We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise in Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glossitses

Glossitses
Akti Enoseos 4 | Old Port, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
28210 59074
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 309 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A nice surprise in Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We’ve chosen the restaurant because of the excellent view in front of the Venetian Port in the Old town of Chania. The cuisine is Greek and bio oriented. The food was delicious, made of fresh fine products and prepared with big caution. I loved the marinated salmon from Peloponnese, accompanied by lemon curd, the fresh tuna and wild greens, the typical Greek delights with scent of orange. The owner helped us to choose really nice wines. I’ve decided to write about the restaurant because in my opinion that is a nice exception in such a touristic place. Excellent Mediterranean meal with refine and pure taste!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    183
    65
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wow this is just an amazing place. Service really personal, every mouthful a dream. We asked for recommendation. The owner recommended a salad of cabbage in beetroot. We weren't sure but decided to trust him. Amazing. Just like everything else. Go here. Just go. Views service food all out of this world.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“... nice food and very helpfull people...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I liked the fresh small fishes, the mussels, the rice with ink of cuttlefish and a nice salad with algae...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic, ethical and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food and drink in this restaurant is locally produced and bought directly from the growers, so I would recommend this restaurant based solely on that fact, but that is not the only reason to eat there.

We ordered a selection of dishes as we couldn't make up our mind what we wanted to try and a couple of bottles of the local dark beer. All the food was good but the baby octopus was something special; I like baby octopus and eat it as often as I reasonably can but I suspect there is little point in eating it now as it will never be as good as that I had here.

A mention should go to the staff as well who were always available to help and very friendly without being intrusive in anyway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food of great value on an amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great food... Exellent service...Very friendly and attentive staff! Try the steamed mussels in white wine sauce... An absolute must! I would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glossitses also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Glossitses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glossitses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.