We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michalis Restaurant Taverna

Michalis Restaurant Taverna
SOURMELI 54- 56 | Old Harbour Chania, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
2821058330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 285 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Michalis Restaurant, the most famous old harbour restaurant,is unique in offering the best of both local traditional and international cusine. Relax and enjoy lovingly prepared delicious dishes are waiting to be tasted.A terrific place to stop off for a tasty bite and a chance to enjoy first-class dishes in extremely good prices. There is a wonterful, friendly, easy-going atmosphere, becoming quite romantic at sunset as purple and orange colors surround the splendid old venetian harbor of Chania. The attitude of the staff and their quick, warm and friendly service will create the ideal ambience. Besides the food an extensive list of excellent local wines is waiting for your choice. You just found the ideal place to enjoy your lunch or dinner!!!!
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice during our stay in Chania the staff were so friendly and the food was amazing sea bream a must calamari so good and also the mussels we will defiantly be going to this restaurant first when we are in Chania next

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hot day in Hania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to Hania for walk around and meal. Loads of restaurants. We were lucky to pick one of the best. Great value seafood platter for two for 18 euros, preceded unexpectedly by a large free salad. We finished the two courses but were then given a free sweet. Getting up to leave, we were persuaded to stay by the most amiable staff and a drink of ice cold raki was put before us. Ok , the place wasn't that busy, but the pleasant waiter and waitress were helpfull and chatted away if you wanted to. You sit and eat as the boats sail in and out of the harbour. This was the best meal we had in Crete, and will be revisited next year I hope.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good service, nice view but okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The waiter and waitress there are really good at greeting potential customers, and take time to explain what they could offer and why they could not do exactly what we wanted. The restaurant has a very nice view facing the harbor. We ordered moussaka and fried calamari. Moussaka was okay, not as tasty as the other ones that I had in Kalamaki. But it was with a decent size, with two slice a tomatoes and a tiny portion of greens. The calamari was not very good, although it is hot. It was not as crispy as it should be. The prices are reasonable in the restaurant. Ice cream with warm chocolate cake, and cold raki are given at the end of the meal free of charge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

one of the best dishes i have ever tasted
i definately recommend it to you all
great VIEW of the light house and the old port

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant based on some reviews ... But it's just another average restaurant among the many on the harbor. I felt like the dish I ordered I could have purchased at a diner. My fried codfish was cold as well as the mashed potatoes. My boyfriend had calamari that was burnt and undercooked all at once. Overall didn't feel very happy with the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michalis Restaurant Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Michalis Restaurant Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michalis Restaurant Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.