We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view...friendly staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel - Chania

Save Saved
You added Panorama Hotel - Chania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel - Chania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful view...friendly staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Panomara for 5 nights in june. Our room had a wonderful view...the view is also wonderful from the place where the meals are served. There was something to do every day....aqua arobics....zumba.....basketball games....darts.....nice entertainment in the evenings too. There is a place where the children can spend their time. My 2 year old daughter didn't want to leave the young girl who was working at the junior club....You can enjoy the swimming pool but also the sea ....the hotel has a bridge which connects it to the beach. It was clean...helpful and friendly staff...delicious food. The access to the centre is very easy. There is a bus stop next to the hotel and in 10 min. you arrive in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear how much you liked your holiday at the Panorama Hotel and especially that your daughter had a wonderful time at the Junior Club.

We aim to have a variety of entertainment to meet the tastes and preferences of the majority pf guest so it is important for us to hear that you found something different to do every day. The Bridge allows immediate and easy access to the beach so guests may enjoy both the pool and sea with comfort.

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back to the Panorama Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    110
    34
    17
    14
See reviews for
54
160
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just back after 4 nights in the hotel after we were moved from another hotel after they were overbooked.

The standard of the food was great and they have a separate restaurant you can pre-book for a slightly nicer experience where your main course is served to your table on Friday and Monsay nights.

As others have mentioned getting a second drink in the restaurant does seem a little overwhelming for some staff so we found taking a glass each in from the bar then having a glass served with our meal worked well.

We upgraded to the blue section of the hotel and this seemed well worth it, this section allows access to the over 16's only pool, a free pre-dinner cocktail, an upgraded breakfast and a few other niceties.

The main area of the pool did get rather busy and by 10am pretty much all the loungers had a towel on which is a good reason to upgrade to the blue section.

There wasn't much in walking distance from the hotel so were glad we had a hire car, but of course this depends on what sort of holiday you want.

A few nights there was a little entertainment but this often seemed quite changeable and did not seem to relate to the timetable.

Looking to be just away from the main tourist area for a relaxed holiday to spend time with family or a loved one? Then yes this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Panorama Hotel and we are especially delighted to know that you felt the upgrade to the Panorama Blue offers that extra touch to the holiday.

Our guest reviews are very important to us and we have noted all your comments and suggestions. Please note that for guests that do not wish to hire a car, there are buses that take you directly into Chania for ease and this is a short drive away.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We revisited the hotel in 2013 after ten years. Little had changed as far as rooms, pools, lobby and so forth are concerned, which means that the management had succeeded in fighting the wear and tear an intensively used place as an hotel may suffer. A major improvement was the bridge across the busy road. Hotel guests can noiw reach the private beach without having to cross the busy Chania-Platanias highway. So after ten years, we found a well-equipped room (sea and coast view reaching from the islet of Agios Theodoros to Chania), untroubled by trafficnoise from the said road. The swimming pool and the outdoor restaurant still offered the marvellous setting for many a fine hour, the bus takes only half an hour to Chania and some beaches. Most of the staff were still friendly and heplful, in spite of their busy shifts and long working hours. So far, so good, certainly considering the price we paid via lastminute.gr through an early booking.
Still, we found ourselves less euphoric than after the first visit.
Two reasons:
- whereas in 2003, we found a wide variety of visitors, the hotel appeared (during our visit) to have been taken over by package tourists and their requirements of karaoke,"Greek nights" and the like. The quiet and relaxed atmosphere somehow appeared to have disappeared. Though our voucher and the hotel information proclaimed a (relaxed) dress code for dinner, a substantial part of the male visitors appeared to have misread this instruction and thought that the dress code involved showing as many tattoos as possible,
- the hotel also introduced an "all in" package, of which we availed ourselves for the first time ever. This did not lead to nightmarish situations of drunken guests who overfilled their plates, only to leave them uneaten on a messy table. Still, we were less impressed by what was on offer than we were (on a half board basis) in 2003. Breakfasts were still excellent and varied, but dinner didn't have a single "wow" for the five days we were there.
We guess this is inherent to the "all"in system and costcutting this necessitates..
Overall we still think a stay at Panorama is good value, considering the beautiful setting, the wonderful region, the price one pays.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the swimming pool and recreation area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing the Panorama Hotel once again and we are delighted to hear that all in all the hotel maintained the standards you remember from your last stay.

Indeed the hotel welcomes all guests and although we state certain dress codes for evening meals this can be interpreted differently by each. Pleased that you find the bridge convenient for access to the beach which compliments the hotels magnificent location.

