We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely city and so friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chania Old Town Walks

Chania Old Town Walks
Halidon 46 | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
00306937399300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Activities in Chania Town
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chania Old Town Walks offers an original way to explore this historically fascinating city through a three hour private walking tour accompanied by a resident archaeologist and historian. The city's past from Minoan times to the Ottoman Turkish period comes alive as we see Chania’s Minoan ruins, its elegant Venetian and Turkish townhouses, its beautifully restored synagogue, as well as mosques, churches, narrow, winding alleyways, tree-lined squares and other hidden gems.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely city and so friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chania is a lovey small town, the centre all in walking distance. The harbour is the tourist place to be in the evening for a drink or a walk. One of the best things is that though it is very touristic, de people stay very friendly and polite.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beguiling old Venetian/Turkish City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited Chania many times and we never get tired of wandering round the Venetian Harbour and the back streets of the old city within the Venetian walls. In the last year, many streets have been re - cobbled and tidied up so it is easier to see and appreciate the historic old buildings. Many residents have pot gardens of geraniums and bougainvillea outside their houses and in the evening you can smell the jasmine. There are many nice restaurants too in the back streets - often better value than those on the harbour - our favourites include The Well of the Turk, Apostolakis (winter only), Tamam, Kouzina E.P.E. (lunch only) We particularly like the art and crat shops on Theotocopoulou and Sifaka streets.
There is only one thing we would love to see improved - the graffiti! The Town Council really should get on top of this before High Summer - maybe using some of its unemployed youth to paint over the worst offences - especially in Splanzia - the old Turkish quarter

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Walking in the old town is like travelling to the past. Intersting builidings. The old port is very beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“EveN in the pouring rain we enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Since it's December it's raining a lot. Our favorite part was the market where we got some traditional spices and then ate traditional lunch. Much is closed down at this time of the year but we found some stores open. Parking was hard to find in Dec. can't imagine how hard it might be in high tourist season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The seaside old town is very charming and picturesque. Enjoyed the central market, which has a simple cross shaped design so not overwhelming like Barcelona's La Boqueira and not so crowded. Learned what is mean by soft and hard olive oil through tasting. Free Wi-Fi almost everywhere. On the waterfront, many tourist restaurants offer complete meals for 10 to 15 Euros. All in all a very pleasant place to be and would love to go back there again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chania Old Town Walks also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Chania Old Town Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chania Old Town Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.