We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; Caring and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pandora Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pandora Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Pandora Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Lithinon Str, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location; Caring and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent a two-night stay in Chania here. They were very responsive to emails prior to our stay (the ferry strikes caused us to change our arrival time) and gave us a super recommendation for dinner when we arrived. When we left, we were wondering about opening hours on Greek Good Friday and the reception very helpfully called the Knossos Palace to check for us. Our room, Selini, was on the ground floor with a view of the street (not the harbor) and was quiet and nicely appointed. Parking in front of the hotel during our off-season, early April visit was tight, but doable. Be sure to rent a small car. I guess the only less-than-ideal issue is that the plumbing is very touchy--even by Greek standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I will remember the great service, the incredible view from the roof during breakfast, the big size rooms and the great location. I strongly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights at the end of a week long trip across Turkey and Greece and this was definitely a perfect capstone. The location is perfect - within a few minutes you are on the boardwalk in Chania that is filled with restaurants and bars and beautiful views. We were lucky when we arrived and got an upgrade to a room with a HUGE terrace overlooking the bay and the lighthouse - I can't say enough about the views! In all my travels, this place was a highlight and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday in Chania, staying at the Pandora Suites for 2 weeks in July 2011.
The hotel is very clean, well managed, and offers a very pleasant place to relax, as well as an excellent base from which to enjoy Chania and surrounds. It is fairly priced and represents, in our opinion, good value.
Our extended family of nine made use of three rooms. The rooms facing the harbour have very fine balconies and views; the rooms at the back are quieter and overlook the very charming, cool courtyard.
The view of the harbour from the roof deck are likely the best in the town. We enjoyed breakfast there each morning, and also spent some time there in the evenings watching the sunset.
George, the manager, is a superb host. He was helpful without being intrusive. He is very knowledgeable about Chania and the whole island, and he made excellent recommendations regarding beaches, restaurants, daytrips, activities, etc.

Chania is a very agreeable holiday destination; we had a great time, & would definitely stay at this hotel again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour have great views but are less quiet; Rooms overlooking the charming c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

We chose Chania as the base for our first part of our trip to Crete as we wished to visit Samarian gorge and as non drivers needed good access to buses etc! The Pandora suites turned out to be an ideal choice for location and comfort. We stayed in the Dias suite fantastic terrace one of only two rooms with this overlooking the beautiful old harbour. The room was of good size bathroom cosy but functional although cleanliness was exceptional clean linen and towels everyday of our four night stay not the norm in our experience of staying in similar properties in Greece! Breakfast on the roof terrace every morning was a great relaxed start to the day. We only saw one lady working here who did everything reception breakfast and room cleaning and with 10 rooms that's alot for one but she manages it very well. There can be some late night noise from bars on harbour but as it is late September it was not too much or for too long ( we did stay in Sept not October as stated as no option to pick September on the review page!) Would recommend Chania and the Pandora suites we are already planning a return short break in the future. As for the Samarian gorge stunning scenery but our legs have not forgiven us yet 2 days post 16km hike!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at this very charming hotel on our honeymoon and - overall - were very pleased with it. Specifically, we stayed in the Aphrodite room which has been described in the reviews below - it was an enormous balcony overlooking the harbor.

The room itself is pretty large and the atmosphere & style of it is quite nice. The bathroom is very small and a bit outdated, but that is the only negative in the room. The building itself has a real charm to it and feels unique.

The other side of the harbor seems to have more going on, at least in terms of food/restaurants, but the views from the Pandora side are better - you get a beautiful sunset from your balcony every night. For the price you pay, that view really feels like a steal.

However, the one downside - and its been mentioned in reviews before - it is very loud at night. No matter what day(s) of the week you are staying, if you are a light sleeper at all, don't plan on getting any rest before at least 1AM as the club(s) nearby will be blasting music until then. There is probably a simple solution, such as earplugs or anything that produces white noise, but I didn't come prepared in that sense.

That said, the hotel was worth it. It's great value and the patio can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

A charming, small and old fashioned apartment hotel, superbly located just of the harbour, with spectacular views from our large patio. We probably had the best room in the hotel as Dimitri from the Libyan Princess had booked it up for us (see separate review). Breakfast was served on the roof top restaurant - a simple continental plate of rolls, cheese and eggs, but again an amazing view across the port, although you can also see the other roof top "junk" of water tanks and air conditioners if you want to look.
Our room had an inner bedroom and tiny ensuite, with small kitchenette and a tired chaisse longe, but was still very charming. We stayed just for one night with effectively two days looking around Chania town - which again was lovely - but two days was enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pandora Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Suites Hotel

Address: 29 Lithinon Str, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pandora Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pandora Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel Chania
Pandora Suites Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandora Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.