We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Theofanus Street, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Chania Town
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at Casa Delfino after nearly 24 hours of travel. The staff met us with cold towels and a smile. From the moment we checked in until our departure, the service was amazing. They handled dinner reservations, suggested day trips, and miscellaneous other details. The breakfasts were the best we had during our 10 day stay in Greece! We loved the courtyard in the hotel, and the location was perfect. A wonderful way to start our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    59
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
283
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is very special. The staff is excellent and take their time to make you feel comfortable and well taken care of. The rooms are all different and very special, restaurant recommendations are superb. We even had our rental car battery fail us and they called the proper people and told us to go out and enjoy the day and they would call us when everything was fixed! We didn't have to waste much time worrying about the problem. Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

stayed here in July with my husband and teenage daughter. We had the room with a mezzanine where my daughter slept downstairs and gave her more privacy. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, modern, but you can still see parts of the original building. The courtyard for breakfast is gorgeous. The choice for breakfast was small but adequate and hot food is cooked efficiently to order. The staff were always very helpful and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.

Step outside and you are right in the middle of the old down where you are spoilt for choice with places to eat and shop. We hired a car and had no trouble finding somewhere to park in the free car park 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and I are mature five star travellers.
We stayed at this location for six nights.
Our room the Onduman suite which had its own Hamman for our private use.
The hotels met our expectations as a four or five star resort with cleanliness attentive and friendly staff.
It must be noted that hotels such as this in the old town previously Venetian palazzos have no room views.
The roof terrace difficult to get to had views but was usable only in the late evenings due to lack of shade and intense heat.
The breakfast was substantial but unchanged and uninspiring.
The breakfast tables were tightly packed and could well have been stretched out into the full courtyard especially those tables in the strong sun.
Chania itself is a touristy city with few attractions.It has a pretty harbour and interesting maritime museum.

Room Tip: We liked our suite with the hamman
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Tucked away in one of the alleyways of the old town, Casa Delfino is like a home away from home. Intimate and perfectly located for walking around the old city/port. I stayed with my cousin and a friend for 4 nights and had an excellent experience. (The three of us are in our late 20s/early 30s.) The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating from the moment we walked in when they handed us cool towelettes and fresh squeezed orange juice. Their suggestions for dinner and beaches were spot on - really impeccable service! I had also organized a small surprise for my cousin's birthday that consisted of a small cake and champagne on their rooftop (beautiful view of the harbor), which was perfectly executed! They took care of everything! Breakfast in the mornings was also a treat! The staff was very attentive and was always around to provide us with anything that would make our stay more comfortable. In general, very pleasant and friendly. Also, dont miss a chance to use their spa!! I will definitely be returning to Casa Delfino and I would highly suggest you do the same!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had a wonderful treatment at the spa of Casa Delfino Hotel. The setting is beautifully decorated and feels like an oriental hamam. The massage therapist was excellent. I usually don't ask for sports massage because if it's not skillfully done, it's just painful. But in this case, she performed a great 1 hour deep tissue massage, with the right amount of pressure to stretch and relax the muscles. I felt completely relaxed afterwards.
I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Seaboard
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Absolutely first rate experience in a stunning hotel, perfectly situated in a timeless and beautiful harbor. Stop reading now and just book the room, you won't regret it. We stayed in Suite 17, which has a private rooftop deck view of the Harbor. Perfect for a family of four. The hotel staff was attentive and friendly and immediately responsive. The room was spotless and well apportioned. Breakfast was healthy and tasty but not over indulgent. The location can't be beat. Near the main harbor but just far enough back to be away from the music and chatter that lasts well into the morning hours. Could not ask for more at a better price. When we travel we want everything to be perfect - no hassles - and are not price sensitive if we know that standard will be met. Casa Delfino far surpassed the bar and at a very reasonable cost. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Chania. We were here for five days, which was just about the right length of time. Took advantage of the Spa which was clean, professional and private. Also ordered wines drom the bar, which was well stocked and staffed knowledgeably. Laundry service was timely and transport and restaurant arrangements were also taken care of with dispatch. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanus Street, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.