We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Veneziano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Veneziano Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Veneziano Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Town, Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am an hotelier and as an hotelier I am always observing every single detail in each hotel where I stay. At Porto Veneziano they are really looking to keep all their clients very satisfied. All the staff smiles and they do their best for providing everything you will need. Breakfast is perfect, the best in all my one month stay in Greece and also overlooking the sea. The rooms are very comfortable, sound proof isolation, recently refurbished, location is perfect, and the price is very reasonable.
So don´t hesitate in staying at Porto Veneziano, I assure you, you will be very happy here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    131
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
266
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned to our home in Cyprus having spent a week at this charming hotel. The situation of the hotel is ideal, right on the edge of the Venetian Harbour with great views, although this is a busy tourist area the hotel is amazingly quiet at night and sleep quality, with very comfortable beds and pillows is perfect. The whole hotel has undergone renovation and is impeccably clean, some of the rooms looked rather small, we had a triple occupancy room as a double and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was truly excellent with good quality toiletries replaced on a daily basis. There is a charming, small, garden at the rear of the bar, very relaxing when it gets too hot.

On arrival we found a bowl of fresh fruit in the room and a mini bar stocked with water, soft drinks and beer, this is all complimentary, very rare indeed, and is restocked daily as necessary.

The staff certainly add to the enjoyment of staying at this hotel, the reception staff are superb and all the staff from Bar to Breakfast Room to Chamber Maids are all extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is excellent, a very good choice of quality food and constantly being replaced and refreshed even if you are a late riser, breakfast is served until 10.30 am.

Chania is a great place for a short break or holiday, so many restaurants, very busy with tourists and locals, and a vibrant happy atmosphere.

You will not regret a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible aim for a room at the front overlooking the harbour. All rooms have balconies but the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just arrived today by bus from Heraklion and took a cab to Porto Veneziano Hotel. It is very modern and must be a fairly new construction. The rooms are small but nicely done and very affordable (we paid $113 U.S. through Booking.com). All rooms seem to have a balcony and ours does have a view of the water off to the right. The rooms that face directly out to the water seem to be 303 through 308 with 310 being on a corner. Since people visiting here will probably spend most of their time at the many shops and restaurants (many facing the water with great views of the port and people walking by) I don't think the smaller rooms here are much of a burden. The air conditioner works great and the beds are comfortable (maybe a little soft but nice. The pillows are very comfy). All in all this seems to be a great place for the money. Maybe considering that my four stars are too low.

Room Tip: The 03 through 10 rooms on the three floors seem to have the best water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during our visit of Hania. Very cute, kind of small rooms, but exceptionally clean, upgraded, beautiful bathroom, very comfortable bed and amazing views!!! We were welcomed from the moment we stepped in, they knew exactly what we had requested 6 months before (when we booked) and all was taken in consideration. The fridge didn't work so the beverages were free. :)
The lobby, breakfast area, bar and little outdoor patio in the back are so pretty and well taken care of. The breakfast was amazing, I had seconds!!! And get up a little early to get a table outside on the promenade... so lovely!
The bars and restaurants are between a 1 to 15 min walk, bus station was 15-20 min walk, the staff gave us fresh beach towels every day and they were absolutely great and very helpful all the time. Thank you so much! Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: A high floor with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay! It's a great location because they are right on the harbor with great views of the water but away from the noise so you can actually sleep. It's just a charming walk to the tavernas and old town on the other side of the harbor which where you want go out, eat, shop, etc.... The rooms are clean and decor modern - very pleasant rooms and all rooms have a balcony. Also the rooms are small (as most are in Europe) but the space is VERY well used so I found it plenty of space. My friend and I stayed in a triple - it was just two of us and it was fine but a 3rd might have been a bit much. There's a couch that maybe could be slept on but it was nice to have that to be able to sit somewhere other than the bed. The bathroom was clean and modern as well. Also the staff was amazing. We felt very taken care of. Anything we needed they helped with and even thought of things we might want and asked. Very friendly and all spoke English fluently. I would absolutely go back and stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect location. The Hotel was at the beginning of the promenade, and eating breakfast outside the hotel was a perfect way to start your day. There are plenty of bars, restaurant along the promenade and evenings were crowded but very nice. The bus station is only 15 min walk from the hotel, and bus service was very good organized. Local markets and other aereas of interest are easily reacheable on foot. Breakfast was very good. Continental and local food buffet, and you can make your own fresh orange juice. Friendly staff, that spoke perfect english. The Hotel was renovated early this year and service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, NJ
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

And a great experience. This hotel is located on one end of the harbor directly on the Main Street facing the water. It's on the quieter end, with no restaurants beneath it, so we were not bothered by any noise from the many bars and restaurants in the area. This is a lively area with many great places to choose from and we found some really good places for food - for more upscale food, try Skoufos & Oinos, or Kariatis, or for a tavern experience, we tried another place recommended on this site, Monastiri. Make sure you know the Greek letters though or you won't recognize the restaurant signs. The last on the list is on the same main strip that the hotel is on, but in a noisier, busier area, if you like that, the place is a good value with traditional Greek food.

Ok, but about the hotel...great service (the desk staff are fabulous, especially Agapi, who was very helpful when I accidentally booked the wrong arrival date), a wonderful breakfast with lots of yummy options and local choices, and bright clean rooms, each one of which I think has a balcony. We booked a junior suite and it had a living room, a desk in the bedroom and 2 TV's. Plus bathrobes, slippers, a kettle to boil water, and free drinks in the mini frig (although this may be a temporary perk, not sure). There were fantastic views from the 2 balconies, one in each room, of the harbor with its quaint fishing boats, sailboats, and a lighthouse you can walk out to. An added touch were the blinds which were in sliding tracks over the doors and windows and could be lowered to block out the bright sunlight if you wanted to nap during the day. The lobby is gorgeous and there is a bar and a garden area with tables, as well as tables out front where you can eat breakfast or just sit in the sun. Overall, this is a great hotel, and I would definitely go back. Our first trip to Chania was great. Oh, and Internet service is flawless. I was able to access my work servers without issue, and it's free.

Room Tip: Book a room which faces the harbor to enjoy the sunset! And book a renovated room. We spent one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Town, Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Veneziano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.