We do thank you for your review and comments and for recommending the hotel as value for money.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Panorama. Like the previous review, we were upgraded to a "Blue" room with a private pool which was stunning. We paid the extra €20 a day for use of the executive lounge and pool. This is well worth doing as you get use of a private pool, tea and coffee, newspapers and a drink before dinner. We would have probably paid this amount each day anyway. Lia, who runs the executive wing is simply outstanding: we had never come across service with such warmth and grace. It is like she is a long lost friend who has welcomed you into her home.

Another mention must go to Georgia, the assistant manager- again so charismatic and helpful. In fact all staff seem genuinely pleased to be working here.

The food is good- great choice and a beautiful setting.

We didn't sample any of the hotel's entertainment but with Chania not far, why would you stay every night in the hotel? There are lots of good restaurants and bars in Chania. I would recommend eating away from harbour itself. The smaller restaurants off the harbour front, up the side streets seem more authentically Cretan with locals eating there- surely a better sign than the seafront who are trying to grab the tourists.

If you are a couple with no children, definitely pay that bit extra for the Blue part of the hotel.

We would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. The Panorama Blue wing does offer that extra touch in pampering and relaxation and pleased you were able to experience this.

We are delighted to hear our staff looked after you so well and made you feel comfortable and at home, we will be sure to pass your comments on.

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at the Panorama Hotel with other on TripAdvisor and we do hope that you will return for another holiday soon.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stopped at the Panorama hotel for 1 week from the 2nd to the 9th of July. From the minute we stepped off the bus we were welcomed off the bus by the porter, who showed us to the reception and we were quickly checked in by the great and efficient reception staff.
We had booked a sea view room but on arrival all the sea rooms had been filled in the normal part of the hotel. We were upgraded to a room in blue area at no extra cost, thou we had the choice of paying extra to use the facilities we were not pressured at all to pay the extra for the use of the facilities. We decided to pay the extra the next day and we were absolutely not disappointed at all. The benefits of the private pool, and area and the friendliness of the lady who looked after the guests of the blue area was definitely worth it, this included the special area to take breakfast where you were looked after by the breakfast waitress who tried hard to remember you which made you feel like a valued guest.
We did alternate between the pool and the breakfast areas of the blue and the normal part of the hotel as they were both enjoyable to use.
The whole hotel was very clean and the cleaners worked very hard throughout the whole hotel.
The view from our room (3004) was exceptional, but the views from all over the hotel were stunning. It was very quiet with no noise coming from any other rooms even thou they had people in them. You dont notice any road noise from the hotel.
The choice of food you could not fault, there was a lot of choice and this changed daily for the lunchtime and evening meal dinners. The food was always of a great quality and very tasty, it was always hard to choose what to put on your plate.
The outside dinning area has a great view and a good ambiance. Its a real pleasure to eat there. The only negative here is trying to get a second drink when eating your meal, you have to order through your waiter or waitress and as they are busy it can be hard to get that second drink. A special mention for Maria who made you feel really special and always with energy and a big friendly smile.
There is a drinks menu on the bars and the all inclusive drinks are marked with a star, there is enough on the menu in the all inclusive to keep you happy, this includes the cocktails and selection of shorts. The beer and wine are also very good, especially the red wine. The guys at the pool bar were great always smiling and efficient at serving.
The same drinks were available at the inside bar and Giorgios who served there was very professional and relaxed, Nikkos can be a little abrupt if you dont know how the system works.
The daytime animation was good and there was something to do through the day, the pool aerobics was very good and a lot of people joined in.
The only thing is the night time entertainment, you have 2 main nights of entertainment the Cretan night with local dancers and the live music night both of these were very good nights with ambiance. But the other evenings were a little quiet. We expected a bit more entertainment, more live music or a singer.
The hotel has nearly everything you could ask for, the beach is just over the road via the new bridge with some sun beds on the beach and on a small grass area. We went snorkeling in the sea opposite ( make sure you wear water shoes as there are a lot of sea urchins) and we were really lucky as there was a giant sea turtle.
The bus stop for Chania Town is at the entance to the hotel, 1.50 euro if you buy a ticket at the hotel or 2 euros on the bus, you buy the return ticket at the ticket booth where you get off the bus. A taxi back from Chania Town is 10 euros.
We would definitely go back to the Panorama Hotel and recommend it highly, great hotel and great staff.

