We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alcanea Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Aggelou 2 | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I will definitely stay at Alcanea again when I return to Chania.

LOCATION: It is in a great location - in the charming Old Town and within walking distance of everything, including the bus depot if you want to take a day trip. On one of the 5 nights I stayed, there were a few loud party-goers on the street and they woke me up. But if I'd kept the window closed and used air conditioning instead, this wouldn't have been a problem.

ROOM: My room (Room III - Double Room for Single Use) was small and cosy but perfect for my needs. It might be a bit too cramped for two people, unless you each have small suitcases! It had a view of the Egyptian Lighthouse which was gorgeous, especially at night. The water from the shower goes everywhere as there is no shower screen, but as long as I laid down a towel to soak up the water, this didn't bother me.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was included in my room rate and was lovely. A variety of things are on offer, from eggs & toast, to more traditional Cretan-style breakfasts.

STAFF: The staff were all really really nice, especially Eleni who was very welcoming on my arrival. They speak fluent English too, which helps!

All in all, a great stay at Alcanea. Tell your friends.

Room Tip: Room III (Double Room for Single Use) is perfect for one person. It would be too cramped for 2 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saundersfoot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at 1am in the morning, to be greeted by a very warm and welcoming member of staff.
She arranged for someone to help us with our very large baggage, and showed us to our lovely room. Breakfast was served outside on a table overlooking the old port. Freshly squeezed orange juice,coffee of your choice, Greek yogurt with honey, fresh fruit, eggs of your choice. It set us up for the day. We enjoyed a drink in the evening sitting outside the hotel watching people passing by. We stayed at a number of hotels on our trip, but I think this was definitely our favourite, mainly due to the standard of the staff service, and friendliness.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in the hotel, which was the cheapest, but it was more than adequate, it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and couldn't be happier with this hotel.
Very clean, well maintained and simply wonderful staff.
The hotel is in the middle of Old town Chania, but you would never know it.
Lovely views, great food and an excellent atmosphere.

The entire staff were tremendous, extremely helpful and make the place special.
Excellent breakfast, complementary minibar, and the intimacy of a true boutique hotel.

Congratulations to Alicia and the great team at Alcanea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night at the end of our vaccation. We booked it after looked in to the reviews at tripadvisor and it was better then we expected. Fantastic place with wonderful staff and service. The location is the best. We love to come back to this paradise. This will be the place we will go back to when we visit Crete the next time and then we gonna spend all of our time at this lovely little jewel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Alcanea for just one day. We made a reservation through Booking.com and we got an email from Alcanea that confirmed our stay, In the email it said that we booked the smallest room and that they welcomed us.
When we arrived the girl at the front desk was so nice, she said to us that we had the smallest room and that we might think it was very small because we were so tall. We had a good laugh but the room was GREAT although it was small it had everything that we needed, it was clean, cosy and had great interior.
The girl at the front desk was very helpful and told us a lot about Chania and recomended a few restaurants.
Alcanea also serves some food, therefore we had a quick lunch when we arrived and had club sandwich and crete sallad, the food was excellent! And everyone in the staff was so nice.

We wished that we would had stayed for a few more days, the breakfast was also great, the guy who made coffees made a awesome cappuccino.

If we go to chania again we would defentaly stay at Alcanea!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are great, they only have 8 rooms so make sure u reserve the room in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a hidden treasure!

Overall customer experience and service are exceptional. Easily accessible & extremely friendly staff, that will do whatever is possible to keep you satisfied.

Location of the hotel is fantastic. Is located right at the (busy) old harbour but at the same time is a very peaceful place to stay.

We stayed at room 4 (IV) for 6 nights and at room 2 (II) for one night.

Room 4 was spacious and well decorated. Bed was huge and mattress was of good quality.

Room 2 was much smaller but has a better view (and of course is cheaper than Room 4).

Breakfast is excellent.

Wine bar of the hotel is getting busy at night and might be tricky to find a free table. Has a good selection of decent Cretan wines with very good prices (most of them around13euro).

This place is highly recommended, especially for people looking for distinctive luxury (out of the big hotel chains).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Alcanea for two nights in August. The room was lovely, with a great view of the lighthouse. Lovely comfortable bed, air conditioning that worked, a bottle of raki with the compliments of the hotel, what can I say! The location of the hotel is really good - right on the harbour, so you can sit and watch all that's happening, but far enough up one end, to not be right in the middle of the busier bits. Breakfast on the terrace at the front of the hotel was again, excellent, good choice of menu, including yoghurts, juices, eggs anyway you want, traditional cretan breakfast option, really good capuccinos and so and so on. We ate masses every morning.

In the evening, the hotel serves snacks/drinks, so most people just sit around for drinks before and after evening meals. Its not a busy part of the port, so again, there's very little to disturb you towards the end of the evening. Anastasia and her team were really helpful and so friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which is to the back of the hotel and therefore, away from the cafe outside - if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Address: Aggelou 2 | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcanea Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.