We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff made this great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canea Mare Hotel

Canea Mare Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canea Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Canea Mare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff made this great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good location, great prices, great hotel to stay at. Staff extremely helpful-they accommodated our arrival in the early hours of the morning, provided very comprehensive , helpful directions. lovely pool. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The choice of 4 portuguese friends to sleep in agia marina for 4 nights.
The hotel is very good for the price and location amazing.
The best thing is the people working here.
Mary at the reception desk helped in everything. She is really nice!
Next time i go to chania i will sleep here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel rooms were clean and of a usual standard for Greece but NO KETTLE !!!!!!!!!! The sandy beach is just across the busy road from the hotel and sunbeds are 5E or free is you purchase drinks from the bar. The big downside is the constant pestering by sellers, massage [the worst every few minutes] bracelets 'Rolex' watches, sunglasses, hair braiding, fruit, doughnuts, linen. It got so bad we ignored them as we got fed up with saying 'no thank you'. The resort is very busy and consists of a very long strip of restaurants, shops etc. but we could find no entertainment after 10.30. The majority of tourists are Scandinavian, only one other british couple in our hotel, and therefore all the bars have sport etc geared towards the majority.
The local bus service is good and leaves from the front of the hotel every 30 mins to Chania. Chania is worth a visit but beware of prices on the harbour we ordered 2 large beers and expected to pay a premium but not 17.70E. On the positive side we were given a free drink by the barman at Pelagos after we told him about the overcharging and also had a lovely meal which included an excellent seafood platter at 'Kopayi' restaurant also on the harbour front.
We will possibly return to Crete but not this resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

-The hotel is located in Agia Marina, outside of Chania city. Location is full of touristic shops and bars. You need a car to do anything-either to go to beaches or to visit chania city. Public transportation is a trouble there.
-The hotel is clean and quiet. Does not have anything special.
-Recommended only because of its cheap price-only for staying a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August 2012. We were in a double room with a little balcony. The bathroom is little but sufficient. All very clean. We loved to stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Everything is nearby. The beach is 50 meters, shops and restaurants in the main street and bus to Chania stops in front of the hotel. We really would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakene, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just back from a 2 week vacation on Canea Mare Hotel The staff is wonderfull and helpfull and always have a smile and a nice word to you. The apartment was clean and we had a great wiew and we just loved it.. It was close to everything like sea, busstop, and nice restaurants. there is a mainroad outside but we didn´t mind the noice from traffic and we sleep good (the bed was little hard but worth it anyway) a big hug and thank you to all on Canea Mare we would love to come back next year. I miss you all already.. big love from Sweden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping. Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just got back from Crete two days ago. Stayed at Canea Mare Hotel and Apartments. Good value for the money. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Not a huge resort hotel with entertainment every night, but that we already knew that we booked. Hotel was kept very clean and the rooms basic, as to be expected. But who spends a lot of time in the room anyway. We travelled with two children, so my husband and I had a separate bedroom and we therefor had two balconies. It wasn´t noisy at night. Our room was only two doors from the exit to the pool area. I found the bed slightly hard, but my husband thought it was perfect. Canea Mare was much closer to the Agia Marina beach than what I had thought. From the hotel you just crossed the Agias Marinas street, walked 5-10 meters( or yards), between small hotels, and there was the beach! Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Can recommend Mtsos Restaurant, also right across the Agia Marinas Street. Great food, family owned, teriffic service and lovely surroundings right by the beach. We had dinner there, four nights out of seven. And they didn´t have a pushy person by the entrance, trying to convince you to try their food. They didn´t have to. People kept coming back anyway. We rented a car for the week and the hotel has a parkingarea for six cars, on the side of the building. So that worked out well. They have computer in the gameroom, that you can use. You had to pay 1 Euro per 20 minutes, I think. I hope somebody finds this review helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canea Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canea Mare Hotel

Address: Agia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canea Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canea Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canea Mare Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canea Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.