We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Would come back again"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel - Chania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel - Chania to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel - Chania
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Would come back again"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great time. Stayed for 12 days. 10 min to Chania town. Close to the most beautiful beaches on Crete. Great views from the pool. Great service and food. The room was cleaned every day. I recommend renting a car. If you can try to get a seaview room. Try the Kimatogi restaurant about 5 min away by car.The seafood is excellent. Go to Ravdoucha beach and have lunch you will love it. The owner Roda is great. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Pool/seaview on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    127
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
67
193
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel while attending a Greek/Scottish wedding in Chania. From the moment we walked in to this luxurious hotel until we left feeling relaxed a week later everything was wonderful. We stayed all-inclusive and were lucky enough to have a suite with beautiful views out to sea, we saw the sunrise every morning from our balcony. Sipping Kir Royals by the lovely pool was great, and eating the delicious food in the open air dining room, looking out at the view was always a treat. We enjoyed Greek dancing at the BBQ evening, and danced on our last night to live music on the terrace. The staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all we think this is the best foreign hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, email the hotel before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Me and my fiance spent a week in the summer of 2014 here.
+ rooms with seaside views do actually have stunning views!
+ pool area was never crowded & there were always sunbeds for everyone
+ superb food, both in quality and quantity: sometimes part of the foods weren't to our taste, but we always found lots we liked :)
+ staff is really kind
+ the local bus stop is some 50 meters from the hotel, that takes you straight to the center of chania

- All inclusive doesn't include that much to eat (besides drinks and ice cream) between the three official meal times. If timed correctly, they'd be enough, but upon going to the lunch too early you'd find yourself hungry before the dinner.
- The rooms ain't as modern as you'd expect, but they're cleaned everyday and otherwise nice. The beds were too hard for our taste.

Unlike other reviews, we found that there were enough beaches in the neighbourhood. It's true that the hotels "own beach" is only good for waching sunsets, not that much swimming, but the nearest "real" beach is some 1 km away.

All in all we loved our stay and plan to come again, as Panorama hotel is a great place to relax, enjoy of great food and warm, sunny days.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have stunning views, but they might not be good for elderly or couples with child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just come back for a week staying at this hotel. I'll try to break down the areas of review for you.

Location: it was about a 30 mins transfer from Chania airport which was just about perfect for us as our bus driver was not a fan of smooth! The hotel itself is one side of the road and the sea is the other side, however if you want a good beach it's maybe a 15-20 min walk down the road, easily done. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which apparently takes you into town, though we didn't do this ourselves.

Room: We didn't pay for any upgrade so were told by the travel agent that we had a mountain view room. However the view from out room was way more sea than mountain. Absolutely stunning! We watched the sunset on a nightly basis. And while we might have just been lucky I imagine from the shape of the hotel that most of the rooms had a similar view. The room itself was very big and very clean. We had two single beds pushed together to make a double. The balcony was a great size also. There was a bridge link over the road leading from the hotel just to the right of our room but it is locked at half 9 so no noise concern, and we didn't notice the road once. I'd recommended room 1002 to anyone! Best view around!

Food: The hotel does 7 theme nights. The ones I can remember were Chinese, around the world, barbecue, Italian, carvery, le chef (whatever that means). For me I wasn't too impressed with the food but there was generally something for everyone, a good salad selection, however the food wasn't always clearly labelled. A nice fruit selection at the end too. The temperature of the food was often poor, very tepid. Ultimately average, I've had better and I've had worse.

Staff: I had no issue with them, as usual some friendlier than others but all round nice enough.

Entertainment: I'm not sure if its because we were early in the season but there appeared to be one guy and one girl just milling around the pool occasionally trying to get select people to take part in things. We were only spoken to once and never asked again, which actually suited us fine. We didn't go to the evening shows as they started at 10 and we weren't exactly inspired to wait around for them. Maybe it'll get better in summer.

Kids club: We don't have children ourselves but it's worth noting that the kids club, when we went at least, appeared to be one girl aged about 18-20 in a kids club shirt and skimpy bikini bottoms just messing around in the water with the kids. That's it. No activities. Just chasing them around a pool. If a decent kids club is something you need I'd maybe look elsewhere.

Pool: the main infinity pool was superb. Stunning views and so calming. The water inside was sea water for a interesting note. The panorama blue (exclusive) pool looked lovely too and the private pools also. Personally I think the main pool was the nicest and had the best view.

I would recommend this hotel to people. Everyone has different tastes with foods and I'm happy to accept maybe it just wasn't for us, but the temperature of it can't really be debated. The food let it down, the rest of the hotel was lovely! We had a lovely time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thisted, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been arranging holidays for a handicap group in Denmark, for 20 years, to many destinations and many different hotels during the years. I have never visited a hotel, where I have met so much kindness and help from the staff. They do not do, just what thery are supposed to, but meet you with an extremely kindness and helpness, and with a smile, which is very rare to find. I give the hotel, and the staff, my very best recommandation, and I know, that if I ever go back to Crete, I shall stay at the Panorama.
Sincerly Yours

Ib Bergh-Hansen
Thisted, Denmark

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My partner and i stayed in this hotel for the second week of our holiday and i have to say that it was such a refreshing , relaxing end to our two week vacation. We were all inclusive and the food was first class - now obviously i'm not talking Lobster dinner first class etc but the dishes they provided were delicious, also additional minor things that people tend to overlook like salads for instance were varied and fresh along with the bread. The hotel restaurant was situated outside and in an attractive setting with a view of the ocean etc. The facilities were very clean and as we were able to avail of the executive suite with the private pool then i can can only say that the room and amenities were 5 star (my only gripe here being that the cushions were too hard). The staff were extremely helpful and very polite, again only one down side was the queue at the bar with 1 person left to serve a queue of thirsty customers come 8pm. All in all we would definitely visit this hotel again and from what i heard whilst out to dinner one night we arent the only couple who are considering this or indeed have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. The pictures in the brochure are exactly what you should expect. The food is very good, lots of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel staff are very good. The room was clean and spacious, the beds hard but that's Greece. The bus stop at the end of the drive is very useful, buy your tickets from the Reception at the hotel. If you want to eat out, turn right out of the hotel and after a short distance there are some tavernas on the beach. My only criticism would be the hotel pool - it is not heated and was freezing all of the time. Apart from that, we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Panorama Hotel - Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel - Chania

Address: Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Panorama Hotel - Chania 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken from classical Greek, the hotel’s name Panorama indicates exactly its basic characteristic, which is, its magnificent-all round views of the bay of Chania and the historic islet of Thodorou, just opposite. This exclusive and luxurious beach hotel, built in the early 80’s and totally refurbished during year 2000, is situated 5 Km from the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 20 Km from its international Airport. The famous Samaria Gorge is only 30 Km away, while the spectacular White Mountains of Crete overlooking the green valleys surrounding the hotel. The hotel has only recently been tastefully renovated. Greek island themes, Cretan ceramics and beautiful pastel paint-works combined together, reflect the island’s rich history. The layout consists of a 3-floor main building with 138 rooms, a section for families with 26 rooms and the executive wing of 35 rooms located harmoniously within Panorama’s landscaped gardens in a prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Panorama Hotel - Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Crete
Panorama Chania
Panorama Hotel - Chania Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel - Chania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.