Room Tip: Dont hesitate to take a room in the blue area, it adds something special to an already great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel and for recommending the Panorama hotel to others.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the opportunity to try the Panorama Blue services and facilities and were especially pleased that you did. We have also taken note of your suggestions regarding further entertainment which are very important to us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from our weeks holiday at this hotel. The hotel is very comfortable and fully deserves its 4 star rating. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and you really have to look hard to find anything too out of place.

The staff at the reception were always friendly and were more than willing to help us out. The bar staff in the lobby and pool bar deserve a special mention for their hospitality and friendliness.

The selection of food and drinks on offer with the all inclusive package was very good and most of it was more than acceptable.

The outside dinning area of the hotel is a nice touch and creates a nice atmosphere at meal times. It was nice to go for a meal at an all inclusive, buffet style service without it turning into a circus. The selection of food available was good and not too repetitive and the themed nights were a nice touch.

The outdoor communal areas are good the loungers outside the lobby and next to the bar are great for relaxing on after a long had day sitting in the sun :) It could be a bit of a farce getting a sun lounger by the pool but we realised fairly quickly that the way to do it is get down there early and blag one with you towel (this seemed to be the done thing as everybody was doing it)

The real plus for us though was the view from our room. We had upgraded to a pool view room and were put on the top floor. The views are fantastic and I would recommend anybody booking this hotel to seriously consider this.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room at the front of the hotel for fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Gregory,

It was a pleasure reading your review and we are delighted to hear so many fine comments regarding both the hotel cleanliness, service from our staff and of course the meals.

Indeed the Panorama hotel views are stunning and thank you for recommending that a room with a view is certainly worth booking. It is especially pleasing to hear that you were on all inclusive as of course this meant that you fully experienced the hotel services.

Thank you for sharing your "Great Holiday" experience on TripAdvisor and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great hotel from the arrival we were met with friendliness and helpfulness from the staff and Manis who accompanied us to our room was always around with a smile..... we occupied an Executive Suite (3007) in the Panorama Blue which had fantastic views, quiet despite being above a busy road so slept soundly, the beds although I notice from previous reviews were noted as being hard - we found them comfortable and didn't affect our sleep - plenty of pillows and cleanliness was excellent - rooms cleaned everyday, fresh towels and linen and upon arrival received a fruit basket and wine compliments of the hotel.

The Panorama Blue pool was perfect despite witnessing someone placing beach towels on the beds at 11.30pm there really was no need there is no shortage of sunbeds!! Lia in the reception was a pleasure to meet, always friendly, helpful and went out of her way to accommodate.

The meals in the hotel were wonderful - a wide variety of fresh foods were on offer and always ample available to be enjoyed al-fresco while taking in the panoramic views. We sampled the fish night on the Monday evening which was served to us by the ever cheerful Maria who recommended a lovely wine too :-)

I would also like to mention that despite there being queues at the bar Giorgios and Nikkos were always friendly and unflustered and finally the reception staff were more than helpful.. my partner who had a nasty encounter with a sea urchin enjoyed Vitras' help and humour as he supplied us with vinegar to dissolve the offending 'spines'.

Would we go back again.... definitely the Cretan hospitality is second to none the location perfect for those wishing to venture out and about as the bus stop is at the entrance to the hotel from the main road.

Room Tip: Opt for a blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Panorama Hotel - Chania, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Karen,

We have read your lovely review from your recent holiday at the Panorama Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and our facilities and services were as should be expected.

Above all we are delighted our staff looked after you, especially when your partner had the unfortunate incidence with the sea urchin.

We take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic holiday with other of TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

We now look forward to welcoming you and your partner back very soon.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panorama Hotel - Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel - Chania

Address: Kato Galatas | PO Box 73, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Hotel - Chania 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken from classical Greek, the hotel’s name Panorama indicates exactly its basic characteristic, which is, its magnificent-all round views of the bay of Chania and the historic islet of Thodorou, just opposite. This exclusive and luxurious beach hotel, built in the early 80’s and totally refurbished during year 2000, is situated 5 Km from the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 20 Km from its international Airport. The famous Samaria Gorge is only 30 Km away, while the spectacular White Mountains of Crete overlooking the green valleys surrounding the hotel. The hotel has only recently been tastefully renovated. Greek island themes, Cretan ceramics and beautiful pastel paint-works combined together, reflect the island’s rich history. The layout consists of a 3-floor main building with 138 rooms, a section for families with 26 rooms and the executive wing of 35 rooms located harmoniously within Panorama’s landscaped gardens in a prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Panorama Hotel - Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Crete
Panorama Chania
Panorama Hotel - Chania Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel - Chania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.