We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Garden, Lovely Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Park Of Crete

Botanical Park Of Crete
Skordalou Platania, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
+30 697 686 0573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Attractions in Chania Town
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CRETE…A SMALL CONTINENT Walking in the Botanical park & Gardens of Crete offes spiritual tranquility and visual pleasure in addition to knowledge on plants and their material . Nearly 20 hectares of land are waiting to welcome you, full of fruit trees from all over the world, herbs, medicinal and ornamental plants in a park different from others, where the land’s formation and the region’s microclimate make it a paradise for hundreds of plants and animals! In the midst of this colorful and vivid landscape stands a burnt centennial olive tree, a memorial and a reference to the dismal fires of 2003, the park’s history and origin. The newest and one of the most interesting sites of the Prefecture of Chania lies only 18 kilometers outside the city, on the feet of the White Mountains. It is ideal for visitors of all ages, combining enjoyments that only Crete can offer!
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Garden, Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A beautiful garden featuring flowers, trees and shrubs from all over the world. The paths are well made but as our 'host' indicated at the outset there isn't much that's flat around here so be prepared to go 'uphill and down dale' quite a bit. Many of the specimens are labelled and for us (less so my teenager) was interesting to read about all the different species and to what use they had been put in different parts of the world. We arrived about 10am to avoid the worst of the heat but it was still mighty hot so the included bottle of iced water was much appreciated- as was the cooling spot before the final climb upto the restaurant. It would be interesting to see this at different times of the year as you do get a good sense of seasonality. Food in the restaurant was delicious and the mountain herbal tea was very refreshing though I did find it needed a little honey to make it palatable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    110
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a delightful place to visit. You can even get there by public transport from Chania - bus leaves at 9h30 and returns from the park at 14h30. This gives you more than enough time to walk around the 3km. circuit and to have a leisurely lunch in the on-site restaurant. The visit starts with a friendly chat from the owner, plus complimentary bottle of water to take on your walk. There are two circuits - the main one 3km, with a shorter 2km walk which cuts off the last part of the longer route. The park/garden is divided into sections - tropical trees; mediterranean herbs and succulents; fruit trees - with many of the plants clearly named. There is a small lake, a few animals and a wonderful long pergola laden with grapes (in July). There are splendid views of the surrounding mountains at almost every point along the route, with light-hearted touches such as the "cooling point" - discover this for yourself!
To round all of this off you can eat in the splendid restaurant which serves excellent food, much of it grown in the garden or harvested wild from the neighbouring Cretan mountains.
All-in-all an excellent day out, which even thrilled a pretty demanding 11 year-old!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden walk-Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A place not to be missed. Beautiful hike, many plants, fruit trees, flowers, herbs from all over the world. Most of the ingredients are grown in the park or locally organic, delicious food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Great place to spend the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved the park, all the beautiful plants and nice relaxing walk.

Initially, we were put off by the cashier being rude when we asked her a question and she asked in a tone that offended us "are you going to pay?" I am not sure if she was trying to rush us through or thought we were trying not to pay, which doesn't make any sense since I had my wallet out. Had we not just driven an hour and a half to get there we might have left. And we didn't get a receipt after paying which isn't legal in Greece. The rest of the staff was very nice though and even gave us advice on where to go next.

Anyway, we put that behind us and had a great day walking through the park. Its a great place to take pictures. We were happy they gave us a cold water for our walk. You should do the longest walk and take your time enjoying all the beautiful views and nice smelling plants! Also we bought a big bag of delicious fruit after our walk for only 2 euros. The plums were delicious.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have recently returned from a lovely holiday in western Crete. We hired a car for 3 days and on one of these days we visited the Botanical Park & Gardens. This is a really good and unusual place to visit if you want something different from the beach!! There were so many different trees and plants to see and all labelled so you knew exactly where they came from. The day we visited the temperature reached 38 degrees, so walking was quite difficult and we opted for the short route walk. It is quite hilly in places so wouldn't recommend flip flops. We were given a lovely ice cold bottle of water, free of charge, to take with us. Afterwards we had a nice lunch in the restaurant with nice views looking down onto the gardens. The food was lovely, especially their own freshly baked bread; and after the meal we were given a cup of Cretan tea with honey and a plate of fruit, free of charge. We'd definitely recommend the park and gardens for a good day out.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Park Of Crete also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Botanical Park Of Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Park Of Crete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.