We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Georgia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Georgia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Georgia Hotel
A. Korkidi Kalamaki, Chania Town, Crete 73101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 67 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, great hospitality, perfect location, a spacious room tastefully decorated.
Most of all I enjoyed a perefect night's sleep in a peacefull environment with great view and excellent ecological matresses! I ll surely come back again.

Room Tip: The hotel is situation in Kalamaki region in a very close distance to Chania city. The region combin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

In may this year we decided to visit crete as it was a new destination from our local airport, on checking accomodation we found villa georgia had rave reviews and we were not disapointed.
The owners in particular are charming and cannot do enough to make you feel so welcome and will help in any way they can.The local beach is gorgeous and clean, and the bars give free sunbeds. If you prefer a pool there is access to 2 round the apartment.The buses run regularly to chania town, and agia marina and platanias in the other direction, which are all worth a visit.
We had a lovely time and would not hesitaite to go back.

Room Tip: The studio apartment has 2 balconys the morning sun is at the back , and the afternoon is the one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have nothing but nice things to say about the Villa, Fanis and his mother. They are such warm and kind people, and they went out of their way to make our stay peaceful and comfortable. The villa has 6 apts which are side by side and facing the sea from the back. It is a bit hard to find the first time because the street has no name other than a small sign, and our rental cars gps was not picking up the town until we were very close, but once you locate it, it's a short drive/walk up a steep hill just off the main road (make a sharp left right after the pharmacy if you are coming from Chania's downtown area) . I loved the little touches to the room like candles, flowers and little fountains. Each morning we were served a nice homemade breakfast from our patio which overlooked the water. Breakfast included Greek coffee and freshly squeezed oj. There were only 2 of us, but the apartment slept 4 and the price was more than reasonable. There is access to 2 pools and several places to sit and relax outside. The villa is surrounded by residential properties and there is free parking. Just down the hill you'll find little shops, restaurants and beach area. The main and old town are less than a 10 minute drive away and there is a large supermarket called INKA if you want to eat in the room. I would highly recommend if you are staying in the area.

Room Tip: the first 3 room have the best wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Villa Georgia is a romantic, quiet and charming place to stay. All rooms have sea views (from your bed!) and a terrace with table and chairs with sea view. The room was very clean and large, with a comfortable bed and bath towels. The outside area was clean too and full of plants. Plus, there are two beautiful pools to use. The kitchen is convenient for preparing breakfast and light lunch. The location is excellent - only 80 meters from Kalamaki and just 4 km from Chania. And you are near the "national road" which is very convenient when traveling around the island. A 5 minute walk takes you to a small beach, restaurants and a cocktail bar (on the beach), a pharmacy, an ATM, mini-market, car/scooter rental agency, and a store selling beach wear and beach toys. But the best thing about Villa Georgia are the owners, Fanis and his mother, Georgia. Upon arrival in the early evening, Fanis showed us to our room where he had the terrace table filled with candles and offered us wine, apples and cheese. He was so kind and always had time for us. He gave us a ton of information, such as which beaches to visit, even telling us which day would be best to go when there wasn't wind, and which towns to visit, (even where to park!). Nearly everyday his mother gave us some of her home-made cake and grappa! We stayed 10 nights and my husband and I felt so much at home and we were treated so well. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Family owned Hotel managed by Fanis and his mother Georgia.
Both of them had been always very kind and helpful.
Small details like their own olive oil, Raki or grapes as a welcome gave us strait from the beginning a very good feeling in staying with them.
The rooms are comfortable and large. Cleanliness is excellent. The view to the see is very nice.
Restaurants, beaches and bus station you can reach within a 5 minutes’ walk.
A car is not a must to stay at this place.
We can recommend this hotel.
Thomas & Carmen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Villa Georgia is an amazing hotel. Fanis and his mother were both delightful. Fanis offered to make recommendations and reservations for dinner. His recommendations were always amazing and we were treated very well when we arrived. A hot, homemade breakfast was served on the balcony and always arrived when requested. It was so beautiful to sit on the balcony while enjoying it. The room was very clean and only the best bedding and towels were provided. Such a wonderful touch. We arrived to a gift of fresh fruit and wine from Fanis and his mother. The pool next door that you are allowed to use is very convenient and the staff there treated us as though we were their guests. Staying at the Villa Georgia was an amazing experience and we would definitely stay again. No request was to small or to big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Chosen for its convenient location (4km from Chania, buses every 20mins until 11.30pm- 2 Euros), quality of rooms and raving reviews of the friendliness of the hosts. We now know why! This is an excellent base for exploring Eastern Crete, located off the main road, with great sea views, immaculately clean and well maintained rooms, there is nothing to complaint about. The best thing about your stay in Villa Georgia is, of course, your hosts!
Fanis and Georgia will make you feel like staying with friends, so welcoming and accommodating. You know this is true when you read so many reviews by people who refer to the owners by their first names. You will enjoy the lovely breakfast prepared by Georgia every morning and served at your private veranda, where you can relax and enjoy it watching the views of the cove of Kalamaki.
There are convenience stores and restaurants within a 2 min walk for your essential needs, but dining in Chania is by far the best option.
Fanis does his utmost to please his guests, offering advice and suggestions for day-trips and evenings out, based on his local knowledge and feedback from former guests.
You will leave feeling you've made two new friends in Crete, and probably will be back sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrianakisgeorgef, Owner at Villa Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Google Translation
ευχαριστω παρα πολυ..καλο χειμωνα!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Georgia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Georgia Hotel

Address: A. Korkidi Kalamaki, Chania Town, Crete 73101, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a low hill overlooking the Aegean Sea, the traditional hotel Villa Georgia offers self-catered accommodation with sea and sunset view. It is situated 50 metres away from the sea and 4 km west of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Georgia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Georgia Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Georgia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.