We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel - Chania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel - Chania to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel - Chania
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very good for a relaxing all inclusive holiday. Tre restaurant serves very good good, good variety. Especially the breakfast is outstanding. Only negative ting is, that there is No good beach - too many stones. But very good view and pool!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    129
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
67
196
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On arrival we were given rooms overlooking the pool at the lower level and were instructed to find our own way there. The room was very nice with a lovely balcony so we went down to the pool and found a delightful coffee bar there too. However on day two we found out that we had been given an upgrade this did not include this pool or the coffee bar. We were left feeling very embarrassed . On another morning we had breakfast on the small terrraced cafe only to be told we couldn't eat there either as we were only' all inclusive'. I think a coloured bracelet would make life easier for the staff and guests so that you know where you should be. Wifi also was non existent in the rooms and only after a struggle in the main lounge area. Drinks were also rationed depending on the colour of the cards given out. We were 'gold' which would assume was the best but no it was 'blue'.!!!
The main pools were super but the loungers were 'towelled out' by 8am so we only managed one day by the pool by getting up really early at 6.30.
Our cleaning lady was very sweet and Maria in the restaurant was also very cheery.
We did enjoy our stay once we had sorted out the differences .
We also had a trip on the 'train' to see the german cemetery and then we travelled up into the mountains where we had a lovely lunch at a small family cafe. They were so friendly and generous with their time and food

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have sea views as the hotel is high up from the road and on a corner. the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in Chania in July 2014 and had booked another hotel, in which we were not really happy. We then started to look for another place to stay and visited the Panorama hotel. First of all, when you get there, you are very impressed by the facilities and the magnificient view. It is superb. If you like big facilities with many resources, this one could be made for you.

We took a look at one of their bedrooms as well, which we found not exactly as nice as the rest of the hotel but it was ok. It is too bad, they did not have any kitchnette there, You see, breakfast is not very useful with teenagers who wake up at lunch time! If they would have offered a kitchnette,we would have been tempted to stay there, with dinner only. We got a very interesting offer for a week from one of their manager, and thinking about it afterwards, i think the price was right for a 5 star hotel. We decided to stay elsewhere but I honestly would consider the Panorama hotel to stay in Chania if I were looking for an all inclusive hotel. They offer a great atmosphere, facilities and music/events evenings.

Room Tip: Sea view, what else? ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked this 10 day holiday because we had read largely positive reviews on Trip Advisor - especially regarding the friendliness of staff.

THE GOOD. Excellent location with panoramic views from every bedroom. Nice main pool, enough sun loungers for everyone and a decent all inclusive menu with enough variations over the 10 days to keep meals interesting.

THE BAD.. All inclusive never means ALL inclusive but here there were silly rules like not being allowed to have a bottle of water at breakfast to take to the pool (most hotels have these in poolside fridges). The hotel has 2 other pools at a lower level but these were reserved for upgraded guests (who presumably paid more) but this created an unnecessary 2 class system at the hotel. Elsewhere, similar hotels have a family pool and a quiet pool and this would have worked better here.

THE UGLY. With the exception of Maria in the restaurant and Nikos is the main bar, we have never experienced such a miserable, unsmiling and unhelpful staff anywhere we have ever stayed. The hotel says there is wifi throughout but this is not true; connectivity was only possible in the main reception area and then intermittently. As someone needing to stay on top of business affairs during our holiday we found this unacceptable in 2014. We travel to remote areas of East Africa often and usually have internet connectivity.

Having said all that, a great holiday and whilst we may never book this hotel again, we would happily return to Chania.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good. The upgraded rooms with private pool perhaps suffer from a lesser view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I first visited The Panorama Hotel in 2004 so was a little worried that it may have changed. I need not have worried! This hotel is wonderful. It is relaxed and there is a lovely vibe throughout the hotel. Do not come here if you want a lively,noisy holiday. This place is all about relaxing and spoiling yourself! The pool is amazing! It's a large, infinity pool which is well maintained and cleaned daily and the surrounding sun decks are just perfect. The lounge/bar area is spacious with lovely big sofas to relax on and a TV area at the far end. The outdoor restaurant is lovely and the food is great. My husband is a very fussy eater but he had a full plate every night and couldn't speak highly enough of all the options. There was a different theme every night so you didn't get bored. There is also the lovely pool bar/taverna which serves food all day and we opted to eat there of a lunchtime instead of the main restaurant. We were on all inclusive and I really couldn't fault it. There were plenty of options for drinks/cocktails too. We had a sea/pool view room and the views are spectacular. The rooms are large and airy. The staff here all work very hard. Take time to get to know them, they are all very lovely and friendly people who work very hard. Nikos and George in the main bar, Maria in the restaurant, Georgia who is brilliant, so knowledgeable and helpful on reception and Evita and Fernando who are the animators to name but a few. The rooms are cleaned daily. The animation is low key and non-invasive so is perfect for this hotel. All in all, a wonderful place with views to match. I cannot wait go back :)

Room Tip: The pool/sea view rooms allow you to view both the sunrise and sunset with the sun getting to them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Lovely hotel nice pool and bar area and standard rooms are nice but basic- fortunately we were upgraded free as the hotel was full and the room was amazing compared to the standard but you do get what you pay for and could not complain. The all inclusive deal was great as all meal times had a great selection of food. Could not fault this at all. Salad and Fruit was always available. Bar service was a little slow and didn't find bar staff overly friendly although all other areas they were lovely. Only issue pillows were like rocks but we should have asked if they had any others although Cyprus was the same so we assumed a Greek thing. Late check out was available at a charge but had to move rooms which was fine as our flight was late. Could not fault hotel at all and would stay again. Only issue is not much around it only a few bars, shops and beaches as it is not Chania town but Kalamaki although Chania town is only about approx 10 mins in a taxi which cost us €10 and there is a bus from right outside the hotel for €2 each although it detours around other beaches before hitting the town so took maybe half hour. Chania town down by the harbour has lovely restaurants that are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The executive wing is a much nicer area than the main hotel- we had our own pool shared with other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great time. Stayed for 12 days. 10 min to Chania town. Close to the most beautiful beaches on Crete. Great views from the pool. Great service and food. The room was cleaned every day. I recommend renting a car. If you can try to get a seaview room. Try the Kimatogi restaurant about 5 min away by car.The seafood is excellent. Go to Ravdoucha beach and have lunch you will love it. The owner Roda is great. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Pool/seaview on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Panorama Hotel - Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel - Chania

Address: Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Panorama Hotel - Chania 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken from classical Greek, the hotel’s name Panorama indicates exactly its basic characteristic, which is, its magnificent-all round views of the bay of Chania and the historic islet of Thodorou, just opposite. This exclusive and luxurious beach hotel, built in the early 80’s and totally refurbished during year 2000, is situated 5 Km from the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 20 Km from its international Airport. The famous Samaria Gorge is only 30 Km away, while the spectacular White Mountains of Crete overlooking the green valleys surrounding the hotel. The hotel has only recently been tastefully renovated. Greek island themes, Cretan ceramics and beautiful pastel paint-works combined together, reflect the island’s rich history. The layout consists of a 3-floor main building with 138 rooms, a section for families with 26 rooms and the executive wing of 35 rooms located harmoniously within Panorama’s landscaped gardens in a prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Panorama Hotel - Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Crete
Panorama Chania
Panorama Hotel - Chania Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel - Chania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.