We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grEAT place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta Chalkina

Ta Chalkina
Akti Tompazi 29-30, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
+30.28210.41570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 252 restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
larnaka
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“grEAT place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

a fantastic place to go!

Excellent cuisine! Fresh and very well cooked food will not leave unsatisfied.

great atmosphere with live music and not overcharged for that!!

Great variety of food at very reasonable prices!

very friendly and helpful staff !

make a reservation at weekends to be sure you are going to be served!!

try kolokithokeftedes which are just amazing!!

a great place for great eaters !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    80
    36
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top Brass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Raki bar's name translates to English as The brass or bronze! Introduced by a Cretan friend the mezes here is out of this world. I recommend:
- Chicken cooked with herbs & vinegar,
- Dakos (like bruschetta) with tomatoes, and aged myzithra (similar to feta but lighter)
- Souvlaki
- smoked pork in wine with tomato & myzithra
The waiters here will take time to explain the ingredients / flavours and help you choose, don't worry if you order too much I did and they were very happy for me to take home!
This is an authentic Raki bar, quite often with live music. It's situated in the old harbour, opposite the fortress and it is very pleasant passing the time over a conversation, people watching and enjoying the ambiance of the warm evenings. It can get very busy around 9 ish, so if you want a good spot you may have to go earlier or queue!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After seeing all the 'tourist' restaurants in Chania, Ta Chalkina is a real gem. Beautifully located just around the corner from the harbour, excellent home made food (whose grandma do they keep in the kitchen?), offering traditional dishes you will not get in most of the other restaurants. During our visit the restaurant was full, so we had to wait a bit fir the food to arrive, but the staff was attentive and clearly hard working; and as we were just sitting there, enjoying the atmosphere and getting more hungry with every lovely plate passing by, I wish all the things in my life I have waited for were as satisfactory and as worth waiting- for as the food in Ta Chalkina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simplexellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited this restaurant after a local taxidrivers recommandation. It was easy to find from the harbour, cause the "look" of the restaurant was totally different then all the other restaurants. It was not so fancy and filled with tourists, it was more like a local place with its wooden chairs and tables without tableclohts outside. Athmosphere was young and relaxed.

We ordered 5 "mezes" and it did not take long for them to cook it. While waiting we got some bread and dips. Food was really good, we were totally full after eating 5 mezes together and I especially loved the simplines and the non-fancynes of the place. The restaurant was not trying to be anything superspecial. House redwine was nice and cheap too! And of course we got the lovely local desert and some Raki on the house as it is a habit in Crete.

I would recomment this restaurant for everyone, for its good and simple food, simple and young athmosphere and nice service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere not so good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate here on our 2nd night in Chania. The atmosphere was buzzing with live music and the waiter staff were great. However we really thought the food was not great. I had ordered the lamb which was more innards than anything else and in edible and my OH had chicken souvlaki which was under cooked and under seasoned. Such a shame as we loved the vibe. Maybe we chose badly but we would not recommend. FYI the place was rocking and full of locals who seemed to be enjoying their food. Possibly we were served tourist tripe?....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Chalkina also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ta Chalkina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta Chalkina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.