We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Facilities Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Althea Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Althea Village Hotel to your Saves list
Althea Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Daratso, Chania Town, Crete 73136, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Facilities Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Typical village style hotel, rather dated but with good clean airy rooms, 2 pools and good layout. Staff were excellent and rooms cleaned every day except sunday. Board basis varied from self catering to full board. As half board we found the food typical of a greek hotel with a continental style breakfast and meat fish and pasta main courses in the evening. The food quality was good, although limited at times. There is a superb sandy beach 10 mins walk from the hotel a must to visit with 2 sunbeds and umbrella for 7Euro/day. I have only rated the hotel as average because of a number of negative points. The hotel guests are predominately northern europeans who smoked profusely at the pool and during all meals. The smoking was so bad that we had to abandon the outside eating areas (covered or uncovered) to the inside dining room which was the only non smoking area in the hotel. Also the area is not as quiet as you may expect due to the fact that the New National Road (motorway) has been built behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Northern facing rooms with open balconies get the best evening sunshine. Those with enclosed balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    49
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had, everything about the place was just wonderful, the beautiful gardens, the pool, the facilities and the staff. The attention to detail was evident everywhere and the staff were genuinely pleased to have us there and bent over backwards to accomodate our every need. We are definitely going to go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a lovely family holiday ( 2 adults, 2 teenagers) at this quiet and pretty hotel. We went all inclusive and apart from breakfast which was very busy and hot if you couldn't get an undercover seat, we couldn't fault the lovely selection of hot and cold food. There was no entertainment but we wanted a quiet holiday and just sat and talked and played cards after dinner. There are 2 pools both equally as nice as each other. It's a fair walk to the beach though so we only went twice in 10 days. We would certainly go back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really excellent value for money. Staff really helpful and friendly. Well placed for travel into Chania yet close enough to lovely beach.
Two pools so sun loungers always available, even when hotel was full.
Suggest bed and breakfast as their are plenty of local tavernas around which means more choice - Dimitri's particularly good.
Rooms, pools, gardens all very clean.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a one week break at the Althea Village Hotel, we stayed half board. We had an excellent time at the hotel and we were so sad to leave.

We found every member of staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, they were happily willing to provide us with guidance no matter what we asked.

There was always a good choice of food morning and evening, when the food ran out the catering staff would swiftly top up. The only criticism would be with the food labeling especially during the evening which I found to be occasionally misleading. Vegetarian dishes were not specifically marked as being vegetarian but you would expect at least one vegetarian dish on the menu. Mostly it wasn't a problem but I did find on a couple of occasions the main vege choice did contain either ham/bacon, which was a little disappointing. Overall, the choice was good and the food was always very fresh.

The rooms were a good size and kept very clean. The pools were also very clean, and there was always plenty of space on the loungers.

For us the location was perfect, it wasn't too far from either the beach or Chania. It was lovely taking an evening stroll through the village, and meeting some of the locals, which we found to be extremely happy and friendly.

We went on two excursions which the hotel kindly organised for us, they were on the Little Fun Train, the tours varied and there was something for everyone. The cost was 17 euros each children 8 euros. The two we travelled on lasted approx 3.5 hours, we all found them to be very informative and fun, the guides were very knowledgeable, we thought they were certainly worth doing and good value.

We had a wonderful time here and we do hope to return soon. Fond memories which will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just come back from 11-nights at the Althea Village, and have had a lovely, relaxing family holiday. The hotel is lovely, rooms are nice - most have 2 balconies and working air conditioning. The rooms are cleaned everyday except Sunday to a high standard. We went All Inclusive - and the food was excellent - in previous years we have gone All Inclusive but still eaten out as the food was poor - here it was all excellent, with plenty of choice every day. The All Inclusive drinks were available in a self-service area (beer, coffee, fizzy drinks, water) with wine also available at the bar. The staff (in particular Nikos) make you feel very welcome, and cannot seem to do enough for you. There are 2 pools - both are nice, 1 near the bar/restaurant the other a little further away. There was a nice mix of nationalities (British, Scandanavian, German, Russian) and all the kids got on well despite the language barrier. Away from the hotel the beach is about a 15 minute walk, and is nice enough, and Chania town is about a 10-15 minute bus away and that is well worth a visit tickets can be bought EURO1.10 from Mama's supermarket next to the Althea (Mama is really friendly).
All in all a great family holiday - I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel rooms are fair with aircondition in both rooms. Could use some updating, but everything works. The pools are nice and close to every appartment. Staff is extremely nice and the restaurant is quite good for an all inclusive reservation with food for kids and adults alike. The all inclusive has ice cream for a limited time (three hours per day) and cheap with and spirits during the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Althea Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Village Hotel

Address: Kato Daratso, Chania Town, Crete 73136, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Althea Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Althea Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Village Chania
Althea Village Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althea Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.