpful and friendly: we had originally booked a studio but it was too small for 2 weeks and he very quickly offered us a much larger room. Only a few rooms have balconies with a view but there is a small but well-appointed roof terrace with excellent views of the small streets and part of the harbour.

The room was cleaned every day and linens changed regularly in out 2 week stay.

A few helpful extras would be more prep space in the kitchenettes, more than 1 pan, and a kettle rather than a coffee percolator for us tea-drinking Brits!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and a view - some balconies open into an internal space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I actually stumbled upon this hotel by foot as I was walking through the old town during the latter part of July. The hotel had been completely renovated - hip lobby, beautiful rooms with new showers/vanities, comfortable beds, wood floors, sitting areas with couches (sans the studio room), free wifi, and an elevator. Fabulous location - right off the port, next door to one of the better restaurants in Chania, Tamam. I was so impressed with the hotel and the owner/manager George that we booked a night for the following week, before we were scheduled to leave for NY (we had been staying in Nopigia). A few days before our arrival, George had taken the initiative to e-mail me about parking (close by) and the type of room we required (studio, larger room w/spa, or room with sitting area/couch). My only concern with leaving our villa west of Chania and opting for the old town (a day early) was that we weren't scheduled to fly out until 6 pm the following day. And, under normal circumstances, the thought of being kicked out of a hotel room around 10 am and having to sit around all day for a flight seemed stressful - especially while traveling with our 4 year old. To my surprise, George said "no problem, you can check out at 3!" Now, I realize that this will not always be the case (once this hotel starts hopping and availability is limited), but nevertheless, I thought this gesture on his part was exceptional - and for this reason alone, we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Palazzo Duca is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
It's beautifully decorated and very clean.

It is located in the Old Town, literally seconds from the sea and the old port.
It's surrounded by restaurants, cafes and shops.

To wrap up, if you're in Chania, Palazzo Duca is the perfect hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Good Wi-Fi and A/C in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is perfect, in that we could access free parking relatively close to the hotel. There are lots of restaurants and bars literally next to the hotel there is no noise coming in the rooms. The sea view from our room was fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a kitchen in which you can cook your own meals, if you want to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We initially stayed at the Halepa and thought it was overpriced, so when we walked by this brand new boutique hotel one night, we decided to move and were happy we did. We paid 80 euros for an absolutely beautiful suite. Everything was first rate- the mattress is amazing, the sheets and pillows were first rate and the place is beautifully decorated. The location is also unbeatable- just a block away from the harbor. This places is a real find!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.