We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halepa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Halepa Hotel to your Saves list
Halepa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 El. Venizelou str, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our flight gor the first night of our honeymoon landed at Chania at midnight and the grand entrance of the Halepa was a welcome sight. The rooms are simple and clean and the bathroom was a little cramped. But the staff were excellent. Costas arranged a hire car and then basically planned our whole week for us, make sure you speak to him!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    55
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
15
74
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the get go, the Halepa Hotel proved to be a quality choice for my wife's and mine honeymoon. It may not be in the center of Old Town, but that's what made it even better in our eyes as it allowed us to walk through the majority of Chania and truly experience all the city can offer. The staff was the epitome of hospitality, always ready to provide any service or item we needed and even arranged for our horseback riding and Gramvousa tours. Breakfast may not have been the typical American idea of a big or diverse selection, but it was superb nonetheless. It was Greek, it was more traditional, and it was perfect. The rooms were privately air conditioned which is always a huge plus and the amenities provided were more than adequate. My wife and I took full advantage of the front porch and sun terrace areas to further enjoy the views of Crete. It truly was an unforgettable experience and the Halepa Hotel and her staff are to be thanked immensely for the significant role they played. We will be returning, of that I guarantee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

An old mansion converted to a hotel. Nothing special about it. No frills vanilla flavour. Not much to complain about, not much to brag about. Long distance from town center, have to pay taxi to get to where life is. There was lack of staff , as there was a single person per shift for everything. The breakfast reminded me of the soviet empire in the 60ies beeing abslolutelly minimal. Its ok but for price which i think it was way way over the top. Also dont you date ask for late departure as it was charged at half a days rate, even if the hotel was nearly empty. A rip off.

Room Tip: not much to say here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos C, Guest Relations Manager at Halepa Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Your Job Application has been rejected but we can remain friends...
Dear Guests,
As a company which has to do with people, we try to offer our best of the best
in order to satisfy you and this come's out from our hearts. We love our job and we
much care about our guest's opinion.
Many companies and hotels preferred to exclude their page from tripadvisor and the main
reasons were the scammers that for their "personal" reasons want to hurt the image of the company. On tripadvisor is not possible to verify that the "reviewer" actually stayed at the hotel. Until now there have been many "attacks" to our company too, but we still remain because of the respect of the real guests.
We want to thank them one by one for their good words and their precious advice's.
There is nothing to comment on the above review. Our title for this review would be: "Your Job Application has been rejected but we can remain friends..." Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veroia Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is out of your imagination,i was thrilled by staying there. So classy,so all time classic.
I really liked its style and its decoration,that is why we booked there. The second part of the advantages of the hotel is the kindness of the staff and their willing to help you. Thank you so much.
The hotel is very clean,nothing bothered us,the rooms so relaxed and friendly to guests. Not small,not diffliculties with furnishing.
has also parking and is not so far to the centre of Chania.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The Halepa Hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was professional and extremely attentive to our needs. The staff also provided good directions on things to do and how to get there. The breakfast was good with a nice variety. The room was comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent and accomodating management and staff, exceptionally clean, quiet and peaceful location, comfortable beds, beautifully appointed rooms, very enjoyable stay with only positive commentary!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed there in August 2012 with my fiance. We found the hotel next day after arrival in Chania and fall in love with it. The place is so beutiful!The manager was really nice and all staff was very helpful, they've recomended what to see and always asked us how did we like the places they've recomended and if everything is ok. Breakfast served in the garden was really nice. Walk into town is not as long as seems at first and on the way you there are plenty of taverns to choose from.
We end up staying there longer!

Room Tip: Try to stay higher than level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halepa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halepa Hotel

Address: 164 El. Venizelou str, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#17 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halepa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to hotel Halepa.Our relaxing haven is conveniently located just minutes away from the city center of Chania, in the well known area of Halepa, from which it has received its name.Nestled in a quiet side road of Halepa area, the hotel blends the charm and personality of yesterday with the amenities and technology of today, making an ideal place for those seeking the historic and modern in one destinationIt has since 1990 being offering accommodation services and our many visitors are a great proof that when they seek a relaxing environment, they will definitely find it within our renowned hospitality. The New Classical architecture has remained even after being converted into a luxurious accommodation facility, as this building has played a great role in Cretan history.Halepa area itself sits just outside the city center, next to Dikastiria (main Court House of Chania) with all the amenities of the city center just minutes away - pharmacy, dentist, doctor, realtor, hair salons, exercise club, super markets, walking trails and dozens of local restaurants and taverns and a cinema are found along the main road leading to Dikastiria. sprinkled among unique shops and entertainment.As a guest you can expect the best hospitality and the latest amenities offered by hotel Halepa. Dedicated and attentive service at the front desk, DSL internet access, the spacious lounging area with the Fireplace and Piano, elegant breakfast area, Meeting room (20 persons), Cafeteria, Bar are enough to satisfy the most eclectic of customers and many more conveniences ensure your happiness while staying with us.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Halepa Hotel, the same warm personal Cretan hospitality awaits you.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Halepa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halepa Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halepa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.