We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Chania downtown. Fresh all you can drink Orange juice at breakfast is the Highlight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kriti Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kriti Hotel to your Saves list
Kriti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Nikiforou Foka and Kiprou St | Koum Kapi, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 stars 191 Reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Chania downtown. Fresh all you can drink Orange juice at breakfast is the Highlight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is 5 walking minutes away from downtown Chania. You have several parking areas around the corner. Breakfast is good and contains free all you can drink fresh orange juice. Room equipment is a bit old, but everything is clean.
I would choose the same place for a chania downtown stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    86
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
20
85
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for 2 days and everything was great!The staff was very very friendly,the room was very clean.We slept very good.Breakfast was wonderful!A lot of things to taste.The pool was very clean!We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Kriti, having also stayed here ten years ago. We did not opt for a superior room (which probably means one that has been upgraded), so the décor was the same as the first time, except a bit tired by now. We could live with this as the room was clean and adequate, though the old television should have been put out of its misery long ago. The hotel has a good, well-maintained pool and a comfortable lounge and reception area. Best of all is the buffet breakfast, which offers a very large selection, hot and cold, and a machine that lets you make your own fresh orange juice.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the free wifi was fairly good.

Room Tip: Apparently the hotel is to be renovated in the winter of 2013-14, so the last of the 'tired'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Chania and Crete in August is a busy place , and getting rooms for a short notice business trip was starting to get worrying
A call to Yvette the Reservations Manager and all my problems were solved
I am just ending a 13 night stay here and its been great
No ignoring that much of the fabric of the Kriti is a little tired , but that will be changing over the winter as it closes for full refurb
The staff are welcoming and always helpful with any request or question
The housekeeping staff do a wonderful job in making the rooms spotless everyday and all the Public areas are always clean and tidy
The pool is the jewel in the crown for this Hotel , an ideal spot to relax after a hard day working , always clean and the depth a bonus compared to many Hotel pools in general
Evi in reception was always smiling and helpful with any , Yvette already mention for sorting our booking often came out to say hello from her office if I was in reception , a really nice touch especially with a reasonably long stay having chance to get to know the staff. Peter and Gina and others served from a small but efficient bar any hot or cold drink you wanted
Overall a great stay and not looking forward to returning to the UK on the 17th August , would not hesitate to stay if another visit to the area on business was required

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have balconies , a request when booking would help. Overlooking the pool is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Near beach, deep swimming pool with a springboard, kind staff, good variety of food and drink (for example fresh orange juice). The downsides are a small TV and a weak hair dryer. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not every room has a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for 4 nights late July as a couple on our tour of the island. It was spot on for what we wanted. Fairly easy to find in our hire car. Situated roughly between the stadium and the open arena. Lots of parking nearby and we never had any trouble parking, though it did get very busy later at night (7ish on). Very friendly helpful staff (24 hour desk)and a clean hotel. We booked (and got) a high room overlooking the pool. It was no frills fine. Decent size, shower, solid bed and ok air on. Slept well despite there being various concerts, Greek performances and the like either side of the hotel. Breakfast was good typical Greek fare + cereals & hot food, highlighted by the fresh orange juicer. The hotel was near enough (for us) to a small beach and beachfront, the centre for shopping and to see the harbour and historical sights. Also there were a number of decent restaurants within a few minutes walk. We found the hotel a good base for visiting the local area. On the morning we left we used the pool and had no difficulty getting sunbeds, although there are few; most people don't use the pool. The pool is fine. The lift is good although be aware that it's an open wall one. We will look to use this hotel again in the future on another tour of the island.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Kriti hotel in Chania for 4 nights at the end of July, for a stopover in Chania before travelling to our Timeshare apartment in Rethymno. We booked online, and the room was very cheap, so our expectations were not too high, especially as we booked the Standard room, not one of the deluxe rooms. The room, as expected was pretty basic and not very big. The standard rooms have no balcony, and I wish I had booked one of the deluxe rooms which have a balcony, as it wouldn't have cost that much more. The room however did have a minibar, which was very welcome when we arrived at 2:30am after a long flight, when the hotel bar was shut and we didn't fancy going out to look for a night cap. Drinks in the minibar were very reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful and nice, and the hotel has free wifi throughout, and it was great to be able to use wifi in our hotel room. Our taxi driver told us that there was no beach in Chania and that our hotel did not have a swimming pool, which was a bit depressing as we were arriving - but luckily he was lying (to try to get us to book him to take us to a bigger beach outside Chania)! The hotel is actually 50 meters from a small beach, and close to the Venetian harbour. It also has a small outdoor swimming pool area. Breakfasts were very good, with a hot and cold buffet. The hotel is very conveniently located, and there is an open air theatre across the road which had various performances (all in Greek) every night during the summer. We watched a performance of traditional Cretan singers and dancers, which was free to get in. The downside is that it can be a bit noisy, and there was a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a deluxe room rather than a standard room, as standard rooms don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kriti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriti Hotel

Address: 10 Nikiforou Foka and Kiprou St | Koum Kapi, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kriti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kriti is centrally located in Chania, at the meeting point of the famous old Venetian harbour and the commercial centre of the city. Our 84 elegant, newly refurbished rooms are equipped with free wired and wireless internet access, air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, minibar, wardrobe and private balcony. They all have their own bathroom with hairdryer and bathtub or shower. The total of 84 rooms includes, apart from 52 standard double or twin rooms, 4 rooms with disability0 facilities, 4 suites, 8 quadruple and 16 superior double or twin rooms. You can enjoy delicious light meals at the snack bar or buffet-style menu at the breakfast room. Guests can have fun in the pool, spend some time in the TV room or in our gym, or just relax in the hotel's lobby. Enjoy the magnificent view over the town, Koum Kapi Beach and the White Mountains. The hotel's staff is at your service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kriti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriti Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kriti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.