We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting great walks during different time of the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chania Old Town Walks

Chania Old Town Walks
Halidon 46 | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
00306937399300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chania Old Town Walks offers an original way to explore this historically fascinating city through a three hour private walking tour accompanied by a resident archaeologist and historian. The city's past from Minoan times to the Ottoman Turkish period comes alive as we see Chania’s Minoan ruins, its elegant Venetian and Turkish townhouses, its beautifully restored synagogue, as well as mosques, churches, narrow, winding alleyways, tree-lined squares and other hidden gems.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Exciting great walks during different time of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

While staying inside the old town next to the old harbor, we enjoyed our early morning walks passsing the old greek ladies sweeping their steps, around the harbor before the delivery trucks,going up to the high point in the maritime museum for a great overall view, mid-morning walks through the narrow alleys to look at shops, galleries, cafes, and workshops, at noon sitting in a taverna on the right side of the old harbor, looking at the venticain harbor,its buildings, horse carriages, watching the people, the waves and listening to the waves, early afternoon walks through the buzzeling main streets passing various souvenir shops, grocery stores and desert shops, and the late-afternoon walks through the alleys with various signs for rooms to let, studying the menus in the restaurants hiding in the side alleys along the church or behind the castle. The early evening walks are more enjoyable as the ocean breeze cooled the air, the sky color was softer, and some of the local residents dressed in black sitting outside their small darker rooms.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    93
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Fantastic Walk in Old Chania Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Don't miss a chance to do this walk if you want to learn about the history of the city. Alex explains it in a way that is easy to understand. She is very knowledgeable and lovely to spend time with. We did this at the start of our holiday and it helped us get to know the town more quickly. It definitely enhanced our enjoyment of the holiday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We did the walking tour with Alex, who as well as being very friendly was very knowledgeable and enabled us to see so much more than we would otherwise have done. Alex met us at our hotel and showed us Chania and told us about its history in a very easy manner, without ever being patronising. Would recommend spending a couple of hours with Alex and your stay in Chania will be greatly enhanced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lovely city and so friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chania is a lovey small town, the centre all in walking distance. The harbour is the tourist place to be in the evening for a drink or a walk. One of the best things is that though it is very touristic, de people stay very friendly and polite.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beguiling old Venetian/Turkish City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited Chania many times and we never get tired of wandering round the Venetian Harbour and the back streets of the old city within the Venetian walls. In the last year, many streets have been re - cobbled and tidied up so it is easier to see and appreciate the historic old buildings. Many residents have pot gardens of geraniums and bougainvillea outside their houses and in the evening you can smell the jasmine. There are many nice restaurants too in the back streets - often better value than those on the harbour - our favourites include The Well of the Turk, Apostolakis (winter only), Tamam, Kouzina E.P.E. (lunch only) We particularly like the art and crat shops on Theotocopoulou and Sifaka streets.
There is only one thing we would love to see improved - the graffiti! The Town Council really should get on top of this before High Summer - maybe using some of its unemployed youth to paint over the worst offences - especially in Splanzia - the old Turkish quarter

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chania Old Town Walks also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Chania Old Town Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chania Old Town Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.