We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kriti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kriti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kriti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Nikiforou Foka and Kiprou St | Koum Kapi, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
bedfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

the hotel is close to the old town, with-in walking distance, our stay was a pleasant one
Room cleaned daily, breakfast left a lot to be desired if you require a hot one+ but continental fine. the staff were very helpful and friendly,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
65
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I am writing in defence of the above hotel particularly the staff. I read several reviews before we went (we had already booked!) in which people said that the staff at this hotel were surly and unhelpful-we found them charming ,very helpful and friendly.
It had been stated that the beds were hard-most Greek beds are hard but in this case we found them less hard than most-my advice is that if you find the beds hard drink the raki that is constantly given to you in the tavernnas and you wont notice!!!
The bedrooms were a little shabby and a bit dark-could do with a new decor but they were immaculately clean-every day the sheets and towels were changed and the room cleaned. The public rooms were light and airy and very nice,the breakfast was good with a lot of choice,the pool was ok-a little plain could have done with a few more plants or a murul or something but again was very clean and pleasant.
The situation of the Hotel was excellent although I must agree that it was very noisy there as the local Greeks used the many bars at the bottom of the street and of course returned home late at night in theyre vehicles-sometimes doing handbrake turns and wheelies-but it is a Greek town and that must be expected-again drink the Raki and you wont notice!!!
There is an outdoor theatre opposite the Hotel and there was nothing on whilst we were there but can imagine that it could be a nightmare-but surely that could be coped with (and could even be found interesting) for one night of the holiday. All in all we found it fine especially for the sum we paid

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I had a terrible experience at the hotel Kriti. Money, my mobile and my iPod were stolen right out of my room while I was out for dinner. No doubt an inside job as there were no signs of a break-in. The hotel receptionist was rude and not helpful and only stated the obvious that one should not leave valuables in the room. Nice! Shows you what he also thinks of the hotel. I filed a police report although I don't expect much to happen. Be warned - if you stay there do not leave ANYTHING valuable in the room or at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eftihis1, Hotel Manager at Kriti Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
First of all we would like to inform you that we feel very sorry for all the guests that were victims of the above
mentioned burglars, that later showed out to be a team of at least four persons who passed through many hotels in the
town of Chania, and unfortunately managed to get into a lot of rooms and steal valuable things and the amount of totally 20.000 Euros.

Unfortunately the above reviewer happened to be one of the guests staying in our hotel during the days that these burglars, who pretended
to be guests (with faked passports) went from hotel to hotel, and with a still unknown method got into the hotel rooms when the guests were outside.

Only a few days after the burglaries, the police arrested one of the persons in this gang, and warrants have been sent out for the other three or possibly more people.

As far as the police have informed us, they have been searching the apartment of this specific person (who showed out to be a foreign citizen)
without finding any of the stolen items. We are of course in touch with the police on a frequent basis, to follow the development of the investigations,
and if any of the stolen items should be found we will of course contact the guests involved.

This situation proofs that this was in no way any inside job, and we are considering our hotel very safe, and have never had any similar cases in the past.

Our front desk staff is always friendly and helpful, and in this specific case the receptionist informed the guests that in general, in all hotels all over the world, we should all be very careful with what we are leaving in our room, and for total safety there are always safety boxes, and we always recommend our guests to take use of these
in case they have something valuable to store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here in June 09. My partner is Greek and so he wanted to say in Chania. Over the year I have stayed in many of the 'boarding houses' and while offering personal service I really do miss a pool. So this time i put my foot down. And he his! We needed somewhere affordable in Chania with a pool. Kriti was a great option. it was well located for the bars and restaurants and also there are some good bars and places down by the waterfrom just 2 mins walk from the hotel. The service was lovely [although maybe we got more as he was Greek]. The pool is an adequate size and gets the sun most of the day. when we first arrived we had a pool facing room and so i asked if we could swap to a front facing - which gives you a lovely sea view. They instantly changed us with no extra cost and a smile. If you want a beer/ lolly by the pool they will bring it out to you and just charge your room. I would recommend this place and I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We booked this hotel because of its location in central Chania and availability of swimming pool. The hotel turned out to be worn-off and without much amenities. The swimming pool was small and ugly.

The worst part of the experience was a Greek heavy metal festival on a concert ground across the street. It ended past midnight and started with soundchecks at 8 am. Recommend to check the schedule for this venue before you book this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

The room was shabby but the worst part was the location, directly across the street from an open-air concert podium. We asked to be moved to a room on the back of the hotel because we had to catch an early flight but were told it was not possible. The concert started at about 6 pm (Nirvana covers sung badly out of tune) and progressed to a local hard rock band that played until after midnight. Our walls and balcony doors literally shook in time with the drums and base. The staff was unhelpful, dishonest and ambivalent. Probably the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eftihis1, Manager at Kriti Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
We would like to express our point of view regarding the two above reviews, from guests staying in our hotel and leaving from here with negative impressions.



First of all we would like to explain, that the noise that the above reviewers are mentioning, came from a theater that is situated opposite the hotel, and unfortunately during one of the concerts that was held by students at the university, indeed the music was played very laud on high decibels, and although we informed both the organizers of the concert, as well as the local police, unfortunately not much was done to keep the volume down.



We are very well aware of this situation, and many of our guests did get disturbed more or less by this concert, but please note that this was not something ordinary, and usually we do never have complaints concerning the theater and the events held there.



We are sorry if the above guests were so much disturbed by this that they after wards had to associate this with our hotel, allowing this to affect the whole picture of the hotel and their stay here.



We do not agree with your negative comments about our staff, that is always very helpful, polite and generally much loved by our guests.



We are, and have always been very proud of our staff, that we are keeping under education constantly, and we are putting very much weight on the service and behavior against our guests. Our motto is to offer all our guests and visitors a comfortable and pleasant stay in our hotel, and we believe that we have achieved this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We were impressed with the location, down the road to the bay where there are an abundance of coffe shops, restaurants, taverners, that are nearly always full of locals......, good atmosphere.... In the other direction is the town of Chania, busy and most enjoyable, The hotel is on a road so expect some traffic noise, but close the balcony at night when you sleep, no problem.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast has a good variety of food, one must remember value for money and this is a good example, GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY !!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kriti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriti Hotel

Address: 10 Nikiforou Foka and Kiprou St | Koum Kapi, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kriti Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel remains closed from 13/11/2013 until 30/06/2014 due to a general renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kriti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriti Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kriti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.